1991 Ford Probe GT 2.8L 6 cylinder from North America


The best car I have ever owned in my life


I have had the car for just over 2 months and:

- The transmission went.

- The clutch went.

Both went at the exact same time. Other than that, nothing else has gone wrong with it. But whatever has gone wrong is going to cost me big bucks!!

General Comments:

Well, all and all this car is an A+++ car. Except for the part that you have to fix it with lots of cash. One flaw with this car is that there isn't enough space in the cab. How am I supposed to drive all my friends to parties and to the movies? =)

I would recommend this car to anyone, just be cautious that you take really good care of it and drive it like a sane man (or woman). Nothing will go wrong if the car is not pushed.

It will turn every head in your town or any town for that matter (especially the ladies ;) )

And never ever ever take it to a Ford dealer to get it repaired. Go to a small town garage or you will be sorry (and broke :( )

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

23rd Sep 2002, 12:23

I was just wondering where in the world you found a 1991 Probe GT with a 2.8L 6cyl. First of all, the 1991 GT's came with a 2.2L 4cyl. turbo, and second of all, the 1991 LX's are the only model that was available in that year with a 6cyl, and that was a 3.0L. Hopefully you can understand my curiosity.

13th Oct 2003, 09:47

Yea man.. all the first generation gt's had the 2.2l inline 4 turbo engine and the v6 was a 3.0. unless you replaced your engine and decreased the displacement, I have no clue how this could ever be.

25th Feb 2006, 11:12

Today (Feb25.2006) I have bought a silver colored Probe GT turbo 2.2 Liter. There are many of them in Germany, in price range 1000-1400 Euros for 1991-1993 models. My car is 1991 model, manual transmission, glass roof window.

I wonder how it will drive. On test driving it ran very well.

1991 Ford Probe LX from North America


A fast, sleek, and dependably fun car


Brake fluid line needed repair due to leakage. Brake cable on the parking brake became entangled and is now unusable.

Needs pads and rotors replaced.

Headlight motors failed, lights are now forever up.

Glove box door latch broke. The glove box is now always open.

General Comments:

Interior lights are wonderful and easily adjustable for brightness.

Driver's seat is great and extremely adjustable to any body type.

The pick-up and speed on this car is awesome, it's great for a 4.0 cylinder!

Absolutely no fading of the interior.

Very easy to maintain and the check fluids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

1991 Ford Probe GL 2.2 L non-turbo from North America


Reliable, nice looking, inexpensive, and quick!


Headlights came broken, expensive to replace or find used parts.

Burns oil when cold.

Wheel fell off during highway use (thank's to my service centre).

General Comments:

I have to say, I'm not sure if the previous owner did something to this car, but I've yet to loose to a rice boy Civic. With a lot of tender lovin' care the car is a beauty, and realistically has never failed me, be it taking me to work, or putting out its all against an Acura (Most of the times winning those 0-60 races). I can't help that some people can't drive stick and lose to Civics.

The car has pep, and for me, is adequate for speed, handles decent on ice in the winter on Artic Alpines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

24th Jun 2004, 09:53

I raced a ford probe gl and kicked it in the nuts with my honda civic with the exact same mods as u.

21st Apr 2005, 04:13

I have raced many civics and many integras and never lost 91 ford probe lx.

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 V-6 181 CID from North America


A really good car for me


I have had the transmission go bad because of a hose that was too long and rubbed the battery and battery holder. This caused a hole and lost transmission fluids, and the transmission burnt before I could pull over...

The switches on the windows.

General Comments:

Other than the problems that I have listed above, the car has been a sweet heart to me. I happen to be a teen punk and I like to toy with those Civics. In this I have wholloped a few, so this is a decent import killer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

15th Sep 2001, 17:40

How much hp does it have?

9th Mar 2006, 05:19

Import killer? Sorry to burst your Yankee patriotic bubble there buddy, but your "import killer" is a Mazda MX6 with a face lift and Ford badging. Its as American as those Civics you talk down.