1993 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 2 of 23

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Overall good car, but Ford should back their very poor distributor design

Faults:

Distributor is very poor.. replaced it 4 times in one year at $230 a pop...

Interior looks nice.. but is cheap and falls apart..

Stock radio is horrible..

Retracting headlights were problematic..

Manual shifter very sloppy..

Very little room in the back seat.

General Comments:

Snappy little car with the 5 speed manual and 2.5 V6... lots of power in any traffic..

Handles great, fun to drive.. decent gas mileage.. averages about 28-30 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2009

31st Dec 2009, 13:34

"Distributor is very poor.. replaced it 4 times in one year at $230 a pop..."

You had no warranty? Or your distributors broke on day 91? Maybe you lost your receipts?

3rd Feb 2010, 00:49

The Probe distributor is not a Ford design, it's a Mitsubishi item. The shifter on my 1996 GT is as smooth as silk (at 172000) still with original clutch! And is very precise, smooth changing is what it's all about. I have not yet had problems with the headlights jamming or motor problems, all I did to improve the radio, was wire in an Alpine controller, stacker and sub, and now it sounds great.

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 liter from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Always wanted a Probe GT!

Faults:

36,000 - changed coolant hoses, drive belts, thermostat and timing belt (fear of dry rot as car was 13 years old at this point)

New ICM/Distributor around 40,000 (overheating ICM causing engine cut-out)... very scary first time it happened (on interstate)

New valve cover gaskets at 42,000...noticed a sharp decline in fuel economy (120-140 miles a tank with city driving). Expensive fix considering intake manifold had to come off. Changed plugs and wires while I was at it.

48,000 - ICM/distributor failed again... glad it had a lifetime warranty (didn't cover tow though!)

50,000 - knock sensor failed... rats! Just had the intake manifold off to replace valve cover gaskets... will change both together next time. $150 for sensor, $200 for labor.

52,000 - TPS sensor failed, just bought a new one and stuck it on (expensive little buggers these sensors are)...another $150ish for a new one.

54,000 - flushed transmission fluid and added transmission oil cooler (mainly out of fear as the automatics have terrible reputations for the reliability)

- Was trouble free for a while there -

69,000 - CV joints were failing, replaced... changed front wheel bearings too (recommend doing together).

70,000 - EGR trouble code, boy was that a tough little guy to get off. It was stuck open, cleaned it and put back on.

General Comments:

Great design and surely ahead of its time.

Seats are comfortable and I like the steering wheel. Rest of interior is a little on the cheap side (lots of plastic is breaking now)

Handles great! And a pleasure to drive.

If not for the low mileage on the car when I acquired it, I would have bought a manual... more fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2009

1993 Ford Probe SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance100786 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

The exhaust fell off.

General Comments:

Very sporty looking, and handling. My 0-60 (with the 4 banger!!) is about 8 seconds. I can take tight turns like they're nothing!

The only problem I've had, is when I got it, it had a lot of worn out parts. The previous owner never changed anything, as far as wiper blades and such. The first thing I replaced was the exhaust. Everything from the catalytic converter back is new. I changed the PCV valve, wiper blades, and front tires as well.

Very reliable (at least these last 2000 miles), and sporty, even without the v-6!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2008

1993 Ford Probe GT from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Expensive to fix

Faults:

I bought this Probe for my daughter about 7 months ago. She had driven it approximately 200 miles. It has been being worked on since the day that I bought it. I stopped to buy gas on the way home and it immediately broke down on the interstate. So far I have spent $500 at the Ford place, (no help), put a new throttle position sensor, new seal, and various other work. Now am told it needs both oxygen sensors. Problem is it misses like crazy. Can't figure it out.

General Comments:

If we could get the miss fixed, it has lots of power. Apparently these Probes are very hard to repair because no one so far can figure out the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th February, 2008

2nd Mar 2008, 12:33

I would assume repairs to be expensive for this car- it is 15 years old and out of production.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 90 reviews