1993 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 7 of 23

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

A mechanical nightmare

Faults:

Timing chain and tensioner were faulty as well as the water pump around 100000 miles.

General Comments:

If I had known this was going to be a money pit car I would have never bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

28th Apr 2005, 13:33

Timing chain and tensioner at 100,000 miles? This is normal maintenance you have to do to any car. Just to give you an example, my Toyota Corolla needs a timing belt replaced about every 80,000 miles. Timing chain, water pump and tensioner is not bad for a vehicle with 100,000 mile son it. Just wear and tear maintenance. You can't expect to drive a car and never out a single cent into it for repairs-period.

1st May 2005, 12:42

I think he'd really struggle to have problems with the timing chain.

The Probe uses a cambelt...

22nd Jul 2006, 08:39

I agree that those problems are nothing to really qualify as money pit issues.

1993 Ford Probe SE 2.0 L4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 L4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Fast, fun and reliable. A must have for fun on a budget!

Faults:

I bought this car for $1000 from a lady friend. I know she kept the oil changed and did some brake work, but that's about all she did.

When I got the car the front end was a mess. Needed to replace CV's, bearings and end links. Cost about $1000.

I consider things like CV's and bearings to be consumables and not unexpected at the mileage.

General Comments:

After having the front end rebuilt she has been problem free. Fast and sporty. Likes to run @3000 rpm. Gearbox is tight and wide enough in ratio to make it fun and annoying at the same time.

I give this car some pretty high marks in the handling department. I have a couple of on-ramp/off-ramps that show what this car is capable of.

Watch the alignment and especially ride height. If the ride height sags it will shred your tires on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

1993 Ford Probe SE 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Great car, low maintenance

Faults:

Hole in the intermediate pipe, fan belt went..

General Comments:

This is a great car. I let it rip a lot, and it still doesn't have any problems.

I don't like the colour (teal), so I am selling it and getting a Probe GT.

These are great cars. Very low maintenance to keep the car running strong.

For a 4 cylinder, it's pretty fast; I've beat VW GTIs, Civics, Acuras, and a 2 litre Lancer.

Overall, I give this car a 9 out of 10.. great car... and cheap..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2005

19th Apr 2005, 07:22

I love my car. I have one of these, but mine is very slow. I put an air intake system in it and a Aerospeed muffler. And yet I can't get it to go that fast. But anyways it works great for me, 150,000 miles and still going strong.

Isiah Turner.

1st Sep 2005, 10:11

I also have a Ford Probe 1993 SE, my car runs great except for a few minor details. I just replace my brake pads, as well as my two front rotors. I also had to have my control arm fixed due to racing and sharp turns. This is a good reliable car as long as you take good care of it. I have just been trying to rebuild it so I can take on even better cars. My car has 140,000 miles on it and still going strong. Never give up on probes, I also just got a new clutch and a new short shifter kit, like the other guy said, "Never get an automatic probe," they are junk.

Jake C. Ogden, UT.

1993 Ford Probe GT from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

I cried when I traded it in

Faults:

Had its normal maintenance schedules.

Head gasket went at 195,000kms.

Ignition wires at 160,000kms.

Nothing unexpected.

General Comments:

My probe was my baby!!!

It was my first car, and it never let me down. It started in sub-zero temperatures with ease, and never left me stranded anywhere.

Every young female needs a probe to make all of the guys jealous!

Best car ever, comfort, performance, handling, everything wonderful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

29th Mar 2005, 15:08

Every young female needs a probe, eh?

Well, amen to that...

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 90 reviews