1993 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 23 of 23

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 24v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla '88

Summary:

A great first sports car!

Faults:

The only problems I have had with my car was the brake callipers started to leak and the stabilizing rings went out giving a thumping sound from the front end.

General Comments:

I love this car! When I can't beat em in the long run (which doesn't happen a lot) I beat them with the handling. This car is great looking and has great power for the driving I like to do. I love the look on some Honda guy's face after I smoke him.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87500 miles
Most recent distance92800 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It sure does take those corners like a Probe GT should

Faults:

Well I guess the little things count such as a rewired parking lamp, new locks, new half shaft (drive train) and new front brakes.

General Comments:

This car was my dream and I am obsessed with it. It is a hot looking and fast car. It has very sloppy gears because they are cable driven and it is slow through 2nd gear but after that it flies. Had it up to 130 and it was still asking for more. I ran 15.7 at the drag strip all stock! It handles better than any car that I have ever driven and it is really low.

Ford dealerships are expensive to get this car fixed at.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

6th Feb 2002, 18:26

Well... I really like my Probe, but I can't say that I'm obsessed with it :) More like, I'm obsessed with the amount of money I had to spend to get the new distributer, along with the cost of those performance tires!

18th Dec 2002, 12:37

FYI - since the motor is made by mazda, if you go to a mazda dealer it is much cheaper than ford. Ford made the body. Go figure.

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 Liter V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter V-6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

An awesome ride that will last a while

Faults:

The alignment seems to get off easily, and I've replaced the CV boots once already (in a year).

If you drive it hard you go through tires often, about once every 7-10 months, if you drive nice they'll last longer.

General Comments:

An awesome ride. The GT has a lot of power behind it. It uses every bit of the horsepower that it has which is a small amount for a sports car).

Very comfortable in front, not so much in the back. The trunk space is huge.

Overall a very good car. I'm very disappointed that Ford quit making them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1993 Ford Probe GT 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 24v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

If you're gonna buy a Ford, get a Probe!

Faults:

I've had two transmissions put into this car, both of which went wrong because of Ford and had nothing to do with the car whatsoever. After I had taken it to another place, I have had nothing else happen to the car.

General Comments:

What can I say besides it looks great, feels great, and with a few minor accessories (Greddy exhaust, hotshot intake, hotshot headers, HKS sway bar, some new spark plug wires) it is quick as hell, and beats most opponents I've come up against. Comes VERY close to the Mustang but looks 10x better!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

2nd Mar 2004, 20:37

I don't know about that, I'v seen one other probe take a mustang, Mine!

21st Apr 2004, 21:46

I, ve got a 93 gt and I stay glued on my older brothers tail and he has a 2001 mustang gt so I beg to differ.

29th Jul 2004, 22:05

I have a probe gt and I will wax a v6 mustang.

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance142220 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The distributor, and the check engine light comes on after I hit 80 miles per hour or higher. I also have to replace the tires every 4 months.

General Comments:

I love this car. There is so much stuff you can do to it. I don't think I would trade my car for anything in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1993 Ford Probe 24V 2.5 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance96576 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier 2.0 FI

Summary:

Love it, love it, love it!

Faults:

A few minor adjustments to the alignment (4 wheels + 2 outer T.R.E's) $70.00, and all new brakes installed & rotors re-cut $60.00 (United brake parts).

I have also replaced both valve cover gaskets (3 hrs), gaskets, Beck Arnley, originally cost $119.78, I paid $73 and some change.

General Comments:

This car is perfect for my needs.

It requires no cosmetic work, no tweaking in its performance and although spare parts are an essential ingredient in any vehicles make-up they do tend to be a tad pricey when it comes to the engine management system.

Two O2 sensors $170 ea.... ouch!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2000

1993 Ford Probe from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A car with many problems

Faults:

Probes are the worse cars. NEVER buy one. The engines are foreign and they're nothing but problems. My modular distributer went out followed by the air condtioner and the A/C electrical parts. They handle nice when driven, but for price wise, never buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2000

1993 Ford Probe GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

It's a sports car !!!!!!

Faults:

Both CV'S, oxygen sensor, clutch, distributer & coil, ac leaks (R-34) hatch does not seal when closed, muffler system, rear callipers leaking brake fluid (where e-brake hooks into calliper), valve covers leak oil, paint is now losing clear coat fast, spend atleast $250.00 on average each month until most wear & tear items are fixed.

General Comments:

When owning a car 5+ years old you will have problems. Save your money because you will need it. When something goes bad spend a little extra for higher performance parts and you will be rewarded (bring it on Honda). If you can do the work yourself with a book, do it (trust me).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th March, 2000

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10

Faults:

1. Valve cover gaskets.

2. Oxygen sensors.

3. Airbag sensor?

General Comments:

Parts for this car are expensive, but take a ride in the car and you won't mind paying.

Don't ever take a Probe to a Ford Dealership to be fixed, they sabotage them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2000

26th Aug 2004, 05:57

Folks If you have the big Bucks by all means see the Ford Dealer. Parts, you can always do some calling around and compare. Get a manual and roll up your sleeves! If time and complications are too much for you seek a local mechanic who stands behind his work. The main thing is (know) what is exactly wrong with your car first! Then take out a loan, cars are expensive especially when they are US/Japan. The Probe is a good car, 10 years original owner and still shifting gears, but unfortunately nothing last forever!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 90 reviews