1993 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 22 of 23

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres

Summary:

Dollar for dollar it is the best car out there

Faults:

Spark plug wires - I just replaced the whole set.

Rear hatch struts - when they are cold they don't hold the rear hatch up.

Door panel - my door panel came loose once.

General Comments:

This car is a head turner. For the price you will never find a car that will turn the ladies heads and perform as well as a Ford Probe. I love this car, it was a car before its time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

An expensive car to maintain

Faults:

CV joints are bunk.

Rear calipers replaced.

Valve cover gasket replaced.

Check engine light stays on.

O2 sensors shot.

Expensive car to maintain.

General Comments:

These are very nice looking cars, but they cost a bundle to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2001

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 24V V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 24V V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Great car (until it breaks again)

Faults:

This car has some issues. First the CV joints ($500) went out.

The valve cover gasket (with a major tune up $450).

The distributor ($400).

The O2 sensors ($180).

The rear calipers, the master cylinder and the brake power booster (all brake things combined $700).

Now the transmision is a little off.

Important note on extending this car's life, let the car warm up before you drive it!!!

General Comments:

This car eats little Eclipses and Hondas up with out even going to the red line. But beware of repair bills for this car and try and do it yourself!

And girls love this car too, almost as much as the auto repair people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 23:06

Where did you buy your 02 sensor. The cheapest I can find is around 500$. Please e-mail me and let me know. Trinadee@aol.com Thanks!

10th Feb 2002, 16:40

I had to replace 1 O2 sensor and it was $55 ordered from whatever parts store my mechanic uses.

1993 Ford Probe GT V6 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 24v Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

It's a waste of money!!!

Faults:

Within the first week I had the car, the entire mechanical front end of the car had to be replaced(clutch, axles, bearings, etc.). The front end of the car never stays lined up.

Six months after I had the car the water pump and alternator belt had to be replaced.

And now, 9 months after buying, the entire computer system in the car has to be replaced.

General Comments:

The problems with my car may have been because of the dealer I bought it from. But a few other people I know have had nothing but problems from their Probe. In the future any car I buy will be a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

23rd Oct 2008, 18:59

You bought this car with over 140,000 miles on it, there are going to be problems. I had a Mazda MX6 which has the same engine and trans, and is pretty much the same car, and had no problems at all.

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 24V from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 24V Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Very high

Faults:

Distributor - $350 ouch.

Timing belt is the hardest one I've done so far.

Valve cover gaskets.

General Comments:

Great car, way better than my ex-Mustang.

Super looks, very fast Honda's nightmare, gas sucker but it's worth it. Love its diet - Integras for breakfast, Eclipse GTs for lunch, Mustang GTs for dinner, and of course Honda Civics as all day snacks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

1993 Ford Probe GT 24v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 24v DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance150027 miles
Previous carAcura Integra GS-R

Summary:

Fast, gorgeous, spacious, and did I say FAST!!!

Faults:

The clutch went out and I replaced it, but it was the original clutch that lasted 129,000 miles!!

The valve covers drip a tiny bit of oil with a little wetness around the oilpan.

Transmission has a few bugs, but still drives and that's with me driving like a bat out of hell.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever driven. No other car provides a better mix of performance, comfort, looks, and utility. It's fast as hell for its class, and has the most room for cargo and what not.

I have over 150,000 miles and can still stay right beside my friend with a '97GT (his has 37,000 miles). When we race I am right there beside him!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

20th Jan 2002, 20:58

Excuse me, did you say spacious, or did I read that wrong?? That is one of the things I hate most about my Probe GT is that there is NO ROOM AT ALL! Especially in back.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 90 reviews