1993 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 21 of 23

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5L 24 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 24 valve Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52250 kilometres
Most recent distance115321 kilometres
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Great car and fun to drive

Faults:

Left and right valve gaskets (front and back)- $750.

Spark plugs wires - $40.

Door lock button - $130.

Left rear caliper sticking - $140.

Distributor - $379.

Power antenna mast just fell off on the highway - $130.

CD player (stock) - $125.

General Comments:

Great car has lots of power and is fun to drive.

Costs lots to repair but well worth it.

I have got it up to 200 kms and I can definately go more, but have not pushed it that far =)

Takes some Mustangs on at the starting point, but they got it in the long run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1993 Ford Probe Base 2.0 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

A sweet little car for the money

Faults:

Brake pads have been replaced several times.

Distributer/alternator needed replacing.

Fuel pump went.

General Comments:

Besides the above problems, this car has been super. The reason the electrical stuff went is that I was running a 2100 watt stereo on the stock distributor and alternator. Also, I'm pretty hard on cars - I souped the Probe up and did quite a bit of street racing in it. When you figure these things in, this has been a good little car - it eats V6 Mustangs/Camaros and non-turbo Eclipses for breakfast ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

30th Aug 2001, 21:51

I Love my '97 SE Probe and all dude, but really, I highly doubt you could beat anything with a V6.

9th Dec 2002, 20:24

I don't exactly agree with the guy that said you couldn't bet anything with a V6. I own a 94 GT 5 speed manual that leaves cameros/mustangs and turbocharged eclipses eating my dust.

8th Feb 2003, 21:56

I have a 93 Ford Probe SRS and the distributor has never been replaced. I had to replace the brakes, but that happens with every car.

3rd Jun 2003, 08:55

LOL, I don't think a Probe could beat V6 Mustangs or Camaros even at their best, so stop bragging LOL.

16th Jul 2006, 20:28

Well actually a Probe GT can school a V-6 Mustang any day. Stock vs. stock the Probe has the Mustang beat in every catagory.

- It's lighter (by quite a bit)

- The Mustang has 145 hp vs. the Probes 165 hp.

The V-6 Mustangs are slow as hell. I beat them in both my 93' GT and my 91' Gl (my 91' isn't stock however)

17th Jul 2006, 08:47

The newer Mustangs up to 04 or so have a 190hp in the V-6 not 145. And the new ones have 210hp.

17th Jul 2006, 17:00

Distributors in V6 Probes and Mazda MX-6 were prone to early failure - the ignitor module burned out. Later OEM replacements (94 onwards) were sound, but some inferior remanufactured units had similar problems.

The powerful stereo would not have affected the operation of the distributor unless it put massive voltage spikes into the +12V line. 2100W is utterly beyond the capacity of the standard alternator though.

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Car of the decade

Faults:

The brake pads and calipers were replaced for 500. Also the power antennae is broken and will not go up.

General Comments:

The Probe is a great first car and if you like to feel the bumps in the road get it. I overlook the one problem of bone crushing hits and huge bumps when you hit something bumpy on the road and just drive. It's a stick and I feel like I am Jeff Gordon with the Probe. Plus, all the ladies check me out. :) jk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A great car for the money

Faults:

I have just had to replace spark plug wires at 65000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It's fast, quick, sporty.

Will out handle most other cars on the road.

Great gas mileage too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

1993 Ford Probe GT 2.5 L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired235 miles
Most recent distance100800 miles
Previous carNA NA

Summary:

Take out another loan to fix the thing!

Faults:

Front 02 sensor.. 100.00.

Timing belt tensioner... 225.00.

Water pump... 1000.00 (includes install).

Tranny... 2500.00 (dealer).

All before 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

I give credit for its styling, and handling, but it is by far the most expensive car I've ever owned. It is a Mazda, so parts are very expensive and hard to find.. I would not buy another car from Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

2nd Apr 2001, 02:48

When you have a car for 7 years like you say, you should expect some repairs.

By the way, don't you mean $100 for the water pump, not a $1000.

I hope so, because if not, you got ripped off.

10th Apr 2003, 16:12

No he meant $1000, upkeep on the probe is EXPENSIVE!!! and no one wants to do it (at least around here).

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 90 reviews