1996 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1996 Ford Probe V6 2.5 Litre 24Valve from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre 24Valve Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Good valued nice to drive sports car

Faults:

Things that have gone wrong are:

Brake calipers seized on the Back.

CV joint broke and made knocking when turning corners.

Distributer connections corroded up causing it to randomly not start.

Central Locking failed and kept opening itself.

Boot Lid gas struts failed and the boot lid wouldn't stay up.

General Comments:

General comments are:

This car is a good valued sports car which is both quick and pretty much reliable.

The problems I've had have been fixed pretty easily and nothing has cost a fortune.

The interior is nice and comfortable however build quality is poor and there are a lot of rattles and squeaks, which drive me crazy!!

It is thirsty and I only get between 270 and 300 miles out of a £45.00 tank of fuel and that's not driving like a racing driver.

All in all 7-8 out of 10 for being a good valued good looking nice to drive sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

1996 Ford Probe SE 2.0L V4 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L V4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Awesome car. outstanding

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong just I change my clutch recently, but that's it.

General Comments:

This car is awesome never had a problem. just people who sit on the back, but I don't sit there lol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2006

1996 Ford Probe GT 24v V6 2.5i from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Exellent value sports car that looks and performs superbly

Faults:

Nothing at all!!

General Comments:

This car looks fantastic - very sporty and sleek. Almost Porsche like.

Very fast and engine is made to be modified. Drives best at high speeds.

Interior is excellent. sporty leather seats and lots of room in the front although room is tight in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

1996 Ford Probe GT 2.5L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

Great car for a Ford

Faults:

For some reason, the V6 burns a lot of oil.

Replaced rear hatch strut supports when purchased.

Both rear speakers blew easily.

CV boots cracked easily, I've replaced both front ones.

The polishing began to peel off of the rims and the bumper covers were faded unless wax buffed for an hour.

Timing belt had been replaced twice.

Window/lock control switched cracked on both doors.

Muffler broke off from exhaust pipe... I just cut it off and left it off (sounds better!)

Parts prices are sky-high.

Transmission is beginning to hesitate and engine is miss-firing I think.

General Comments:

Quick car- I've ran it against V6 'stangs and several sports imports and most people are surprised. It competes very well in it's league.

Comfortable interior and ride.

Easy to do modifications to, unless working on the engine. Then it gets way too tight.

Lots of cargo room with the back seats down and the rear shelf removed.

Awesome exterior style; excellent head-turner.

I plan to buy one again some day when I have more money for serious modifications (fabricated turbo/supercharger, nos, etc). Until then, I need a family car. :(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

1996 Ford Probe 16 valve 2 Litre from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2 Litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

An affordable and rewarding sports car

Faults:

Rear brake caliper.

Hydraulic lifters/tappers.

Rusted Sunroof.

Central Locking.

General Comments:

The probe is a cheap car to purchase.

Running costs are quite reasonable provided you stay away from Ford main dealers.

The 2 Litre engine is powerful enough, although not particularly fast unless your rev the engine hard.

The front seats are very comfortable.

Rear space is tight, however there is a very large boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

22nd Feb 2006, 13:09

This is not a sports car, maybe for the unreliable bit, but definitely underperforms. don't waste your money.

27th May 2007, 15:41

I don't care what it is its cheap, well free in my case I'm not reviewer, but thought id say.

1996 Ford Probe V6 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Fast, handles well, but dealer support is terrible

Faults:

Crank sensor x2.

Driver's side foot well fuse box corroded.

CV joint.

Wheel bearing.

Standard boot strut problem.

General Comments:

I have been plagued with electrical problems since owning this car, which were eventually traced to a corroded fuse box.

The problem seems to be that even Ford mechanics don't understand how these cars work, hence getting any sort of service is nigh on impossible. I have however received great help from the Ford Probe Owners Club www.fpoc.co.uk

Once the electrics had been sorted out, I was relieved to find that the Probe was everything I hoped it would be; it is responsive, agile for a car of its size, and relatively comfortable, given the sporty nature of the suspension.

Inside the car visibility is good, but the center console looks cheap and dated, which is unlike the rest of the car, which has aged very well.

Fords seem to pick a price out of the air for spares, and quite often the same part can be obtained from Mazda (the MX6 is largely similar in terms of mechanical parts) for much less. For example a cruise control switch from Lincoln Ford was quoted at £210 + VAT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

27th Jan 2010, 19:14

Never ever go to a Ford dealer for any Probe parts or repairs. Mazda dealers can do everything needed doing at less than half price Ford charges. The car is predominantly MX6 Mazda anyway.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews