1996 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1996 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Pretty nice car if you have loads of money to repair it

Faults:

Tires were dry rotted, and I had to replace all four. Totaling over $1,000.

Driver seat was torn badly on the lumbar support when purchased. $80.00 for a new seat from a junkyard.

The engine missed so badly that immediately after I purchased it I had to replace the spark plugs and wires. $120.00 to replace.

Transmission went at 101,000 miles. $1,000 to replace.

Water pump also went at 101,000 miles. $100.00 to replace.

Currently, it doesn't start. Check engine light is on, and the decoder says the air intake sensor is disconnected.

Also could be a reason as to why it won't start: the fuel pump may be shot.

Also it needs a new sunroof motor, it barely shuts, you practically have to push it shut.

And it needs new window motors, those also move very slowly.

Also.. it needs a new prop rods for the hatchback, those don't hold it up at all.

General Comments:

Nice looking body.

Quick, for an automatic.

Seats aren't the best.

Handles amazingly, I also drive a jetta, and it feels as if the probe practically is hugging the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

11th May 2005, 19:06

Hatch back push rods are quick to fail. And also the window motors are bad, but most problems relating to the fuel system are the fuel system relay censor, $220.00 to replace.

24th May 2005, 20:40

Steve, smack the bottom of the gas tank with a hammer while someone turns the engine over, if the car starts and then stalls out it's the fuel pump. And I hate to tell your this, they aren't cheap, but you probably knew that.

I would also have your distributor checked. It's made by Mitsubishi, so it's a complicated and pricey piece of equipment, Mazda should give you a better price than Ford.

I have found whenever I need parts mazda has, or can get them. This is because the engine is made by Mazda.

I hope you have better luck with your car, but since I own a 96' probe gt, I don't think luck will be any help.

13th Jun 2005, 09:08

This is the writer of this post.

After this I fixed the fuel pump, the alternator and bought a brand new battery.

I had frequent problems with one of the tires leaking and the day I finally got it fixed; I totaled it.

I hit a telephone directly head on. and now the car is junk.

Amazingly, my airbags worked. so all you probe owners, the airbags saved my life, I didn't have my seat belt on.

Well there goes $4,000. I'm going to miss it = (

5th Mar 2006, 10:16

I feel your pain.

I'm a student and I got my '94 Probe GT a bit over a year ago. I had to fix a lot of stuff, including auto transmission without even being able to work (student visa in canada). But I fell in love with this car and didn't buy books instead and I fixed it each time. I'm hoping to work and get money now, so I can make it better. Everyone here has the Ford Probe bug! :) There are so many of us which is a good sign that the Ford Probe, even though it wasn't meant to hold together as it gets older is a great car.

18th Jun 2010, 03:07

This car would be long sold by now, but things like struts for the tailgate aren't expensive.

As far as the tyres go, you should have checked them before you bought the car!

The windows usually need silicon squirted down this runner at the front; that will free up the windows.

The check light is usually a leak in the air pipe before the airflow sensor.

1996 Ford Probe GT 2.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired181000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Calibra

Summary:

Sexy looking car with beaut engine if looked after

Faults:

Front right shocks are absolutely worn- 2nd set of shocks in history of car.

Water pump lost its bearings- 3rd water pump in history of car; relatively expensive to repair as there is minimal room and it is attached behind the timing belt- so timing case and power steering and alternator belts must come off to access. (these cars are very harsh on water pumps)

Oil leaks coming from timing case and Cam seals (causing oil to seep onto timing belt, which is softening it, which will cause belt to snap and bend engines valves)

General Comments:

This car is beautiful to look at and keeps up with appearances today.

The engine is very high revving for a V6 however appearances may be deceiving, as sexy lines certainly do not match reliability of engine once kilometres start clicking over.

It would be cheaper and more worthwhile buying a new engine rather than repairing certain components that go wrong with the car.

Ensure car that is bought has had good owners and has been very well cared for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2004

4th Dec 2009, 01:25

I bought a 1996 Ford Probe GT for my boy, it ran fine while checking it over and on the drive home. When my boy came over to pick it up, it ran terrible. It will run fine, and then it will run like it has a timing problem. Has anyone had any of the same problems, and could give me some advice? I had a shop check it out, and they said the code said a cam shaft positioning sensor, so I replaced the distributor and it is still doing the same thing! I think it is the fuel pump or a fuel filter? Please let me know if there is anyone who can give good advice? Carhauler420@yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews