1988 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 from North America

Summary:

I wouldn't hesitate to buy another

Faults:

I snapped the bolts on the starter and bent the frame racing a friend off-road.

The clutch just went at 189000 along with the u-joints and the coil springs and the head gasket (I drive it really hard). The power windows don't work (checked the fuse and that wasn't it so I ignored it).

General Comments:

This truck runs well and held up well till I got it (I got it from a friend of my parents so I know the history of the truck). If you drive it carefully it will last you forever, but if you drive it like Bo Duke your going to have a lot of fun with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2006

5th Apr 2009, 11:47

HELL YES BROTHER!!! My 87 Ranger won't die for some reason, and I've climbed hills you wouldn't believe, been through mud holes that went up half my doors, stopped in it, and 4 high got me out!!! Definitely out wheels anything short of a rockbuggy. And I get 15 mpg highway. Yes it's my daily driver...

1988 Ford Ranger stx 2.9 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable and good looking if you take care of it

Faults:

When I first bought it, the clutch slipped and parking brake cable was seized. The speedometer cable broke 3 years ago at 197,000 miles.

General Comments:

I use the truck for farm work and travel. The tires have always worn evenly. Never had an alignment!

The posi-lok rear end is terrific when going uphill in snow or off road.

Not much power on the road, but the 25 miles per gallon (in 2 wheel drive) makes up for it.

I changed the oil 3 years ago, forgot where the grease fittings are, and never been to a truck wash. Rusty, but with a 950 amp battery in it, it never made me walk. I bought another '88 Ranger for going to town because my wife wouldn't ride in a rusty, smelly, dirty, abused, cow chasing, truck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2005

1988 Ford Ranger STX 2.9L Fuel Injected from North America

Summary:

The Danger Ranger keeps on going

Faults:

Replaced:

Gas tank and fuel pump

Radiator and hoses

Tie rod ends

Ball joints

Manifolds

Headlights and taillights

Exhaust

Tires

U-Joints

Hubs for automatic locking 4x4

Drive shaft for 4-wheel drive

Water pump

Shocks

Front seal on transmission leaks and needs to be replaced.

The 4-wheel drive works, but makes some bad noises when using it.

General Comments:

The 2.9L engine is not fast and doesn't get good gas mileage either.

It handles OK.

The front seats are comfortable and interior is clean.

The exterior is covered in rust, dents, and scratches.

I have flipped it on each side, hit many thing, and beat the crap out of it.

No matter what I do to this truck it keeps on going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

1988 Ford Ranger SLT 2.9 V6 from North America

Summary:

Just plain fabulous

Faults:

Blower Motor 250,000 miles.

Ball Joints finally worn, but not gone 298,000 miles.

Clutch needs replacing.

Changed brake pads front and rear 275,000.

Fuel system needed cleaning 240,000.

General Comments:

Bought this little bugger for $1500, and got two solid years out of it. It is still running well - leaking a bit, but at nearly 300,000 miles, that's to be expected!! What a truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

1988 Ford Ranger STX 2.9 from North America

Summary:

This thing just won't quit

Faults:

Overdrive (5th gear) broke - repaired.

Outside drivers mirror loose - replaced.

A/C quit - replaced with R-134 system.

Brakes started grabbing - replaced lines.

Fuel guage broken - use trip meter.

Dark blue paint faded and is peeling from hood and roof.

FM section of radio quit.

General Comments:

This is a tough truck. There are certain weak points (such as above mentioned 5th gear) but considering the rough use I've given this truck over the past 17 years, it has done very well.

Interior is in great shape.

Still on original clutch with no indication of wear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

4th Dec 2005, 23:31

My ranger has 166K on it and its also a 4x4 the only thing I replace on it was a control module. a great truck. it is the XL model with a 2.9 V6 5 speed.