1988 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 V6 from North America


A great truck for the money.


My Battery died twice.

My muffler rusted out.

General Comments:

The truck has been great. There has not been any major problems with it. It was worth every penny. I wouldn't trade it for another truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

1988 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 unleaded from North America


An expensive truck to maintain


The truck has no off the line power.

Not even one month after I got it the original 2.3 blew up due to low oil pressure.

The 2.3 is a very hard engine to find.

The bed of the truck was rusted through on both wheel wells.

The cab is in fairly good shape, with exception to a few rust spots.

General Comments:

The truck handles like a wet noodle on dirt roads especially freshly graded ones.

The interior and cab of the truck is comfortable for me, I'm only 5'6" tall though. For a taller person it just isn't the thing to ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

1988 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 from North America


Best bang for your buck!


Oxygen Sensor.

Temperature Sensor.

Engine block (improper maintenance from previous owner).



General Comments:

This truck isn't the best on gas, but it makes up for it with it's excellent performance.

The seats are extremely comfortable.

Very easy to park due to high visibility.

This truck is tougher than life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

1988 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9L from North America


I wish I hadn't ever bought it!


Transmission died, replaced the clutch and got the pressure plate machined.

Water pump went out. Replaced it and the thermostat.

About to replace my thermostat again.

Replaced the entire muffler system right after I bought it.

Paint on the hood is peeling off in large quantities, and the parking brake just snapped.

The pump for the window washing fluid didn't work, so I replaced it and it worked for a day then the new one stopped working.

General Comments:

I keep up the maintenance, with oil changes every 4,000 miles, but I still go through at least 1 quart of oil before I change it again.

The inside has done quite well though, except for the armrest on the door, it's flat now and my elbow digs into the screws, and I only weigh 150lbs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

9th Feb 2002, 09:49

You must of got a lemon. I have a ranger from 1987 and it has been the best vehicle ever. I wouldn't give it up for a Viper.

24th Oct 2002, 10:35

I have an '87 also. I'd give mine up for a Viper, but just for the change in scenery. It still runs very well. I've rebuilt the engine once (at about 60,000 miles, it now has about 200,000 miles on it). I had the clutch replaced at the same time. I've also replaced the water pump and will probably replace the thermostat here a few days. Everything else is fine. I don't baby it at all. It was garaged in Iowa for the first 11 years and for the past 4 it's been in Los Angeles.

27th Jul 2004, 17:04

I have a 88 ranger 4x4 I have replaced y pipe 3 starter's O2 sensor plugs, wire's rotor button distributor cap, fuel filter rear shoes rear wheel cylinder's rear brake line, front brake pads, transfer case from electric to manual new tires, left side manifold, new windshield, new solenoid. I have owned this truck for 6 months now hope the next six are better.

7th Dec 2004, 22:23

1988 Ranger XLT, 4x4 V6 Extra Cab. Floor board carpet on passenger side always wet after rain. I sit inside during rain trying to find leak, but have not so far.

Have re-sealed windshield, but did not stop wet carpet.

Replaced both fuel pumps, in tank, and frame mount, over $120.00

Replaced brakes, and wheel cylinders, repaired broken emergency brake cable.

Light switch works sometimes, but other times will not bring on taillights.

A/C has to be re-charged with freon every Summer.

Truck feels top heavy when steering around curves.

Brake and clutch pedals very small and sit very close together.

Cannot find and stop water leak into interior!!!

7th Mar 2006, 11:27

Your interior leak is most likely coming through the heater system. This is common. I would check the blower motor gasket under the hood, the rubber hose that goes from the evaporator (plastic housing that holds the blower motor), and the blower motor resistor housing located to the right of the motor. Moisture may be entering the cab from one of these spots... Otherwise, if there are no problems mechanically, you can always just live with it! :)