1995 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 2 of 9

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Outstanding!!

Faults:

Door chimes stayed on. Used the easy fix that is out there.

Wipers come on by themselves, used the easy fix that is out there.

Pilot bushing, replaced it.

General Comments:

With 240000 miles on it, this Ranger has exceeded my expectations; 15 years old and still looks new.

It has stood the test of time and mileage.

Will buy the new F100 as soon as it comes out!

Will not buy GM (Government Motors); the car and warranty you pay for TWICE! (First with your tax dollars, and then with your purchase price.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2010

10th Jun 2012, 21:57

They have a recall on your wiper switch.

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance278240 miles

Summary:

This is the most dependable truck I've ever owned

Faults:

Had to replace clutch at 251,000 miles.

Had to replace front hubs at 272,000 miles.

I'm in the process of shopping for new headlights, as mine are faded and discolored. But that's not bad, I've gotten 15 years out of the originals.

General Comments:

I currently have 278,240 miles on the original motor, and it's still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2010

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carDodge Power Wagon

Summary:

Great truck to own!

Faults:

Gem module failed.

Door alarm kept false alarming.

Both problems covered by the warranty.

General Comments:

I'm very happy with this truck. I have owned it for 15 years and it still runs like it's brand new. Very reliable and fun to drive. I've had very few problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2010

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Faults:

This is a very reliable truck.

I use it more for short hauls than long hauls.

It is also good on gas as well, considering it is a truck.

If anyone is looking at trying to get a truck in the nearby future, I would recommend a Ford ranger.

And if you happen to get one, get one with a V-6, 3.0L.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2009

12th Jan 2009, 23:48

When my brother left town, he left his 1993 Ford Ranger parked on the side of my house in the backyard. We only use it once of month at most for errands. Strange thing is people notice it back there, and 3 or 4 times a year someone new will stop by and ask if it is for sale. They always seem real disappointed when I say it's my brothers and it is not for sale. I guess these old Rangers have a reputation for being good work trucks that are reasonably economical to keep running. I'm kind of mystified by it.

1995 Ford Ranger Super Cab 4.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Buy it if you're good at electrical repairs

Faults:

Temperature gauge fluctuated wildly while it was still under warranty, and it was very unnerving to see the temperature gauge needle soar towards Hot. Several trips to the dealer accomplished nothing, so I eventually fixed it myself.

Windshield wipers came on unexpectedly, which is very dangerous if the windshield is dirty, while driving 70 mph on the freeway. Suddenly, a huge opaque smear was on the windshield. Again, I had to replace all possible offenders to correct problem. Dealer was useless.

A condition where the truck's open door alarm, "ding ding ding" would stay on for minutes while I was driving with the door securely closed. The dealer did know the cause of the problem, but charged me $900 to fix it. I honestly can't describe what they replaced. It was something on top of the engine.

General Comments:

Engine performance is good.

Electrical performance is horrible.

A nice interior.

I enjoy driving this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2008

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 4 -cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 -cylinder Manual
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned, so far

Faults:

Dome light and chime would not shut off at 5000 miles.

Rear leaf springs and shackles were replaced at 150000 miles.

Timing belt broke and replaced at 180000 miles.

I had to replace power steering hose at about 100k.

General Comments:

Even though the body style is dated, I still think its the best looking of all small trucks.

YES! I had the same problem with the dome light and chime not shutting off. I eventually removed those L-shaped, ball-point ajar switches inside the doors. I dismissed it as a maybe typical, but minor Ford electrical design flaw.

The 2.3L engine may not be a high performer, but its faithful and reliable, and that's all I need. However: as well as basic maintenance like tune-ups and 3k oil changes, replace that timing belt at 100k like they say in that factory maintenance schedule! I never did and the result is my first major engine repair after 13 years of original ownership! But I successfully fixed it myself (with a little help lining up the timing sprockets) and it runs fine again.

Don't haul a ton load in a 1/4 ton truck. That's why my leaf springs and shackles broke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2008

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews