1995 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1995 Ford Ranger XL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Good bargain truck

Faults:

The heater core had a leak. To replace it, the whole dash has to come out on this model. Talk about a pain. The replacement heater core then started to leak after only 10,000 miles.

The clutch slave and master cylinder both went out. I changed the throw out bearing and clutch plate at the same time. The master cylinder CANNOT be bled on the vehicle. It must be bled ahead because of the angle.

I cannot believe no one else has mentioned the common windshield wiper fantom on this truck. They come on whenever and where ever the want.

The truck has always run rough. The dealer says its normal?

General Comments:

Good overall performance for a 4 cylinder. I should have bought the 6 cylinder.

Seats and interior are good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

20th Jun 2003, 15:37

First of all I love my Ranger! I too have a Ranger that decides it's time for the windshield wipers (sometimes the washer) to come on. It's not a problem for me, I think it's sort of funny. My Ranger Extended Cab is very comfortable although I find it difficult to reach into the back for things I need, especially from the drivers side. The 60/40 seats are comfortable and the ride is as good as one can expect from a truck.

2nd Oct 2003, 11:53

I know what you mean about the windshield wipers coming on. I will be driving down the freeway and all of a sudden the fluid and wipers will come on for a few seconds then go back off. I believe that it is in the multi-function switch. I've never had it replaced. I just chalk it up to another personality my little truck has. :)

24th Oct 2003, 19:32

I'm from Brazil, and have a 96 V6 Ranger with 56.000 miles

I'm very happy with the truck. Power comes in good shape

I have no word against.

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carJeep J-10 pickup

Summary:

Nothing special...gets the job done

Faults:

The clutch went at around 95000. The auto locking hubs are junk. I seem to be going through U-Joints rather quick.

General Comments:

Well, I've used this little truck for all the same work that my buddies use their full-size rigs for. The only difference is the money I've saved on gas, and the number of times they've actually had to climb into the bed of their trucks to retrieve a tool.

Don't get me wrong. If I could've afforded a full size pickup, I would have gotten one. But, I'm not disappointed with what I got.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

1995 Ford Ranger XLT 4x4 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

FORD... king of the junk vehicles!!!

Faults:

JUNK!!!

Hubs, battery, O2 sensors, engine misfires, clogged injectors, door jam indicators, power windows, heads... yes these are all things that went bad in 5 months. Buy a Ford and this is what you have to look forward too. Buy foreign stuff, much more reliable.

General Comments:

I like to buy American cars (used too), but this is my 4th Ford, and all of them were junk. TOTAL JUNK, if it can go wrong, it will go wrong on a Ford. Try a Toyota or Hyundai, much better!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

26th Apr 2001, 18:02

I have great luck with Ford Rangers, and Ford in general. I know many people that own foreign trucks such as a Toyota or "toy" as I call it because they are little pieces of crap.

20th May 2001, 21:02

I have a 95' Ranger with 70K. My Truck has had a few problems, including "Weird" electrical stuff, like wipers that start for no reason, and the "door open" chime for no reason...

Other then that, I have never had this vehicle leave me stranded. I am very much impressed with the 95' Ranger.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews