2001 Ford Ranger XL 2.5 from North America


You get what you pay for. Not a lot!!!


Transmission problems at 80,000, costing $1750 to fix.

Engine runs rich causing muffler problems every 4-6 months.

Poor acceleration and Power.

Horrible Gas milieage. It is projected to get 25 city (Only getting 18-19) and 20 city (only getting 13-15).

Extremely bumpy ride.

General Comments:

Other than problems listed above the car has been reliable, but expected a lot more from a Ford (Built Ford Tough, doesn't say much for what a Tough means to Ford). although, It is a nice style small truck and I am not ashamed of this ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2006

14th Feb 2006, 18:50

Did you beat the truck? That might explain the tranny problem, or maybe you forgot to change the fluid in the auto tranny.

As for your engine troubles, they could all probably be solved by one stupid sensor or something screwy in the computer.

15th Feb 2006, 09:55

The auto trannies in these trucks (and Explorers) are trash. They're based on a design from the Aerostar van.

2001 Ford Ranger XL 2.3L 16v EFI 4-cylinder from North America


The most reliable vehicle I've owned


Had to replace U-joints at 67,500 Miles. I am a chronic down-shifter so that probably caused their early demise.

My thermostat went out at 52,125.

General Comments:

This has been a great little truck for me. It's a plain, basic Ranger XL with absolutely zero options on it.

It gets great gas mileage (26-32 mpg combined driving conditions)...a bit squirrelly in the wintertime, but withing expectations for a light truck on snow / ice.

I plan on keeping this truck a long, long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2005

6th Jan 2011, 05:21

I purchased this truck used in October 2002 with 11k miles.

It has 115k as of January 2011 and besides the thermostat going at 109k and the dealer only part price, I love the truck.

Bad news is the truck feels like it's getting smaller because my daughter was an infant when the truck was bought and now has bookbags, Nintendo DSI XL and latest activity gear, which make the interior space disappear.

Will keep it as long as it runs this well and cheap.

2001 Ford Ranger EDGE 3.0 from Guam


Generally good vehicle


Wheel Rims rusted out due too bad design (Traps water)

General Comments:

Poor design of rims could have caused serious accident by rims failing at wrong time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2005

2001 Ford Ranger XLT V6 from North America


This car is great



General Comments:

This car is excellent!!! Runs and performs great. Looks great and also plenty of room for a Ranger. I am defianyly glad I bought this truck and hope others will too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

2001 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 V6 from North America


Fun to drive truck, but get the extended warranty


Serpentine belt replaced under warranty (miles unknown).

Serpentine belt replaced again at my cost at 39,596 miles.

Oil pressure sensor replaced under warranty (miles unknown).

Engine pinging at part throttle acceleration within month of buying it new-still pings even after taking it to dealer several times.

Engine surging at 41,214 miles. Fixed by dealer at cost to me.

Clunking, rubbery sound coming from front suspension. Dealer says lower ball joint and tie rod needs replacing.

41,657 miles on truck.

Howling sound coming from transmission at 41,657 miles. Don't know yet what trouble that could mean.

General Comments:

The performance of the truck is not bad. The 4.0 V6 is strong enough to accelerate nicely in traffic. I feel comfortable driving the truck. The air conditioner is quite powerful and the dashboard controls and gages are well placed.

Quality is another issue. I have not abused the truck -using it mainly on road going and coming from work and some long trips. A vehicle with 41,657 miles should have no major problems with it. My biggest complaint is the engine pinging. Supposedly it is normal to have some pinging, but I think it indicates faulty design, adjustment, or manufacture. Also a ball joint and tie rod should not wear out at 41,214 miles.

Test driving a vehicle for even an hour may not indicate future problems.

I did not get the pinging problem until later on down the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2005