2004 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2004 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0liter from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

This vehicle has performed very well and is still as quiet and tight as day one.

General Comments:

This vehicle although it is choppy on rough roads due to the short wheel base, I have found that the quality of the seats take care of that with little problem.

Lots of power when needed and will smoke the tires if you have a heavy foot. this is a very well built truck and when serviced properly will give someone very little problems over the life of the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

2004 Ford Ranger FX3 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance12600 miles

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

No problems with this truck at this time.

General Comments:

Drives well, handles great, ride just a little stiff when truck is empty. Rides great with a load.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

2004 Ford Ranger EDGE 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Fast reliable and does great on double lane stoplights!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love my truck. It is the 4 door model. The highest up ranger other than the thunder. The 4.0 L v-6 is the biggest engine they put in the ranger. I got the 4 by 4. Got the biggest wheels 17 inch. Got the highest up stereo too. The one with cd player and tape player. Got the hard fiberglass lid to go over the bed. It is also very fast and can get me out of tight situations in a hurry. I got a cool color too. It is a florescent blue. It looks blue in the shade, but when you pull it into the light it looks purple. Got the flomaster exhaust system on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2005

10th Nov 2009, 23:16

This is so old, but I feel I have to comment 4 years later. My friend showed me this. Oh man. All I have to say is... and it's still just a Ranger. Nice buddy.

2004 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 Liter Gas from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Liter Gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good Truck, Great Price, Awesome Engine

Faults:

The knob for the lights stripped and was 20 dollars for the replacement part.

Some rattles come from around the rear window and are quite annoying.

General Comments:

The truck has a lot of power and really pulls hard. The engine is by far the best thing on this truck. Gobs and gobs of torque from a little truck. My buddy has an S10 with the 4.3 liter Vortech and the ford absolutley kills that engine.

It rides really rough, but it's a truck so what do you expect.

Some of the interior pieces are pretty cheap.

The sound system is great for a bottom of the barrel system.

It is more quiet then I expected, but you can tell the integrity is not up to par with some other cars because the wind noise is slowly getting louder and louder.

Overall a really great bargain for a good little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2004

1st Jul 2005, 01:35

I Recently bought a 2003 ford ranger XLT super cab. When I bought it it had 4500 miles on it. I have had the truck for a little while now and I have absolutely no complaints about this vehicle. You get what you pay for. The truck is quick, powerful, and girls seem to love a young guy with a nice truck. I only with it had more storage space like the Tacomas. Overall a nice truck.

2004 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Buy something else

Faults:

Pre-ignition. Oh, did I mention pre-ignition. My 2.3 liter 2004 XLT Ranger pings just like the 2.3 liter 1991 Ranger I had before it. I have to use premium gasoline even though the owner's manual says 87 octane is fine. WRONG! WRONG! WRONG! On warm days the thing pings like a pinball machine if it is not filled with 92 octane. I do not know how I let myself get talked into another Ranger. I guess figured after 13 years Ford should have fixed the problem. But NO. Now I am stuck with paying extra for premium gas. Next time I will pay the additional "gas money" up front and get another brand truck: one that really runs on regular gas.

On another note, the 2004 Ranger has blind spots that were not present in my 1991. The seats, for one, are higher in the back and make it harder to look back when you turn your head while parking, etc. Additionally, the rear pillars seem to be wider on my 2004 regular cab than on my 1991 regular cab. Or, perhaps the rear view mirrors are in a slightly different location. Either way, my ability to see vehicles coming up from behind in the lane next to the driver has been reduced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

25th Oct 2004, 12:54

I have a 1987 ford ranger i'ts the best I ever had. I plow with, but I have a problem with the right front brake locking up. Ihave 63000 on it. any ideas. Someone told it was the brake line. I say it's the calaper. Idon't know john.

30th Oct 2004, 22:24

I have a 2004 Ford Ranger XLT and it's been in the shop 4 times in it's first 3600 miles because of a miss around 40 mph. The dealer told me today that the torque converter pulses at that speed, it's a characteristic of the vehicle, and all Rangers do it, including the 2005s. My highway gas mileage is 17 mpg, and that's with me using cruise control and trying to get the best I can. I really have trouble believing that this is a widespread problem. Does anyone else have the same "characteristic" in their Ranger; and if so what did you do to fix it?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews