1989 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1989 Ford Sierra LX 2.3 diesel from Germany

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Heavy loader

Faults:

New type silicon rocker cover gasket is bad. Old type rubber gasket is better.

Cold start accelerator defect.

Crankshaft oil seals leaking.

General Comments:

Very robust car.

Can carry a huge load.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

1989 Ford Sierra Ghia 2.0 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

A reliable, comfortable car

Faults:

Asoulutely nothing!!

General Comments:

I bought the car 2 years ago and everybody I spoke to said the DOHC engines were trouble. I can safely say I have had nothing go wrong with the car at all. The electrics have not given me any trouble either. I can get 44mpg and the car will do 130mph, not a bad combination I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

27th Feb 2004, 19:55

I had a Ghia 2.0i auto hatch which was one of the last with the "old" 2.0 single cam engine. A cracking car in every way with very few problems, it carried me as far afield as Norway in total comfort during the 3 years I had it (from 9-12 years old) ; just remember it's a Ford so you need to see proof that it's never missed an oil change before you buy one!

1989 Ford Sierra Chasseur 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Brilliant cheap family car!

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong with it, although there are a few things on the car that don't work, but it was like that when I first bought it.

General Comments:

A brilliant family car that is cheap to run and maintain, good performance and very reliable.

The only thing I don't like about it is the squeaky interior which can be very annoying on long journeys!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2000

1989 Ford Sierra Sapphire LX 2.0 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Solid cheap family workhorse

Faults:

Cam chain tensioner (rare).

4th gear (expensive!!!).

Gearbox mount (speedhumps!).

Rev-counter.

General Comments:

I am amazed how good this car is - it can do 125mph and still averages 34-38 mpg. I'm hoping something serious will go wrong with it so I can replace it.

Also, almost no rust, just a small bit coming through at the rear of the bonnet. It's black.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

1989 Ford Sierra LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Reliable and comfortable family car

Faults:

Eeplaced shocks at around 100,000.

Work to the passenger front door at 165,000.

Clutch cable twice.

Auto choke at 80,000, as well as regular servicing.

Engine has always performed marvellously. Have found it totally reliable. Shame the body work needed is uneconomical - driver's side sill needs replacing, passenger side needs welding and the windcreen surround top left hand corner - as it feels like it would go on forever.

General Comments:

Wish I'd got a 1.8 rather than 1.6 as I'm sure that bit of extra poke would have made it that much more enjoyable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

27th May 2001, 11:39

I have just bought a 1800 LX, when I pull off in 1st it judders somewhere near the back end, can you help with this?

1989 Ford Sierra GL Estate 2.0 SOHC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

A good family car in its day, reliable

Faults:

Just after purchase, a new clutch fork.

At 10,000 miles a lower RR suspension arm.

One rear wheel cylinder at 85,000.

Otherwise nothing, just routine servicing.

General Comments:

A comfortable, reasonably quick car for its type e.g. repmobile.

Now at 100,000 the door seals let in a little wind noise, otherwise just the usual Ford dash rattles.

25 MPG and lots of space being an estate, a good family car. The only problem is the tinworm is starting to make an appearance, e.g. rust on the tailgate and door skins.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

1989 Ford Sierra LS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance189500 miles

Summary:

An absolutely unbreakable car

Faults:

Engine rebuild at 187,000 miles due to a cracked piston ring which caused excessive exhaust emissions.

The original clutch was replaced at the same time due to damage caused by a loose spring.

The ring gear was replaced at the same time (it had previously been replaced at 98,000 miles).

I had a lot of trouble with damp starting in the beginning, but replacing the cap, leads and non original coil with non Ford items cured the problem.

General Comments:

Unbeatable car. Very thirsty in city traffic, but extremely reliable, cheap and easy to repair when things go wrong.

For example, the engine rebuild, clutch and ring gear cost a total of £200. Use of good quality oil (15W40) every 3000 miles left the engine in excellent overall condition. Apart from a broken ring and a slightly worn cam lobe, the engine was perfect.

This car has had a tough life, lots of rough roads and towing, but I can't seem to break it. It's also a very safe car, as the Volvo driver that hit it found out.

I plan to replace it next year, but I doubt I'll get as good a car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 37 reviews