1989 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1989 Ford Sierra GLS 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A very reliable and economical performance car

Faults:

Replaced fuel tank.

Replaced worn front discs.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car. Well laid out interior and driving position.

Very fast considering its age and corners very well for quite a heavy car. Power steering would be a GREAT asset. Brakes very good. Never failed to start in fifteen months, rain or snow, always first time. Minimal service requirements and very cheap spares. Would like another one!

Bodywork very good, no rust on mine.

Very good headlights, especially on full beam. Can be fairly economical on a good "run", 35-40mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2002

25th Sep 2005, 10:52

I own a Ford Sapphire GLSI 2.0. However I'm concerned about its steering. When speeds of 60 - 70mph the steering wheel shakes.

I have balanced and tracked the wheels and put new bushes aswell, but the problem is still there.

Can anyone give some suggestions to cure this problem as I wish to keep my car as its only done 62,000 miles.

8th Jan 2006, 12:23

I own a Ford Sierra 2.0 DOHC 2.0 GLSI. I minimised the steering wheel shaking by replacing the old shocks to new gas ones. Bushes were also changed. It works a treat. The handling now is much better than before. I'm thinking about replacing the old springs to harder ones for crisper handling, any suggestions anyone??

1989 Ford Sierra CL 1.6 from Israel

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance142000 kilometres

Summary:

Big, comfortable and cheap workhorse

Faults:

At 120000 I noticed the car runs out of coolant pretty quickly - that was because a rubber plug in some pipe that got loose. Replaced for $1 (the plug) and $4 (workmanship).

The clutch cable broke down at 130000.

3rd gear a bit clunky.

Some stuff in the interior (like the rear-view mirror was re-glued before I bought the car).

Lately eats a lot of oil (1l for 2000km). Apparently, must replace the cylinder rings.

Air-conditioner works, I mean when the electronic control box wants to cooperate. The air conditioner was assembled in Israel, so it's not the manufacturer's problem.

Engine VERY unstable while cold, need to hold the accelerator down until it heats up.

The fuel gauge lies when between 30l to 45l - tends to show 0l to 15l. Weird, not harmful.

General Comments:

Purchased for a low price (equivalent to $3000).

Very comfortable car, a lot of space, good driving position (though, clutch pedal travels a lot). Brake pedal is tough. Basically reliable, but pretty poor performance with 1.6 engine.

About 10l to 100km - not bad for an engine designed in 1981...

No rust, VERY strong (had several accidents).

Heavy duty (can handle 550kg while Renault Kangoo - only 440!!!).

Next I will try a Mondeo from 1995-1996.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

1989 Ford Sierra GLSi 4x4 2.9i V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9i V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

It's a seriously quick wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Nothing has actually broken with the car, its last owner was as fastidious as I am.

All I've done is give it a good service.

Even the bodywork is in excellent condition for the year.

General Comments:

The car will beat most things from the lights, especially in the wet. The handling is fantastic with the four wheel drive.

A performance exhaust on the V6 creates a sound which a Ferrari would be proud of.

The downside however, is the fuel consumption. On a long gentle run it'll do more than 30 miles to the gallon, but drive it hard and it'll drop into the low teens.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

18th Jan 2002, 04:03

Pipercross induction kit and black diamond exhaust now fitted. The noise at full chat is amazing! The steering rack (power) has a bit of play in it which is becoming more noticeable. New from Ford at £398.00! Ouch!

24th Jun 2003, 08:43

The Sierra has now exceeded 150,000 miles on a recent trip to the north of Scotland. Still impressed by the power and traction of the machine, especially on the steep inclines and hairpins. The suspension is probably past its best by now and could do with a bit of upgrading, but did the job OK. Amazing how much camping stuff the boot can swallow.

I'll never tire of the noise of the V6 with a good exhaust reverberating through the mountain passes.

Best £900 quid I ever spent.

25th Sep 2007, 07:05

I am looking at buying one of these, are they OK for everyday use? is parts availability OK? I read somewhere the gearbox is weak on these?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 37 reviews