1991 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1991 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100035 miles
Most recent distance114125 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

A good cheap car, but watch for the rust

Faults:

The bonnet release cable snapped.

The sills started to rust within one month of the car reaching 10 years of age.

The head gasket failed at 110000 miles.

The rear silencer box required replacement twice last year.

General Comments:

Considering the age of the car, and the mileage, the car has performed well.

I find that with the automatic choke, the cold starts put less pressure on the battery than manual choke cars.

The comfort level is fine and the interior spec for the LX model is OK. It's easy to see why the LX was popular as a fleet car. I have found however, that the boot gathers a lot of condensation during wet weather.

Parts are plentiful and cheap. It only cost me £120 sterling to put the car through the MOT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

1991 Ford Sierra Quartz 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

A large tank!

Faults:

Unknown suspension problem (bangs).

Exhaust problem (very expensive).

Steering joint split.

Electric window died.

Alarm system arms and disarms on its own accord, and locks me out!

Interior boot release mechanism gave in.

Squeaky brakes.

Clutch on its way out.

Headlight problems.

Paintwork peeling.

Steering wheel position adjuster moves when locked.

All in 1000 miles!

General Comments:

Bit shakey on the motorway.

RWD odd in the wet.

Insurance too expensive.

Dodgy layout of controls.

Lots of boot space.

Comfortable when fully laden.

Very awkward to park (no power steering).

Feels heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

1991 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

I waited to find a good one, well worth it

Faults:

Thermostat needs renewing.

One wheel bearing has started to squeak slightly.

A slight knocking noise is coming from the cam, indicating some wear to the cam.

General Comments:

Good petrol consumption on motorways.

Eats petrol round town.

Very comfortable even at 140mph with four passengers and a boot full of luggage.

The EFI cackle can sound offputting.

Standard 14 inch wheels and tires are too bouncy, would benefit with larger wheels and lower profile tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

1991 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Not bad, watch out for high mileage though

Faults:

Piston rings replaced.

New engine required at 130000.

Water matrix.

Oil sump plug.

Oil leak from engine.

General Comments:

After replacement engine was fitted not much of a problem with the car, good little worker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

1991 Ford Sierra LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired111933 miles
Most recent distance119359 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Pleased with car considering the age

Faults:

My alternator packed in and drained my battery.

You cannot enter the car on the driver's side as the lock is faulty.

The passenger side electric window is faulty.

General Comments:

The car is slow off the mark, but when in 5th gear it cruises comfortably at 70mph.

Very comfortable drive.

Power assisted steering would be handy for parking.

Passes MOT with no great expense.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

1991 Ford Sierra Sapphire LX 1.8 CVH petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 CVH petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra Sapphire 1.8

Summary:

Hate it at the moment, can't find an engine

Faults:

My first MOT on the car I had to have new front brake discs and pads, and a bit of welding on the sill, also front compliance bushes.

Nothing on my most recent MOT, but my tyres and headlight adjusted, but when I got home smoke was everywhere. On removing my head, I found a hole and crack in my number 4 piston. Still looking for a second hand engine, hard to find a good one.

General Comments:

Very nice car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

29th Jan 2001, 10:05

At this age and mileage, would it not make more sense to buy another car??

4th Aug 2001, 17:32

I've just bought a 1.8 LX estate 1991. Engine appears to be a bit smokey, but I gather this could be the valve stem seals. Engine has done 70,000 and is in good condition.

1991 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

Reliable but boring

Faults:

Brake discs warped and needed changing twice!

Gearbox has started getting a bit noisy recently.

Alternator started draining the battery when the engine was switched off. Strangely it still charged when the engine was running.

General Comments:

Quite good performance for a diesel, with impressive low down torque.

An excellent motorway car, the faster you go the quieter it gets! 40 mpg even at high speeds.

The engine will probably go on for ever. Doesn't use a drop of oil even after 120,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 29 reviews