1991 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Better than any Ford you can buy now

Faults:

New gearbox at 100k.

Front discs warp every 6 months.

Door locks stick.

Everything else fine. Servicing costs and parts relatively cheap considering the size and performance of the car.

Rust beginning to set in on the wheel arches.

General Comments:

Nice to drive.

Faster than most boy racers and not so flash.

No show, lots of go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

24th Mar 2009, 11:06

I agree. Sierra XR4x4s are cheap and quick. Best car Ford ever made.

3rd Jul 2009, 09:43

I own a 2.9 xr4x4 and it's one of the best cars I've ever owned. It's a toy mainly for weekends and shows etc, but it does get used occasionally thru the week. On long runs it does 29mpg; that's good for an old car with 140,000 on the clock, it's a lot better than all the euro boxes on the road. It's got character, its 20 years old but can still show newer cars up off the lights and round the bends.

My last Sierra was written off by a 7.5 tonne lorry hitting me at 50mph. I got out without a scratch. I wouldn't like to bet on what would have happened in a newer car; back then cars were built properly to last.

20th Nov 2009, 20:16

I have to take issue with the last comment - Built to last? Sierras? You are having a laugh, right? Don't get me wrong, I love them and still own one - but the Sierra was the very personification of the throw-away reps car. Built with an estimated design life of 8 years or so, it's fair to say that virtually all of the Dagenham built cars had been cubed by age 10 due to advanced underbody rust. It was also one of the first cars to feature huge plastic wrap around bumpers - a cost and weight saving exercise, there is just empty space behind the plastic.

Have look at the sierra crash test video on youtube to see how substantial Sierras aren't.

1991 Ford Sierra GLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A comfortable ride for a family

Faults:

As it is a twin overhead cam, the previous owner hadn't had it serviced before I bought it so within a week of buying it the cam chain smashed and caused a lot of damage to the engine.

Other than that, since then just a starter motor gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2000

5th Sep 2001, 11:11

The cam chain also broke on my twin cam Sierra at 47000 miles, causing damage to the head and block, resulting in replacing the engine at a cost of £1600 in 1997.Other than this disaster the car has been faultless in the 5 years I have owned it.

9th Sep 2002, 11:53

The Double-OverHead Cam (DOHC) engine used in the later Sierra's suffers from this complaint something chronic. The chain is generally thought to last about 100k miles, after which you are in "god's good hands".

Keeping the oil changed frequently with the CORRECT grade (about 10w-40) will lengthen its life, but make sure the chain is changed every 100k at the very least.

They also suffer from cracked cylinder heads, and are prone to overheating and blowing head gaskets - often this is all linked!

Other than the minor niggles, they will return up to 40 MPG if driven carefully, yet are satisfyingly responsive. Mine is a '91 Ghia with a 2.0 EFi in it, and it's done 150k on the original engine. I'm replacing the head gasket at the moment, but this is by choice rather than anything else.

Jim Christie, Secretary, Ford Sierra Owners Club.

http://www.crustworld.co.uk/

18th Sep 2003, 16:09

Purchased 2.0i (dohc) from sister inlaw at 104000 miles as cam chain had gone, causing the usual top end damage.

Now runs very well, but not happy with rear end wander on wet or uneven road surface conditions.

K reg march 93.now showing 115000 miles.

13th Aug 2007, 12:04

I have had my 2.0GLX for about 9 years. The comments about head gasket and cam chains are true. Appears to be a design weakness here. My 'fors' are: good fuel consumption, excellent low end torque and drivability. 'Againsts' are: poor steering geometry (leading to regular replacement of rubber bushes and poor front tyre wear. Poor handling. Engine life short compared to rivals, including the Cortina which it replaced! Hydraulic tappets become noisy. Overall: reliable until the explosion. It has been a good car despite the various weaknesses!