1991 Ford Taurus L Sdn. 3.0V6 from North America


Simple family sedan


Only a handful of problems from the time I bought it new in 1991 until last year. At 140,000 miles, I replaced the tires, brakes, all of the belts, the exhaust system, the battery, and had it repainted.

General Comments:

I still love the car since I've owned it since day 1. At 140,000 miles, I replaced all of the necessary things that needed to be replaced on it. It's an ice blue colored car, so I also had it repainted the original color, too. Now at 148,000 miles, the car runs and looks like the day I got it brand new. Yes, I keep up on the maintenance on the car, so it's very well taken care of. However, my mechanic did warn me that the transmissions on these cars are expensive, and so are the motors. But until then, I'll enjoy my Taurus. If push comes to shove, I'll put a rebuilt motor and transmission in it.

If you're a Taurus fan like I am, buy one. My father owns a 1991 Taurus L Sedan like mine (see review on the other 1991 Taurus L sedan).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2006

1991 Ford Taurus L Sedan 3.0 V6 from North America


Basic low budget family transportation


The battery cables were rotted and replaced right after we got the car at 87,000 miles. At 87,500 miles, the check engine sensor was replaced.

General Comments:

The car rides pretty good. An elderly lady had owned the car before us, but all in all, the 1991 Taurus L sedan is very roomy, comfortable, safe, and pretty economical. I would definitely get another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2006

1991 Ford Taurus LX station wagon 3.8 liter from North America


Tauruses are good cars new, but just don't hold up


The transmission went out at 91,000 miles, but was covered by a recall. It blew the head gasket at about 125,000 miles.

General Comments:

Tauruses are disposable cars. They are great up to about 100,000 to 150,000 cars. After that, the repairs never stop and the repair bills will make you think you were driving a Mercedes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

4th Jun 2005, 18:53

"Previous car

Oldsmobile Cutlass"


5th Mar 2007, 10:01

I had a 1986 ford taurus wagon that had 300,000 on before the timing chain broke. I paid $75 for the car and drove it for three years. I put in a PCV valve and cut the muffler off. Then I proceded to beat the living crap out of it. I think it held up very well.

1991 Ford Taurus L 3.0L V6 from North America


The Mighty Taurus!


I have owned this car for almost a year now, and I can safely say that nothing has gone wrong.

Which I am not used to, because of the constant repairs we have done on my mom's 3.8L 1996 Ford Windstar.

General Comments:

I purchased this car from an elderly woman who babied this car since new. Her son was an auto mechanic, so he made sure the car was always clean and in perfect running order. He got every service bulletin from Ford, and updated parts as they wore.

In 1993 he even received a bulletin from Ford about a possible faulty transmissions in all 1991 Taurus. So he replaced the transmission with a better designed one. Yes, that's right, since that transmission was installed from 1993-2005, there have been no problems with it.

I really love this car. It is the most comfortable car I have ever sat in (unlike my mom's 1990 Pontiac Sunbird, which we had since new) and the 3.0L V6 engine has a lot of pep. The 3.0L is also the best engine Ford ever made. With regular maintenance, it will last a lifetime.

I also love the look of the car. It is in my opinion the most influential post-war automotive design. If you can find one without rust, please keep it nice and don't treat it like a beater.

You can view my Taurus at: http://www.cardomain.com/id/jj_john_johnny

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

20th Feb 2010, 14:19

My dad's best friend worked at a ford dealer in Oakland California. He said the main problem with them is the transmission overheats. To correct this, just put a medium sized transmission cooler with a fan in it and it should not have any problems.

19th May 2012, 04:39

Great review! Glad to hear that you are happy with your car. However, I beg to differ on a minor point: I consider the best engine that Ford ever made was the 300 CID I6 used in their trucks from the sixties to the nineties.