1992 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 from North America


I adore it


Power Antenna motor went out and stop working.

General Comments:

Since I have add more features it is a lot faster and I can keep up with 5.0 mustangs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

1992 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 from North America


Cheap Wheels - Not too reliable



Planetary gears wore out, paid $1300 dollars

Coolant Hose to the tranmission broke.


Older A/C so it was really expensive to repair.

Could use more power.

General Comments:

I would not buy another Taurus again. If you go for this car, you will realize really soon that when they made this car, they never took into account that you might have to repair them later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

1992 Ford Taurus L 3.0 from North America


This car is dangerous to drive due to an inexplicable stalling problem


This car has had a mysterious, ongoing, undiagnosable problem with stalling. It happens frequently (and dangerously) at lights and while turning.

The right rear power window and power lock does not work properly.

The air conditioning was replaced once.

The windshield wipers work only when it fancies them. When they do work, it is at a completely unrhythmic and random pace.

The front seats seem to sink down until you are unable to see over the dash.

General Comments:

It has never completely broken down.

It is cheap and affordable.

It is not a safe car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

1992 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 V6 from North America


A headache in disguise


Both sets of struts needed to be replaced at 122,000 miles.

Starter needed to be replaced at 140,000 miles.

Water pump needed to be replaced.

Moderate oil leak.

Braking hard causes "clunking" noise.

Sun roof leaks and wind noise from sun roof is extreme.

Door ajar light never turns off, causing automatic door lock feature, once the car is put into gear, not to work.

Back windows squeal when going down and up.

When cold out, steering causes "creaking" noise.

General Comments:

Overall comfortable car, without all the problems the car would be a dream.

Exceptional premium audio system and full load of options make the car feel like a luxury model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

6th Sep 2004, 21:34

This is a 12 year old low price car, with 140k on it. What do you expect? I think your doing fine with this car.

Steve Lucas.

1992 Ford Taurus LX luxury loaded 3.8 V6 from North America


Lots of pickup power - I love this!


Nothing so far.

The temperature gauge is acting funny. I have never seen something like that before. It picks up when the engine is warm and then it drops, picks up again, and so on... I never know how hot is the engine!

General Comments:

I bought the car on an auction, really cheaply after I had promised myself I will never buy an American car! (I read a LOT of bad things about them on this site). Well, I gave it a shot, after I saw the car had leather seats, CD player, both power seats, power sunroof, just EVERYTHING you can imagine. I have never seen a Taurus like this!

It drives great, the engine is very quiet! The premium sound system is great, especially with the CD player.

V6 3.8 engine gives a LOT OF PICKUP from the stop and I love that. I can squill my tires even though it is an automatic. Racing from stop lights is fun now, I can beat almost anything until 40 mph.

So far, always started fine on me. I am grateful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

13th Jan 2003, 20:40

The temperature gauge problem is really just the cooling fan cycling on and off, my '92 LX does the same thing and it is no problem.

7th Sep 2006, 15:55

You only read a lot of negative things about American vehicles because most people are more likely to complain than to praise about things. Its just the fact this is a website known very well in America. I myself think American vehicles are the most stylish and reliable cars there are. People who say nothing beats my Toyota,.. they should only take a close look at it.

1992 Ford Taurus SHO 3.0 V6 from North America


This is the greatest sleeper out there, and also comfortable and able to carry 5 adults. So buy it


So far I have had to replace the right rear sway bar link and that was it.

The driver's seat is torn.

Above 70mph there is a vibration in the front end.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It is very fast once over 3500rpm and sounds great with removal of the air silencer cone, resonator and dual turbo mufflers.

I can't wait to modify this thing even more.

The interior is extremely comfortable and the stock CD player with the sub sounds fairly good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

15th Nov 2006, 16:39

I will agree with you on all your points except for one. It is 2006 and a great time to get rid of the factory sound system. Speaker technology has moved on. Head unit technology has moved on. I replaced my AM/FM/Cassette/CD with a new Panasonic AM/FM/CD/.mp3 in dash unit for $80.00 plus what I paid for hardware. The factory system struggles to rise above freeway noise at moderate speeds. In fact, a "sweet spot" must now be adjusted in using the old deck/drivers. At least that was the situation in my car. We won't even discuss subwoofers. Enjoy your SHO.