1992 Ford Taurus SHO 3.0 from North America


Great car, very dependable


Not a whole lot, rear control arm tie rod had rusted out. Replaced.

Brakes went out, replaced all rotors, pads.

Transmission had a small hairline crack in it that was not noticed until it was too late. Never leaked enough fluid to notice in the driveway.

Rear tires wore prematurely because of the tie rod problem, apparently a recall was on this car.

General Comments:

Great car until tranny went out, kinda my fault.

It had all power options except for CD player. Red exterior and grey cloth/leather interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2004

1992 Ford Taurus 3.8 V6 from North America


A fairly economical yet quite powerful car


Oil pan had to be replaced the first week we owned it.

Had to replace starter about two years ago.

Head gasket started to leak at about 360000 km.

Had to replace both front struts. (Not the car's fault)

The rear driver's side power window never worked.

The rear passenger side door stopped opening about 2 years ago.

The heater core had to be replaced two years ago.

General Comments:

The car is off the road now because maintenance costs were getting too high.

Despite its problems, the car was very reliable and has never left me stranded.

I loved the car so much, I just bought a car that is almost exactly the same. So far I'm loving it just as much as the last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

1992 Ford Taurus L from North America


The sourest of all lemons


The side window frame's started peeling paint. Transmission had to be replaced three times. Brakes had to be replaced about every year. Car had problems with stalling in intersections, which could have resulted in a serious accident. Had a professional do a total brake overhaul and it lasted about one year. Windshield wiper motor went out and was expensive to replace. Rotor button went out and the car died on a busy highway and almost caused an accident. Air conditioning had to be charged every year due to a leak. Tape cassette broke the first year I had the car. Tie rods had to be replaced about every two years. Had a professional replace the Power steering components three times, they said it was the manufacturer who made the replacement parts. There was many more problems with this car.

General Comments:

Please don't waste your money buying a car like this. I spent close to $1500.00 a year on repairs. The good thing about this car was the pick-up and speed that it had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

10th Dec 2003, 22:46

You just got a lemon, that's all. My '92 Taurus L was the most reliable car I ever had.

7th Apr 2004, 09:45

Taurus' are generally hit or miss. I drive a 92 L wagon that has 173,000 miles on it and it generally works fine (very low maintenance), but my 93 GL Taurus had very little on it that worked.

13th Feb 2006, 10:23

It's true that it is hit or miss with Ford, and this is the problem! There is no consistency to their products and the Taurus is a prime example. Quality is NOT job 1, unfortunately! I think Ford makes some of the best-looking cars, but the dedication to craftsmanship is just not there with Ford.

13th Feb 2006, 14:58

I agree Ford has some quality control problems. The part that is annoying is that when you go to service your vehicles the Ford dealers and Ford themselves are the the rudest and worst people to deal with.

1992 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America


One of the great lemons of our time..


Vibration from the front end.

Lug nuts snap off and the wheel loosens in its own.

Rear lower flaring on both sides blew off with each rear flat tire.

Rear windows do not work.

Radio is broken.

Brake lights blow fuses ('fixed' 6 times).

General Comments:

Dangerous front end vibration for the last 70k miles. Dealer ignores the problem and keeps saying rotors, even though they have been replaced 3 times. The history of problems is well known with this car, yet dealers pretend they are surprised! VERY noisy car on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

19th Nov 2003, 09:20

You just purchased a piece of junk. I race my 92 taurus and it never screws up. They are very well built cars.