1992 Ford Taurus L V6 3.8 Liter from North America


An aesthetic and mechanical winner!

General Comments:

My Ford Taurus station wagon is such a pleasant car that I intended to drive it until it quit. Unfortunately, while it was parked, someone performed a hit-and-run on it that left it totaled.

I purchased this vehicle used because it seemed to have more power than newer models and that never diminished.

My no negative and many very positive experience with this vehicle will be a major factor in my next purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

1992 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 V6 from North America


The best car I have ever bought


Nothing on the car has gone wrong, besides needing a new battery.

Seats just recently started to wear after all the time I've owned it.

General Comments:

This car can get up and go with the best.

However if the rear tires go bald the rear end will slide around, because the rear end is too light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

1992 Ford Taurus SHO 3.0 from North America


Great car, very dependable


Not a whole lot, rear control arm tie rod had rusted out. Replaced.

Brakes went out, replaced all rotors, pads.

Transmission had a small hairline crack in it that was not noticed until it was too late. Never leaked enough fluid to notice in the driveway.

Rear tires wore prematurely because of the tie rod problem, apparently a recall was on this car.

General Comments:

Great car until tranny went out, kinda my fault.

It had all power options except for CD player. Red exterior and grey cloth/leather interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2004

1992 Ford Taurus 3.8 V6 from North America


A fairly economical yet quite powerful car


Oil pan had to be replaced the first week we owned it.

Had to replace starter about two years ago.

Head gasket started to leak at about 360000 km.

Had to replace both front struts. (Not the car's fault)

The rear driver's side power window never worked.

The rear passenger side door stopped opening about 2 years ago.

The heater core had to be replaced two years ago.

General Comments:

The car is off the road now because maintenance costs were getting too high.

Despite its problems, the car was very reliable and has never left me stranded.

I loved the car so much, I just bought a car that is almost exactly the same. So far I'm loving it just as much as the last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

1992 Ford Taurus L from North America


The sourest of all lemons


The side window frame's started peeling paint. Transmission had to be replaced three times. Brakes had to be replaced about every year. Car had problems with stalling in intersections, which could have resulted in a serious accident. Had a professional do a total brake overhaul and it lasted about one year. Windshield wiper motor went out and was expensive to replace. Rotor button went out and the car died on a busy highway and almost caused an accident. Air conditioning had to be charged every year due to a leak. Tape cassette broke the first year I had the car. Tie rods had to be replaced about every two years. Had a professional replace the Power steering components three times, they said it was the manufacturer who made the replacement parts. There was many more problems with this car.

General Comments:

Please don't waste your money buying a car like this. I spent close to $1500.00 a year on repairs. The good thing about this car was the pick-up and speed that it had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

10th Dec 2003, 22:46

You just got a lemon, that's all. My '92 Taurus L was the most reliable car I ever had.

7th Apr 2004, 09:45

Taurus' are generally hit or miss. I drive a 92 L wagon that has 173,000 miles on it and it generally works fine (very low maintenance), but my 93 GL Taurus had very little on it that worked.

13th Feb 2006, 10:23

It's true that it is hit or miss with Ford, and this is the problem! There is no consistency to their products and the Taurus is a prime example. Quality is NOT job 1, unfortunately! I think Ford makes some of the best-looking cars, but the dedication to craftsmanship is just not there with Ford.

13th Feb 2006, 14:58

I agree Ford has some quality control problems. The part that is annoying is that when you go to service your vehicles the Ford dealers and Ford themselves are the the rudest and worst people to deal with.