1997 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 12 of 24

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

There are no lemons only unaware buyers!

Faults:

DTR module went in car before bringing it home, replaced as car was to be safetied.

Water pump went at approximatley 115,000 kilometers.

Wheel bearing at approximately 140,000, dealer being pro-active in maintenance replaced major steering components under warranty IE other wheel bearing, ball joints linkages etc at same time.

The valve body controlling the overdrive went at about 143,000, replaced under warranty at same time transmission drained new gaskets and filter were installed.

General Comments:

DTR Module can go at any time on any model of car, replaced Item myself.

Water pump again can go at anytime I am just glad it happened half a block away from my mechanics home.

Wheel bearing going could happen at any time as well.

The only Item that really concerned me was the Overdrive in the transmission. but I was pleased that it was fixed quickly by my Ford Dealer.

At first I thought it would be better to replace the whole transmission with a rebuilt. My mechanic soon pointed out to me rebuilts are not always the best option as you can never be guaranteed a good rebuilt transmission.

Over all I am pleased with the car it gets excellent mileage and can carry as much as an Aerostar.

Visibility in the car is excellent.

I just wish it had seating for two more people (can we say stretch wagon please Ford)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

12th Mar 2004, 15:30

Your statement is not logical. Whether a buyer is "unaware" or not does not change the fact that a lot of cars develop mechanical problems, unfortunately sometimes repeatedly.

It would make more sense to say, "There are no lemons, only inept mechanics" (who are incapable of diagnosing the problem and/or fixing it right)

28th Sep 2005, 10:34

How expensive will it be for me to replace the wheel bearings on my 1997 ford taurus.

5th May 2007, 00:19

I would say 30$ for labor and 25 for parts! if it is rear. if more... they are greedy m..f..ers!

5th May 2007, 00:26

Not does not???that makes things clear!

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

Nothing but good out of this Taurus!

Faults:

Hi, I'm Andrew, and my 97' Taurus is my first car. This is a really good, solid car. It handles just as good as my mom's 2002 Sable (same thing).

An older couple had it, and they never reported any major trouble with it either. I plan on driving this Taurus until it falls apart, so I will keep you informed as anything goes wrong with it (let's just hope it won't) ;)

Nothing is wrong with this Taurus! Tip-Top shape! I would gladly get another one!!

General Comments:

Classic V6 power.

Looks good.

Comfortable.

AFFORDABLE!!

Great, solid, reliable car.

I have heard that the Ford dealers are notorious for being lazy, and not fixing your car though...eeek.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

27th Mar 2007, 13:08

I had a 97 Taurus Wagon, I bought it with 99300 on the odometer. It required no repairs other than a brake line and battery and it just died at 150000. The timing belt broke and it threw a rod, but as far as reliability--with regular oil changes it ran and drove nicely.

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

One of the best cars I have owned

Faults:

At 105,000 miles replaced original battery.

At 130,000 miles Idler pulley bearing went bad 35.00 to repair.

At 145,000 put a door switch in it to repair dome lites.

At 150,000 miles Major tune up plugs and wires and fuel filter.

At 160,000 replaced brakes and rotors, wheels must be torqued down or rotors will warp.

The only problems are the dash separating by the speedometer.

On a hot soak start after sitting 10 to 20 minutes runs rough for a few seconds when started.

General Comments:

Always runs Extremely dependable.

Drives smooth and straight.

Looks great after 170,000 miles.

Very smooth ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2004

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance59159 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Low

Faults:

I have had two bad experiences with my Fords that I have owned. My first Ford that I owned (1994 Ford Taurus) gave me lots of trouble including replacing a transmission twice, but I brushed it off because it was an old police cruiser so I just figured it had run its course. Whenever I purchased my '97 Ford I would have never thought that at 55000 miles I would have to replace my radiator twice and my air conditioner compressor. Not to mention having to change all 4 rotors 3 times each. About every 10,000 miles every time we put on the brakes the steering wheel shakes extremely bad causing me to hold on to the steering wheel for dear life whenever I stop. These are the following problems we have had or are having:

Air Conditioner Compressor Leaks --Replaced 55000--$1100.

Continuous Replacing Rotors.

Windshield Washer Fluid Button doesn't always work.

Windshield Wiper speed varies no matter what setting it is on.

Door Ajar lights sometimes stays on even whenever all doors are closed.

The seal on the back door is coming off.

Paint is chipping off the trunk, hood, and front and back bumpers.

Replaced radiator twice; once at 45000 miles and then again at 50000.

My gas mileage has gone downhill since first buying the car.

I am extremely lucky that my husband and my dad work on cars it had spared me a huge mechanic bill. I cannot wait until this car is paid off and I can go and buy a new and better car.

General Comments:

I will never again own a Ford partially because my husband won't allow it after working on this one and the previous one. I do enjoy all of the space in the trunk and the back seat. I also enjoy the pickup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 87 reviews