1998 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 12 of 22

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 liter, 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter, 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98674 miles
Most recent distance135372 miles

Summary:

One of a kind. I love it!

Faults:

Transmission seized at 125,000 miles.

High beam indicator light burned out.

Door ajar light always on, so interior lights burned out.

General Comments:

Despite the problems, this is a very enjoyable car. It is very comfortable, handles well, and rides like it's floating on air.

The transmission seized because of faulty repair work. I don't know why so many people complain about having to repair these cars when they have over 100,000 miles on them-I mean, what do you expect?

As for the interior lights, again, this is just a indicator of the age of the car, and is nothing that cannot be lived with.

I fell in love with the unique styling of the Taurus, and would recommend this car to anyone for its reliability, comfort, and ease of handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2005

21st Jan 2007, 17:24

Interior lights stay on because of a switch sticking in the latch, spray a little WD-40 in the door latches... should take care of the problem. good luck!!

1998 Ford Taurus SE omfort 3.0 DOHC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love it and would buy another one

Faults:

Had the automatic transmission rebuilt at 150000, and then at 189000.

I also had the problem with the dome light not going out because the door ajar light was lit. I sprayed the latch and it went away.

Recently the high beam indicator light let go.

The head lights glazed over, this is a problem with Fords from this time.

My drivers side seatbelt does not always retract automatically, but I can live with this.

General Comments:

I like my Taurus, and would buy another one, I find it very comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

17th Mar 2005, 21:40

Your car has the exact problems as mine! I have a 1998 Ford Taurus SE, and still love it! It rides smooth, handles well, and is a terrific all-around vehicle. The only additional problem is my cruise control-it will reset itself at a higher speed when I do freeway driving. I hope to still be driving this car at over 350,000 miles. These cars do not get the resale price and the praise that they deserve.

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Duratec from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

A decent car; just don't expect a BMW for the little money you spent on a Taurus

Faults:

Right front wheel bearing went.

Interior lights don't go on when the door opens (usually).

Rear hatch leaks a bit.

Nothing too major besides maintenance items.

General Comments:

I like the car, and it's nice to have the extra power and decent handling. But it gets about the same mileage as my Astro (16-20 MPG), and I sold the Astro because it was so dang expensive to run.

But my wife loves it; she like the looks and comfort, and doesn't feel the "minivan stigma".

The only things I don't like about it are the noisy tires (I know it's not Ford's fault, but I know why Michelin names the tires "Harmony" - they really SING!) ; the cheapo pleather seats, the bumpy ride, and the steering wheel position (it seems positioned too far back and awkward).

It doesn't feel like a 200 horsepower machine; in fact, my 140 horsepower Pontiac Tempest feels like it has better pickup. Of course, the highway is where the Taurus's engine shines.

And this transmission, the AX4N, feels FAR superior to the other Taurus tranny. And from what I understand, it's far more reliable.

But it's a good car for what I paid; that's for sure. But it's nothing to write home about. Maybe no car really is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2005

1998 Ford Taurus SES from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

So far so good

Faults:

We just bought the car and noticed when we put the car in reverse the radio goes out. This is the only time it does it. Does anyone know why and what we can do about it?

General Comments:

Very comfortable car and roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2005

11th Feb 2005, 13:40

If it ain't broke don't fix it.

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A piece of junk that belongs in the junk yard

Faults:

Everything!!

Had to replace the Power steering rack about 4 months ago.

Have replaced the Power Steering pump 3 Times.

Have had a problem with the Anti-lock Braking system since day 1.

Car refuse's to start when it gets cold outside.

The Transmission tends to "Slip" every once in a while.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable to ride in.

That the only good thing I can say.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

8th Feb 2005, 11:38

I owned a 1997 Taurus GL for six months and it was a pure nightmare!! Where do I begin? First, gas mileage was horrible in this stop and go traffic in ATL. Continuous problems with ABS, brake shoes, and leaking calipers. Head gasket blew within first two months and continued to have intermittent overheating problems until I junked it. Car would shut off with no warning or signs of overheating. Also had problems with automatic door locks. The radiator had a very major leak prior to my discarding it. Never will we own another Ford Taurus!

15th Dec 2005, 17:12

Just to let you know there is NO such thing as a 1997 Taurus SE, the SE didn't come out until 1998. I had a 1998 Taurus and it was a very reliable car, never any problems. Good gas mileage for the Duratech Engine and nice pickup. I am looking at a 1997 Taurus GL.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 85 reviews