1998 Ford Taurus Reviews

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance229000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

It's amazing and lasts

Faults:

Had to have the transmission rebuilt at 222500 miles.

General Comments:

It's still running great with 229000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2012

1998 Ford Taurus LX Wagon 3.0L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Great value!

Faults:

I have not had any problems with the car.

When I bought the car, the tail light panel was broken. I went to a salvage yard and got one for $75.00 dollars. Parts can be found at almost any salvage yard.

General Comments:

I have found the car to be very comfortable. I like the feel of the seats and the size of the car.

The ride is very nice with few rattles for the miles.

I have the 4 door wagon, and I like all the room for my golf clubs or camping equipment. I have had a mini van, and I find this car to carry nearly as much, and give a better ride and fuel mileage.

I bought this car after driving my wife's 1999, Ford Taurus LX sedan, We are very happy with both Fords. We also like the looks of this model Taurus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2010

1998 Ford Taurus SE V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21442 miles
Most recent distance210224 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

210, 000 miles and still going strong!

Faults:

I have had to get two new power steering pumps - one in 2007 and a replacement in 2008.

I have had to get two new alternators - one in 2008 and one in 2009. It seems the cause is an "automatic starter" that I had installed at Best Buy in 2000; the repair shop believes it is shorting and causing stress on the alternator.

I have had several brake "jobs". Brakes seem to wear very fast.

General Comments:

This car has proven to be very dependable. I drive over 60 miles a day; often in snow, wind and icy conditions, and have always made it to my destination safely.

It is roomy and comfortable, and has a HUGE trunk!

I keep saying I will get a new car when this one dies, but it's still going strong at over 210,000 miles - although the ride does not feel as smooth anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2010

1998 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 single overhead cam from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 single overhead cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Great student car or first vehicle!!!

Faults:

For the most part my 98' Ford Taurus has been reliable. Don't get me wrong, I have had to put a new fuel pump in at 120,000, brake pads, and a heater core at 132,000 miles, and a new multifunction switch as soon as I bought the car, but for the 1k I paid for it. It has been the perfect college car.

General Comments:

I enjoy this car. It is no show queen, but it does always get me from point A to point B with little or no trouble.

Like I said, it is the perfect college car, and I have put almost 40,000 miles on it in 2 years with no difficulty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2010

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired229730 kilometres
Most recent distance258642 kilometres

Summary:

I am a Ford, hear me ROOOOOAAAAAR!!

Faults:

After sitting for two years in dirt and mud, the rocker panels were rusted out.

The rims had warped from having sat for so long.

Brakes, pads, rotors and lines were rusted out.

Battery had died.

And the car was filthy.

General Comments:

Well this car was given to my girlfriend from her aunt as a graduation present, so she could have a vehicle for us when we moved in together. When I saw the car for the first time, I was disappointed at its condition and the poor maintenance done on it, but was excited for the project.

I hauled over a battery, started the car to check for anything seized or broken, but to my surprise, it fired right up withing two seconds like it just ran a day ago, and on two year old stale gas?? I filled up the tires, and surprising again I was able to shift it in gear and drove it around the property with no problems other than the brakes.

We had the car towed over to a friend of my girfriend's family who owned a shop to take care of the work it needed. It only took about $800 of body work and brakes, and 6 months of patience (well I didn't have $800 at the time). But for a free car, I wasn't complaining.

Since then the car has ran like a top and still does today, even before the mods, just general maintenance is required. Now as of a month ago, it's equipped with a new performance exhaust, Pioneer stereo, new tires and a rebuilt top end I did for more performance and an extra 30hp, and it's still getting 35 miles to the gallon, including a bunch more modifications.

Thanks Ford, for this once in a lifetime success with one of your older cars :D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2010

12th Feb 2010, 17:56

A V6 that gets 35mpg? It must run on magic!

16th Feb 2010, 17:57

Well if you consider 91 octane fuel magic, then I suppose so, but I based the mileage on a neighbor's 2009 Pontiac G3, which gets about 30mpg, and my friend's dad's 2009 Chev Cobalt, which gets 37mpg.

We three built the new topend for the car, and decided to test its fuel efficiency by also reducing some frame weight and rear axle, which cut down about 110lbs, added a turbo cold air intake kit I got off a write-off 83 Toyota Levin (you might be thinking, WTF all these modifications on such an inefficient car? Well why not?) new ignition box, Ford performance chip (not easy to find), and a Flowmaster exhaust with a switch that makes this Taurus heard from quite a ways away.

So after running each vehicle on a full tank of gas for an entire weekend, the car lasted longer than the G3, and dried out of fuel a couple hours before the Cobalt. So with that I'm estimating I can get between 29-34 mpg depending on my drive (21-23 commuting) So if my math or methods seem wrong, let me know. All I care is that I'm going from $40 a week to almost 25-30 :D Boooyaaa!

15th Aug 2012, 23:56

I have a 1998 Taurus 24v DOHC SE. It runs great and I get 40 MPG.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 85 reviews