1998 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 5 of 22

1998 Ford Taurus SE V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

I'm gonna go buy a Honda

Faults:

Loved it until we noticed a squeak when you turn left or right. After about a month we got it checked, we were told we need two new tire-rods in the front. Three hundred dollars and two months later the heat shield underneath is rattling, both ball joints in the front need replacing, and oh yeah. A brand new muffler and pipe, not to mention the gas tank is leaking now.

I shouldn't blame anyone, but myself for buying the car. Everyone I know warned me. I've only had it three months, but I've already put so much money into the car I'm starting to think about just trading in. Soon.

General Comments:

The car was wonderful. It's large on the inside & comfortable, the speakers sounded great, and I loved how it looked.

After a while the left front speaker started cutting out when hitting bumps.

Overall, the car is running down, fast. I thought I could at least get another 10 thousand on it.

Probably not so good of a chance now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2008

10th Jan 2008, 13:55

When you buy a car, go foreign. Ford makes a good truck though.

10th Jan 2008, 14:51

The car is ten years old. You cannot hold it to the same standard as a new car. Next time, look the car over before you buy one. If you don't know about cars, bring someone who does. If you are upset about the cost to repair a Taurus, wait until you see how much it costs to repair a Honda!

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L 12V Vulcan from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0L 12V Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78500 miles
Most recent distance117256 miles
Previous carPontiac Alero

Summary:

Good, reliable, higher maintenance than some models, but will pay off

Faults:

Blower Motor replaced at 115,000 miles.

Door Ajar Light stuck on - fixed with silicone spray in door contacts.

Heater stopped working - flushed heater core.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable. I was nervous since I have seen others have serious issues, but:

The Vulcan 3.0L V6 is not the peppiest on the road, but it is a very reliable powerplant and with 116K miles it still purrs.

The AX4S transmission is a bit jerkier than I'm used to, especially between gears 1 and 2, but it does not slip and frequent checks reveal pristine pink fluid.

The car rides really well and I find it comfortable, especially after moving up from compact models. It has a nice long wheelbase with room for all the passengers, and you could probably fit a refrigerator in the trunk.

The car has never been garaged until recently, but just a $1 wash with the generic wax made it shine and bead water.

Also, I regularly get close to 30 miles/gallon with this car. Besides highway driving around 75 mph, this also includes some city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2007

1998 Ford Taurus from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Dependable go getter

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car. It idles good and has a lot of power. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

The engine light stays on, but my father is a very good mechanic and says "No Problem."

I replaced the struts for about $39.

General Comments:

I love my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired162979 miles
Most recent distance164507 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

This car rocks my socks

Faults:

So far nothing; minor dings, but nothing too critical.

General Comments:

I love this car; it may look weird, but it is very reliable and it is very good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2007

1998 Ford Taurus SHO 4.3 V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Like most people--great on the whole, but with issues

Faults:

2004 Door sensors are touchy--if damp, will not register the door being closed with the brainbox.

2005 CD changer doesn't register CDs

2005 Air conditioner went out.

2005 Transmission began to slip--would go out completely when car got hot or ran a long time.

2006 Headlight covers stink-- all scratched and foggy.

2006 Driver side power lock will not unlock

2006 Radiator hose popped, and is no longer available

2007 Radiator reservoir tank cracked

2007 Power steering leak

Car does not use "just" spark plugs. It utilizes coil packs, which eliminate the need for spark plug wires, distributor cap, etc.. which is all well and good until you figure that they are over $85 each!! I have one pack that keeps going out, the same place every time. They just get to freaking hot and crack, then the Service Engine light starts blinking. Whenever that happens, I know I need a new coil pack, and it's ALWAYS that particular one.

General Comments:

I bought this car in 2003.

I loved it, the motor is strong and has run like a top.

But the gas mileage stinks-of course, the fact that the car has a supercharger AND my lead foot probably do NOT help that any.

I knew that Taurus' transmissions were not the greatest, and was not surprised when mine started acting up in 2005.

However, it runs fine in cold weather, and two years later, I've yet to fix it.

I probably will have to, though, since the "Service Engine Soon" light stays on all the time now, and it's hard to pass State Inspection with your engine light on.

The CD changer went out, but I use a cassette adapter to play my iPod anyway, so it's a moot point.

The a/c went out, luckily I'm married to a car guy and he and his buds were able to replace it for under $500 dollars.

The ignition coil packs have been fine, there's just one spot on the engine that gets too hot and fries them.

When the engine starts missing and my engine light starts blinking, I know exactly what the problem is and which one is messed up.

The door sensors get touchy when its raining or damp, and won't register that the doors are closed, so the interior lights stay on, and on until the senor dries out.

We use a lithium moisture remover spray when this happens, works every time, and I haven't had this issue in a long time--and I live in a very humid area.

I absolutely HATE the headlights-the covers get all dull dims the lights.

My husband says we can remove the covers and try to buff them out--we just have to find those specific clips that hold the cover on.

A small radiator hose popped last year.

Called the dealer, they stopped making that one in 2002; had to jerry-rig another hose-why on earth make a car with special hoses and then STOP making the hoses?

We have a power steering leak that we can't find.

You'll hear the steering moan and know you need more fluid.

Overall, the car has been very reliable, and really has never left us stranded, except for the time a moron ran a red light and slammed into us.

The dealer only repaired the body, not the mechanicals.

Note to all: if you're in a wreck, have the tow truck take it to the SERVICE department, not the BODY SHOP!!

I doubt, however, I will buy another Taurus.

I like the car and all, but I don't see the need for a front wheel drive vehicle in my climate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2007

18th Jun 2008, 15:26

This car is not supercharged unless this person added an aftermarket unit on it.

4th Jul 2008, 10:14

Having some of the same problems with mine... Transmission is beginning to slip (what was the fix?). I have the door sensor problem as well, along with the light covers.

2nd Nov 2009, 04:15

Supercharger... Hmm, a few people have pulled it off. Maybe this is one of them. The "fix" for the transmission is to call Certified Transmissions in Nebraska and buy a 'Road Ripper 1000' from your local dealer. Why Ford even bothered putting this corny transmission in this car is beyond me. If it were made for the European market, there would have been no problem getting a 5 speed gearbox with a limited slip differential. The bottom line is that Americans generally can't drive manual transmissions and are too lazy to do it even if they know how. A manual transmission would have been the 'saving grace' for this car since they are more reliable and less expensive to maintain. There's a guy in the Midwest that has converted his 3rd Generation SHO to a 5 speed using a Mazda transmission. Smart man.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 85 reviews