1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L V6 from North America


I love my Taurus and someday I hope to get a SHO!


New rotors and brakes were needed.

Replaced the windshield.

Nothing else has gone wrong yet.

General Comments:

We needed to get it a new windshield because it was bought from a former auction & there were numbers on it, & we tried everything to get it off.

I have had no serious problems with it yet.

My friends' cars always have problems & they are always asking me if they can borrow my Taurus.

My first car was a tan '98 Taurus, but it was totaled in a car accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

1998 Ford Taurus GL 2.5 V6 from North America


Piece of junk


Everything. So many recalls, all sorts of stuff is going wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This car is horrible for anyone that bought it brand new and even worse as a used car buy. I have never seen a car have so many recalls. Mechanically the engine and transmission seem to be okay. V6 has good power, auto shifts abruptly at times. Car is built cheap and flimsy, wears quickly. If you just need a car for in the town and don't drive much this is it. Sport package offers fun driving. Ride a little harsh. I should have looked at the Honda Accord or Toyota Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th July, 2001

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 DOHC Duratec from North America


Great, reliable, powerful sedan for the money


A leak from a loose fitting going into the power rack occurred. Very minor.

One of the plastic dash vents has broken.

General Comments:

The real positive of this car is the great 24 valve DOHC engine. This engine really sings!

Gas mileage averages about 22 mpg (1/3 city / 1/2 highway).

Engine and wind noise are quite loud at highway speeds.

Car handles great on icy roads (with good winter tires).

Car has been very reliable for the 36,000 miles I have owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L V6 from North America


A disappointing Ford lemon



This car had transmission problems, electrical problems, and other oddball faults!

General Comments:

The transmission went out at 60,000 miles after giving me problems for over 30,000 miles.

The dome light inside the car would not go off.

The radio would not go off, even with the keys completely out of the ignition.

The cabin air filter went out every 20,000 miles and made all the air coming in through the A/C vents smell like a skunk.

And there were so many other problems, I couldn't possibly list them all.

I have had several (7-8) Fords, and I have never had any problems out of them.

I traded a 95 Taurus for the 98, and a 92 for the 95. I was terribly disappointed with the 98 model compared to the older cars.

I have had several V8 Mustangs also, and would recommend them to someone looking for power.

I now have a 2000 Mazda B4000 truck, and I'm in love with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

12th Jun 2001, 10:53

I also own a '98 Taurus SE with 65k. My transmission is now dying, not sure how much longer it will last. I've also had many problems with the DRL's staying on all the time,... I would have to disconnect the battery cable!! I've taken all of the bulbs (dome, floor) out of the car, they would come on and go off on their own.

I won't buy another FORD,...!!!

I was hoping for a power-train warranty on this dying transmission, but my Ford dealer says no can do...??

** Don F. 6/12/01 **

1998 Ford Taurus SE from North America


Not as dependable as my previous car


Front brakes and rotors have been changed.. right rear calliper locked up and had to be changed.

The door ajar light has begun to stay on even though the doors are all securely shut, this causes the floor lamps to burn continuously.

The fan had to be changed because the bearings went bad. That's all so far...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

24th Mar 2001, 12:27

I had the same problem with the door ajar light-any suggestions?

18th Jun 2002, 22:02

Spray some wd-40 on the door latches and the trunk latch too. I had the same problem and this worked for me.

13th Mar 2004, 21:23

It took me about 3 days to find this site, but... My father just bought me a used 1998 Taurus wagon with 134,000 miles. The interior is in excellent shape. BUT!!! the door ajar light stays on. He has been a mechanic for planes, trains, tractors, trucks and anything else. He looked over the car and said it was electrical, (the door ajar light staying on)

I brought it home and looked around and sprayed WD-40 on all the door assemblies and open and shut the doors about 4 times each (even the rear hatches) and then shut the car off and started it 2 times. After that I haven't had a problem.

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.5 from North America


Rides crappy, but it's reliable


Window motor went.

General Comments:

I don't like how it rides and runs, it is reliable but I like my other car better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2000

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America


Very nice car but get the 3.8 engine if you can


Large bang on drivers side front wheel, occurs mainly on uneven roads, dealership unable to diagnose for 1 year.

General Comments:

Nice car but 3.0 engine makes your heart race a bit when trying to merge into highway traffic with large trucks. Dealerships (3 so far) are completely incompetent and do not know how to do anything except change the oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2000