1998 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 19 of 22

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Duratec 24v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratec 24v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Suffice it to say my next car will be a Ford Taurus

Faults:

The brakes malfunctioned at one point and didn't have full power. Had them checked out and the mechanic said they were in perfect condition. Haven't had a problem sense.

General Comments:

I've had it for almost a year and had no real trouble that wasn't my fault (accident). It's a car that seams to have problems, like weird noises once and a while, but nothing is ever wrong with it. The only problem I have with the car is its lack of downshifting. Pulling up to a light, but not stopping does not always downshift. Other than that I love the car, its fast, powerful, and so far very reliable. Recently went through winter. Car starts every time in zero degree weather.

To sum up, I love the my Ford Taurus SE 24V DOHC 3.0L Duratec Engine. I can accelerate from 80 to 100 mph in seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8700 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A commuter nightmare

Faults:

The radio display would intermittently go blank. The entire assembly was replaced twice under warranty and once out. When Ford finally fixed the display issue on the third try they made me pay 10% of the cost. The defect began under warranty. I am furious I was forced to pay anything when it was finally fixed.

Both rear taillight assemblies and bulb connectors were replaced twice under warranty.

I bought the car in the town I commuted to. When I tried to have service work down in the town I lived the local dealership refused to do the warranty work. I called Ford. Ford called the dealership. Ford called me back and said there was nothing they could do. I had to hunt around each time I needed warranty work done.

At 54000 miles the transmission shift cable broke. When I first describe the symptoms to the Ford dealership they immediately said broken shift cable. I then called a transmission shop. After describing the symptoms they immediately said broken shift cable. I see another review hear of a 98 Taurus with a broken shift cable. From the immediate diagnoses from the repair shops and the review I assert there is a defect with the shift cable on 98 Taurus's. This type of failure leaves the car useless and stranded wherever it occurs.

It is completely unacceptable for a car with only 50,000 - 60,000 miles to have this type of failure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

25th Aug 2003, 06:02

I've got a 99 Taurus with 105000 mostly highway miles and the shift cable just broke for me also :<

Also, make sure you change coolant often - recently had to replace heater core ($700) - after 3 years :<

29th Apr 2004, 06:33

I bought a 1996 Ford Taurus in 1999 with 24,000 miles. At 60,000 miles in 2002, I also replaced the transmission shift cable. I still have the cable in my basement - it's not frayed, but rather appears as if it was crimped or sheared off (I'm still not sure how this happened).

12th Jul 2006, 22:22

2001 Taurus SE. I have replaced the alternator twice, the first time the Ford dealer thought it was the battery cable and replaced that. My passenger side front seat belt stopped extending, replaced by dealership as no one else would/could do it. My heater core is going, this is a common problem on Tauruses and is going to be expensive to replace. My shifter cable just broke. Seems like everything that should last the life of the car breaks randomly.

21st Dec 2009, 20:45

I'm going to buy one anyway.

1998 Ford Taurus SE Wagon 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

Proceed with caution..

Faults:

Transmission downshifts sometimes pretty rough from 2nd to 1st gears when decelerating.

Engine has been solid as a rock, along with the bolt-on components.

Had 2 wheel alignments done on this car, the last to replace tie-rod ends and ball joints.

Several intermittent electrical problems have happened since I owned the car:

Mysterious problem (which is being looked at now) where the car is warmed up and in park, but the engine accelerates as high as 4,000RPM!!!

Interior door lights will come on and stay on after closing door, and the doors stay unlocked. When I press the power lock, it locks the door, BUT immediately unlocks all the doors, like I pressed the unlock button!

Had the multi-function switch (turn signal/wiper/hi-beam) replaced due to a problem that would make the headlights not work half of the time.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable to ride in, great for cargo area, but the 3.0 V6 feels a little sluggish.

The car looks great in the colors I got (dark red with gray cloth interior.) and the 4-wheel disk brakes seem to stop the car very well.

The electrical problems with this car are uncalled for, especially for a car that should compete with the best of the mid-size vehicles.

My dealer seems more intent on selling services than fixing real problems...

Overall, I like the car-- I just wish Ford could figure out a way to make a reliable version of the Taurus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

22nd Feb 2004, 20:56

I went to website to look for various problems I am having, and although I don't have a Taurus wagon, I do have a Taurus, and last night I went out, came home, turned the car off, and came in the house.

20 minutes later the front head lights were on, and nobody turned them on. My husband and I went outside to try and turn them off. Pulled fuses and took it for a ride. Came back, and the front headlights would not turn off. Finally we tried taking out the fuses to the lights, and nothing. We lastly resorted to disconnecting the battery, which finally turned them off.

I also have that acceleration problem after the car is warm. Plus I have also noticed a light coming on that says check brakes. I took it to brake shop, and there is nothing wrong with my brakes. I assume it's part of the electrical problem, which I hope to have diagnosed Monday AM...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 85 reviews