1998 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 20 of 22

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Comfortable, but unreliable

Faults:

I had a "Freeze Plug" go bad just after the warranty ended.

Thermostat and water pump replaced at 47,000 miles.

The dome light/floor lights stay lit (I've taken the bulbs out) and the door ajar warning light stays lit. This also prevents the driver side door from locking when using the power locks.

General Comments:

The car was recalled in 1999 for a GEM module replacement (which controls the dome light timer and stuff) and I'm not sure it was done since I bought the car used. It's going in for a look-see soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 24-Valve DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 24-Valve DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

A Great Sport Sedan

Faults:

The front brake rotors had to be resurfaced dude to extreme use.

General Comments:

Great Car.

I can nail it and burn the tires off the rims.

0-60 time is incredible for a V-6 family sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

An embarrassment to modern automotive engineering

Faults:

At 31k, rear brakes were grinding, replaced all because of grinding damage.

Cover on Storage container in between bucket seats, is broke.

General Comments:

Terribly harsh ride quality, feels like I am 4 wheeling. Cannot even tune radio if I hit a small dip in road, hand flies off radio, forget trying to drink a coffee. Rides like a truck. Seats have little lumbar, very little underside padding, and are not comfortable.Ergonomically, car is cramped, and that little foot pad on drivers side floor is very irratating. Did I say seats suck.

Transmission shifts very sloppy and has a lot of lag, (and this is only after 35k), can't wait till 80k if it lasts that long.

The car does handle like an Indy car, very responsive. Very nice large trunk. Great on the highway as long as you don't hit any bumps. Engine has a great amount of snap to it, not a lot of torque though.

As far as ride quality and comfort, this car is rubbish. I have a 1957 Ford that was 10,000 times the car this is in, ride, comfort, ergonomics, looks, power, (very tourquey compared to Taurus), quality of materials, and is much more pleasurable to go on long drives with, and it floats over everything in its path. And oh yeah, did I mention I get a solid 18 mpg highway out of a V-8!!!

It is discouraging to see what American cars have come to. Sure they are safer, more economical, but at what cost???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

19th May 2006, 20:19

How can you compare a 1957 Ford with a 1998 Ford??? Cars produced in 1957 were thousands of pounds heavier (made for the comfortable ride) than cars produced in 1998.

24th Mar 2009, 14:27

These are good cars. I encourage you to check general reliability ratings from msnautos or other sites that report long term reliability.

I am just upset generally that you are putting this tag on American cars because Ford is building good cars and trucks, and you can also refer to Consumer Reports if you prefer to argue that. Plain and Simple, the Ford Taurus as reliable as virtually anything else on the market. Fact do not lie.

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L 24v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26515 miles
Most recent distance67899 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

A good overall value

Faults:

Valve cover gasket needed replacement at 65K miles.

Oxygen Sensor needed replacement at 55K miles.

General Comments:

Car is a family sedan and handles like one. However, it does offer good overall performance. Great for long distance rides. Four adults ride nicely in this car and the trunk is roomy enough for 3 large overnight bags.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Ford, you should be ashamed of this car

Faults:

Door indicator light in the dash stays on and the doors are shut. I'll step on the brake after driving for 5 minutes and the light will go out then the doors will auto lock.Sometimes you can not lock the doors until the dash light goes out

Started burning about 2 quarts of oil between oil changes @ about 50,000 miles.Now at 76,000 miles it burns about 3-4 quarts

Transmission slips for the first 10 minutes of driving (and yes I check the oil levels)

General Comments:

The only real positive things I can say about this car are great gas mileage (for a car of this size) and lots of space on the inside and trunk.

Ford makes the worst seats of any car maker, the seats in the Taurus feel like a poorly made couch.

This car is cold blooded takes like 15 minutes just to get heat. Burns oil like it's going out of style. I've owned cars with more than 100,000 miles that burn less oil. I would not recommend this car to my worst enemy.

I'll never own another newer Ford.

Here is another 4 letter word JUNK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2002

16th Feb 2003, 17:09

Finally someone who agrees with me about Ford Taurus seats.

I would LOVE to hear Stevens comment on how he thinks this car rides.

Thanks Steven for your review.

20th Mar 2003, 14:58

In the two years I've had my Ford Taurus, I've had to put in a new battery, brakes, and a fuel pump. Now the interior light stays on, my door ajar light stays on that's causing my battery to drain and the motor in three of the doors have gone out. I'm still paying for this piece of crap and have to pay for $1,000 in repairs. I will never recommend a Ford to anybody and I sure will not purchase another one.

13th Jun 2003, 08:17

If anybody cares, I had the problem with the doors and the interior light staying on. Here's a quick fix and will save you a lot of $$$$. Go get a can of WD-40 or JD and spray it on the door jam on all 4 doors. Spray it good. I bet your problem goes away. It drove me nuts!!

24th Mar 2009, 14:31

I will only agree with one thing; the seats are terrible.

If you don't want it to burn oil when it gets older, it requires changing the oil before you wreck the engine. Maybe your husband used to do that, or you didn't realize they needed oil changed.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 85 reviews