1998 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 18 of 22

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Vulcan (base engine) from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan (base engine) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carNissan NX2000

Summary:

Very reliable

Faults:

These cars must have something wrong with the rotors. I have had mine replaced two times. Also, the front end has had a lot of work (Ball joints, bearings, tie rods, sway bars). But the engine is perfect.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable, and runs really well. I trust this car anywhere I go and it has never let me down. Crash test results prove that this is a safe car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

15th Sep 2004, 15:55

I have a 1999 Ford Taurus SE, and I hate it. I have had nothing, but trouble out of it since the day I got it. I have had many problems with the rotors (these have been replace and turned numerous times), now the ball bearings are acting up. I have had to replace the alternator twice, the battery twice, the computer in the firewall, the speed sensor, wires that go to the speed sensor, oil pan, plastic case that the water is held in and the speed odometer repaired. I just got a letter in the mail letting me know that another part on my car has been recalled... whats next???

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47777 miles
Most recent distance73912 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

This is a piece of crap!

Faults:

Transmission replaced four times.

Brakes have gone out twice.

Serpentine belt replaced at 65,000.

Driver back door sticks.

ABS sensor light on at 70,000.

General Comments:

Although I have had many problems with the car I still love it and it is a very comfortable ride and an OK car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus SE from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27390 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

I will not buy another Taurus

Faults:

I had to replace the fuel pump assembly at 66,000 miles. That is a very costly repair.

The car handles poorly.

General Comments:

I have had to have the rotors replaced twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 24 Valve V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 24 Valve V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Overall a good buy

Faults:

The one real problem with this car has been the front brake rotors. They have been turned/replaced 8 times. This is ridiculous.

No other problems with the car.

General Comments:

Car is generally a great car to drive. The 200 Horsepower engine really moves. Car is quiet and comfortable. The engine sings quite loudly when accelerating, but, I suppose it is designed that way. The car has plenty of room and is a real joy to drive when, the brakes are not wobbling to stop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2003

27th Feb 2004, 10:26

I have also had trouble with the brake rotors. The rear rotors were replaced around 60,000, and the front around 85,000.

1998 Ford Taurus SE Wagon 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67400 miles
Most recent distance67750 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Don't know yet as far as the engine is concerned

Faults:

I bought this car on Ebay. The seller misrepresented the car, and the second day I drove it after having picked it up from Atlanta which was roughly 220 miles from my home, the alternator stopped working. Now I have to pay for a new alternator as the limited sales warranty will not account for this item.

I don't know how many miles an alternator lasts, so I don't know what else will go wrong with it henceforth.

General Comments:

I love the looks of this car and it has a much better vision field behind the driver's seat as my previous car, the Ford Taurus sedan,1990.

So far, I like the way it drives, but I haven't had it long enough to really judge it. Gas consumption seems higher than what I expected, but not sure yet. Need to figure out what gas mileage I get yet.

Design wise, I like everything about this car, and it has an elegant simplicity which is hard to beat. The wagon is a great compromise for not being able to afford a truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2003

1998 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A nightmare

Faults:

Dash lights have gone out.

Rear stabilizer links broke at 65,000 miles.

Front tie-rod ends and ball joints replaced at 69,000 miles.

Constant problems with warped rotors.

Door ajar light will not go off, causing interior lights to remain on.

General Comments:

After doing quite a bit of research, I decided on a Taurus because of the reliability marks. My question is -- who did these marks? This car has not been the car I expected it to be. I caution anyone thinking to buy one to think twice, as it will be a very costly mistake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

8th Dec 2004, 07:52

I, too, have a 1998 Taurus. And your review reads like my service/repair history! Except I'm at 75,000 and I am having to replace my tie-rod ends. Owning this vehicle has been so frustrating!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 85 reviews