2001 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 3 of 16

2001 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 Vulcan from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very good car

Faults:

Set of front rotors.

One 02 sensor.

Brake master cylinder.

General Comments:

Purchased Sept 2007 and the car has been a pleasure to own.

This model has ABS and traction control, power seats and adjustable pedals.

The items that have been replaced are service items only. The new rotors solved the notorious brake and shake, but even new they still needed to be turned before installing.

Fuel mileage runs 25-32 if you keep your right foot out of it and maintain correct tire pressures.

Overall, for 2500.00 dollars, and that included a brand new set of 80,000 mile tires, it has been a very good purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2008

7th Jun 2009, 22:39

I am now at 185000 miles and just completed a 2000 mile trip. No problems at all since my original review and the Taurus continues to please. I'd have another if they were all like this.

16th Aug 2010, 20:50

This Taurus is now at 202000 miles and continues to to serve me well with no problems to report at all. It has been a good car and I hope to get many more miles.

2001 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 liter 12v from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter 12v Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles

Summary:

No power / no reliability / bad mpg

Faults:

Well, when I got the car in June of '08, I got ripped on the price ($8,800 after all fees). The next day after I got it, the passenger side power lock stopped working (no big deal). It cost $40 for the part, and $10 to have my neighbour install it (he is a mechanic).

Okay no big deal; that is fixed and everything is going good, but I noticed the car has slowly been getting lower and lower and lower as far as ride height goes. The rear end is very bad. Just today I checked to see how low it is; I could only fit one finger between the wheel and the wheel well. I still haven't fixed it. I really don't want to stick a lot of money into it. I am thinking of selling the car so I can repay my loan ($6,000 owed still).

Also, since about 2,000 miles ago, I have been getting HORRIBLE GAS MILEAGE; about 12.5 mpg at certain times. I admit I drive it hard, but still 12mpg? No problems with it. It runs OK except when I rev it up in Park; then it backfires. No lights are on.

I definitely am not buying another Ford. My dad also has a '00 Ford Taurus, and he stuck a lot of money into it. A lot of problems. I don't want to go there.

General Comments:

It sucks, has no power, gets horrible gas mileage, and the suspension is junk. Don't buy a tortoise!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2008

11th Nov 2008, 12:12

Why would this person rev it up in Park?

11th Nov 2008, 13:42

Have the suspension looked at. If it's worth fixing, have the engine tuned up. Run some injector cleaner with a few tanks of gas.

And finally, pay your mechanic neighbor about $100 to find you your next used car.

12th Nov 2008, 14:52

For the rear wheel issue, try new springs. Our Taurus had the rear springs replaced at 65K and the front springs at 122K. But, then again, I keep up on maintenance.

30th Nov 2008, 23:22

I have a 2002 Taurus SES. Have put 70,000 on it, great car!

23-29 mpg. Sounds like you paid to much for a car someone else abused, and didn't keep up.

31st Jan 2009, 23:40

Yeah, so if your family member had so many problems with their Taurus, why go out and buy one? And if you felt you were getting screwed on the price... maybe try saying no...

18th Jan 2011, 13:17

The car has a rev limiter when on park, so you cannot over rev engine and damage it. Read your manual.

2001 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 Duratec from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Boring but dependable vehicle

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all, only brakes and oil changes.

General Comments:

My wife and I inherited this car when her parents purchased a new Toyota highlander. We weren't exactly thrilled to be driving a ford Taurus, but we were poor and did feel some comfort in knowing the car was well taken care of.

The car is very plain and boring, but it never breaks down and is comfortable to ride in. The engine is actually quite nice and is surprisingly quick, but gas mileage suffers for the same reason. The interior shows no signs of wear even after 80000 miles and of course we had to replace the awful sound system.

I don't really like the car because it just isn't my style, but I can't complain about it either. This car has been extremely dependable and has never given us even a hint of a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2008

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews