2003 Ford Taurus Centennial 3.0 24v Duratec from North America


Nice, roomy, and powerful, but not a sports car


Fuel system needed to be cleaned due to poor gas mileage.

Window regulator replaced at 47,000.

General Comments:

This Taurus is my 3rd so I have to be pretty satisfied with the car. It is sharp with the black clear-coat and alloy rims. The car has all the creature comforts including: parchment leather seats, power everything, power sunroof, alarm, and a six-disc CD changer. The Taurus handles well, but could be a little tighter taking the turns. Perhaps a sport-tuned suspension would do the trick. I have to say that I am not dissatisfied with the gas mileage as of late. I'm getting 30+ miles per gallon on the highway and still getting in the low 20's on average. Anyone wanting to buy a Taurus used should purchase a service warranty with it just to be on the safe side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2006

2003 Ford Taurus SEL 3.0L V6 from North America


Worst new car ever!! Avoid!!


Too many to name for a new car, that's for sure...

Needs a new transmission!!! (January 2006)

Various dash pieces broke off or cracked.

Dash knobs pop right off (ac, vents)

Lots of rattles and shakes/wind noise is terrible.

The headlights like to burn out a LOT.

General Comments:

I bought this Taurus because I liked my old Aerostar so much, but the quality of this vehicle just proves why Ford is going downhill so fast.

Just this month, only after 3 years of owning the car, a "seal" in the transmission blew out and left me stranded in the mountains-literally. The car lost all power, began shifting erratically. I pulled over and smoke was coming from the front grille and transmission fluid was SPRAYING out from under the car!! AAA towed the car to a local garage where the mechanic told me the transmission was basically DOA. I should have pushed the Taurus right off the mountain when I had the chance.


I ended up renting a car (Chevy Impala) to finish my business trip and took that car back home with me.

I then had AAA tow the Taurus to a local Ford "store" where it now sits in limbo. Go figure...

Although my rented Impala is decent, I think I will just get a Camry or Accord when the Taurus is finally gone.

I'm through with Ford once and for all... good luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

15th Apr 2006, 10:17

We have a 2003 Ford Taurus Sel, and it runs and shifts fine. It has 31,000 miles on it. It has had no light problems or anything. We have had zero problems and the build quality is excellent. You must have got a lemon.

12th Feb 2007, 18:19

Just one thing, OK at that mileage and age I'm sorry that happened, but warranty should cover it, At least It would in Canada. But had to say It's not a new car!!

2nd Jun 2008, 17:45

Even though it's not a "NEW" car anymore, 40K miles is too early to be replacing a transmission.

24th Jun 2008, 20:54

Well I have one too, and without warning, one second it's running like usual, and then nothing. We have had our piece of junk for about a 10 months and 20,00 miles; a total waste!! Never again FORD!!

2003 Ford Taurus SES 3.0L OHV Vulcan V6 from North America


Great car at a great price


Nothing has gone wrong with this car, except the usual problems that come with buying a used car.

General Comments:

This is my 2nd car and my first Ford. Coming from a large GM family, I came under a little criticism for buying my Taurus. I have changed the opinions of some of my family when they realized that it is a very comfortable and reliable car.

The acceleration and performance of the 155hp Vulcan V6 is actually very good, about the same as my previous car, a 1996 Pontiac Bonneville SE. The seats are very comfortable, but the Bonneville's seats were much more comfy, if you've owned a Bonneville you probably understand.

I really have had to make no repairs to it other than what it needed when I bought it. I had to replace the tires, brakes, air filter, and spark plugs. I understand the previous owner just didn't take care of it well and let everything become worn when he sold it. But since I've done that I really haven't had any problems with the car. The only thing I have to complain about is the poor gas mileage it gets, 15mpg in the city on average. But I still have yet to figure out why it is like that.

Overall, I would highly recommend this car and would buy another one in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

10th Aug 2006, 19:58

Wow you think the power is the same in your Taurus as it was in your Bonneville think again I wish I hadn't got rid of mine for my Taurus, but I had 287,000 problem free rust free miles with my Bonneville, but it was time to go I really wish I would have held out for another Bonneville, but I can't beat the price of my Taurus, but still its no Pontiac.

16th Jun 2007, 14:50

I have this model and year of Taurus and it now has 107,000 miles on it with only minor repair/maintenance problems. I have done routine maintenance and just done some additional minor repairs (stabilizer bar link, transmission and coolant maintenance and had the rotors turned). I think the car has done excellent and have had it 4 years buying it with 18,000 miles on it. My daughter has an 01 with over 150,000 miles and still going strong. Good car with a decent price.

9th Sep 2008, 21:37

I have an 02 SES and we love it! As long as it is treated right, there are no problems and much easier and less annoying than a Toyota Camry for sure!

4th Dec 2009, 23:31

My 03 Ford Taurus has no problem. It now has 102,000 miles on it. I noticed it was not much power till I change Bosch 4 points spark plugs and Bosch wires on 3.0, and put on a K and N air filter. Wow, drives like sport car. I get about 34 miles per gallon on highway. 31 in city. Very impressed with it.