2003 Ford Taurus SES 3.0L Vulcan V6 from North America


Ford makes comfortable cars, but I would never buy one again without a bumper-to-bumper warranty


The engine went out at 115,000 miles, and it is beyond repair.

General Comments:

Up until the engine damage, I was generally pleased with the way the car rode and handled. It is also very roomy, the seats are comfortable, and the steering feel is good.

I was becoming worried about the suspension. I live in the rust belt, and I have heard about the springs rusting out and cracking in these cars, and causing blowouts and accidents. That did not happen to my car, but I was starting to hear a lot of creaks and noises from the suspension this winter.

The engine went out on a day that was 4 below zero. Apparently the cooling system failed due to a clog or a leak. No warning lights lit up, but the engine started running rough. I drove it for five minutes to my destination. It wouldn't start after that. The repair shop said that the car overheated during that short trip, and that one of the back cylinders had low compression and was irreparable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2011

6th Mar 2013, 16:52

If you have a temperature gauge, there should be no reason to let your car overheat. If the temp is above normal, there is obviously something wrong, and you should stop driving it immediately.

11th Oct 2013, 16:31

When under freezing temperatures, a clog might happen somewhere far from the temperature sensor and cause the engine to run hot while the sensor still reads cool. It's probably poor quality/wrong cooling fluid.

2003 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 V6 from North America


I would buy another one!


Driver side door latch sticks open in frigid weather. Other than that, I have had absolutely no problems with this car.

General Comments:

Great Value! Decent gas mileage, very good interior space, good power, very reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2011

2003 Ford Taurus SEL Wagon 3.0 V24 Duratec from North America


Excellent allrounder


Oxygen sensor went bad at 22k miles.

Needed new rear brake pads at 30k miles.

Transmission vent valve clogged; replaced at 50k miles.

New tires at 50k miles; replaced the Continentals with General - very happy with it.

General Comments:

I like the versatility of the wagon.

It drives nice and the fuel economy is not too bad - 20/26 mpg.

It does well in the snow due to traction control and ABS. The sound system (MACH...) is good. It fits our family of 4 (one car seat) + 2 dogs and luggage for a 3 day weekend without a problem.

The engine delivers plenty of power. I occasionally tow a utility trailer for things around the house without a problem.

I see used Tauruses in the car ads with high miles on them, that gives me hope!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2009

18th Jul 2011, 23:56

UPDATE: So far so good. I'm at 87k miles. Keeping up to date with the standard stuff i.e. oil changes every 5k miles, including filters. As far as the oil goes, I'm sticking to synthetic blend. Got new tires today - Continental Pro Contact ECO PLUS. The previous General Altimax HP's only lasted 41k miles. I have been pulling our 4x8 utility trailer every now and then without any issues. I'll keep posting updates as the miles go by...

2003 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 duratec from North America


I wish I had 20 of these cars


Rear strut stabilizer bar replaced at 115,000 miles.

Starting to rust on rear quarter panel in wheel well.

General Comments:

Never failed me. Ever.

One failure of a rear stabilizer bar fixed for 100 dollars at neighborhood mechanic.


Extremely reliable.

Good gas mileage.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

2003 Ford Taurus SES Sport 3.0 Duratec 24 V from North America


This is an awesome vehicle!


Anti theft system was not allowing the car to start.

Tie rod ends replaced following a knocking sounds in the front end, and ower oil pan gasket leaked; both at 43K miles.

Right front CV boot leaking grease all over the right front rotor and brake pads at 20,400 miles.

General Comments:

I love my Taurus SES Sport.

The 200 HP Duratec V6 has plenty of get up, but also is not a gas hog.

This is a sporty Taurus with the floor shifter, black and silver two tone seats, blacked out grille and nice alloys.

This is a perfect sized vehicle. There's plenty of room both front and back, and it's a great car for road trips. This 6 footer feels very comfortable driving it on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2008