1989 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

I have had to replace the starter.

The alternator just went out.

Replaced one transmission mount.

The A/C clutch went out at 80,000.

General Comments:

This is the best 1st time car for anyone! I have put this car through hell and it won't die. Starts up every morning in under 3 revolutions!! I do regular maintnence (oil changes...). Everyone calls Tempos crap - not true.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1989 Ford Tempo GL Sedan 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Great 2nd car, work car, teenagers 1st car

Faults:

Hmmm... Motor mounts at about 85K miles.

Brakes/rotors at about 80k miles (2nd time).

AC at 35K (but it was already 10 years old!).

Power steering fluid leaking at 88K miles.

Windshield wiper fluid reservoir doesn't hold fluid at 75K miles.

General Comments:

Great little car for the teens when they first start to drive, or a "winter car" for those persons who have snow. I call it "the MouseTrap" and it keeps going and going and going. Got it for free from my sister in 1999 and it had 34K miles on it. Now has 88K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Cheap and nasty

Faults:

Everything. I have practically rebuilt the thing in the time I owned it.

A/C packed up.

Fuel pump replaced twice.

Alternator.

Electrics seem to be remote controlled by someone else.

Lots of other minor irritating things. Hated being in the cold and would refuse to start after October unless it had been in the underground parking overnight.

General Comments:

I spent more money per month on this car than I did on my rent. Cheap and nasty Ford. How Ford expect to sell these crates in Canada I'll never know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

20th Feb 2001, 18:40

How can 1988 be the most recent year you owned your '89 Tempo?

22nd Feb 2001, 07:05

Duh - 1998! Read it properly!

28th Jul 2001, 21:04

Good job on that Tempo--My tempo feels like doomsday revisited.

21st Oct 2002, 20:04

Hello, I'm sorry you have had such problems with your tempo. I own a 89 tempo also and love it. On the other had, Be thankful you don't own an Escort... talk about the Ford problem car... I truly believe that is the sole reason why the Ford company has not gone broke. Good luck in the future...Ash.

14th Dec 2002, 11:01

I also have an 89 Ford Tempo that has had SO MANY things go wrong with it, you'd think it isn't really a car. Maybe a tricycle with a fake motor? I bought this car from an elderly couple that say they hardly drove it, well now I know why. I haven't even had the car a year and already the motor has had to be replaced, along with the alternator, battery and a number of other things, the list could truly go on. I've had 6 cars in my lifetime and this one has truly been the worst. I have heard that Ford cars do break down a lot. I don't plan on buying another Ford car in the future. I am trading this stupid car in, and if I'm lucky, I may actually get a penny or two for it.

2nd Feb 2009, 09:59

I too have a '89 Tempo. Mine is completely indestructible!!! I have wrecked this car multiple times, hitting many things, and the car is still running strong. '89 Tempos are freakin awesome!!! -Cade.

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good basic transportation!!!

Faults:

Only basic items, H20 pump and fuel pump.

General Comments:

Been a great little car. I know when I turn the key, it will always start. Power is not what it used to be, especially on hot days. But it looks like it will be my first 200,000 car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

9th Feb 2001, 15:09

I appreciate your comments on what you've replaced. I agree with your assessment that it's basically a great little car. Super for my teenaged son!

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Transmission, Alternator (6x), water pump, PS pump, ignition module (2x), engine mounts, automatic door locks, automatic seat belt, radiator hose.

General Comments:

Had a lot of problems - may have been from the mileage. Got it at 144K and had it until 160K with no repair history. Still convinced it had an undetected electrical problem that caused the alternator to fail so many times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

28th Apr 2001, 12:43

I don't think your car has an undetected electrical problem. I've replaced my alternator 3x. Don't have p/w or p/l. First alt went under warranty (9k), second at (27k), and third at (53k). Everything has a weakness, and this is the Tempo's.

12th Jan 2002, 13:29

Not quite. A Tempo's weakness is that it is a Ford. I had so many problems with my '86 that I wanted to wreck the thing and be rid of it.

An electrical problem... in a Tempo? Geez. No way! That is the #1 problem with these cars. They stall at stoplights, stall when they're cold, heck-mine would stall if you hit the brakes too hard! I had to replace the ignition, distributer, module, coil, cap, rotor, plugs, plug wires, about 10 sensors (average $55 a piece), and the thing still didn't run. And with 55,000 miles on it, too.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 47 reviews