1989 Ford Tempo Reviews

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 Liter from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carPontiac Catalina

Summary:

Great little car for the money, and easy to work on

Faults:

Alternator went out at 199,000, which was a factor and a common problem with the car, so after replacing the pig tail and alternator, no issues.

The car has a straight body with no rust. The rear bumper cover is cracked and needs to be replaced, but I'm in no hurry.

Replaced the muffler at 200,000.

Had the oil pan sealed (it was leaking). Did that at 200,000.

Most expensive fix was the rack and pinion went out, and that was a 500$ fix.

Interior is real clean. In the process of replacing the head liner.

A/C works great.

Had to replace a lot of vacuum lines due to age (brittle and cracked), but hey it's a 23 year old car so that's to be expected.

General Comments:

This is a great little car for the money. Very dependable ride (well for me), but you have to keep it maintained; don't let little problems go neglected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2013

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Overall very pleased with its dependability

Faults:

A/C compressor seized.

Alternator terminal melted.

General Comments:

Bought as a daily commuter. Very dependable.

Excessive cost to replace A/C compressor in the central Texas heat makes it uncomfortable in the summer.

Still feels and handles solidly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2010

12th Feb 2010, 09:48

I loved my FORD TEMPO, and nothing went wrong other than wear and tear. I should have never sold it. I would drive this over my brand new Suzuki Forenza.

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

I've been through 2 sets of belts.

3 Alternators.

A/C went out at 50k miles, cost $1,000 to bring it to the 21st century.

Replaced water pump.

Horrible oil and transmission leaks, replaced oil pan 2 times and still leaking like crazy. I put 2-3 quarts in per week. Probably because there is no gasket for this oil pan, you have to use a high temperature sealant which doesn't work! Also leaks water/antifreeze.

Shakes uncontrollably at lights and sometimes dies out, I have to put in neutral every time I pull up to a light!

Slips out of drive while I'm driving, I have to pull over to put the car in park and then back in drive and pull back out slowly!

Replaced 2 batteries already!

Latest problem is car won't start when sitting overnight, I have to start it several times then let it sit for 15 minutes and then start it again before it will turn over.

Replaced tire bear rings and a tie rod.

Replaced tires twice in 3 years.

Had 3 alignments already.

Cruise control and trunk pop don't work along with the cigarette lighter.

General Comments:

This car is pretty much a nightmare for me! I never have money in my pocket because I have to put it all into the car!

In my experience, I wouldn't recommend buying one unless you have over 5k to put into it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2009

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance285321 miles
Previous carChevrolet Scottsdale

Summary:

Call Ripleys believe it or not!!!

Faults:

Fuel pump when new, same one still on it since warranty fix!

Alternator at 200,000, C.V. axles at 230,000 and really didn't need them; just the boots were ripped! Couldn't find split boots anymore!

Front wheel bearings at 230,000 also as one was shot.

The interior is shabby, but I don't care, this is now my reliable whooptie that still doesn't burn oil that I'm driving till it dies!!!

I have a fairly new GMC truck, a Honda Odyssey and 2 Harleys, so it's not like my only ride!!!

General Comments:

I still can't believe I still own this thing!!! Best car I've ever owned!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2008

1989 Ford Tempo LX 2.3 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Justy

Summary:

The Bentley's long lost son

Faults:

Everything was working on it when I first got it. even all the power options.

The starter and alternator went around the same time.

The check engine light has been on for years according to my auntie, who I bought it from. A picture covers that up nicely.

I believe a "module" is ready to die because it has recently stalled a few times just while I was stopped at a light for a few seconds or putting it into reverse. The rpm drops below 1000 and then it dies, yet all the electricals stay on.

My transmission was leaking an insane amount of fluid, which equalled to about a gallon in a week. So I took it in and found out a transmission mount was broken.

Also, the climate control interface has 8 buttons on a little panel and when it's cold, they are very hard to push in or they get stuck. Especially the rear defrost button... when it is minus a thousand out, and you want the frost off your back window, it does not turn on for some reason and it feels like someone spilt a juice box on the buttons. But when it's warm, the buttons work like a charm.

General Comments:

Even though this is an old ladies car... Tempo... who likes those?? I have to admit, it is a TANK. It goes through deep, soft snow like nobodys business (never been stuck). I bag drive the living snot out of it. E-Braking every corner I feel the need to when it's slippery. I hit a deer going at least 85 kph, on a dirt road and hardly felt it while not losing one bit of control through the whole thing.

The plush interior of the LX is beautiful and so comfy. Has enough balls for a little beater car. If it was a standard I would be loving it! I hit a boulevard in Winnipeg straight on going about 40kph and just blew out one rear tire.

The stock speakers are amazing, but it is the biggest pain to install a cd deck because it has a little tiny amp to power the stereo... but it's located in the trunk, above the compartment and every speaker runs through it so you have to yank that amp out, smash it on the road with anger, and re wire both the rear and front speakers directly to the deck.

Great car for anyone, and I feel luxurious when I'm driving it, except that my hood, quarter panel, and driver's side head light are still smashed from hitting that deer 3 months ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2006

21st Jun 2008, 03:15

Hilarious! Thank you for your review. Definitely the manual trans then! ; )

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 47 reviews