1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 Liter from North America


A comfort car, not a performance car


Nothing major has gone wrong, I just put some tune up parts in it when I got it.

Such as belts, plugs and hoses. An Air Intake hose went, but was easily fixed and 1 alternator, no biggie though.

It tends to stall when its idling at a stop light and you suddenly hit the gas, but I found a way around it.

My emergency brake does not work, but that's not a problem.

General Comments:

This car looks like a box, but the interior is in very good condition and is laid out nicely, except for cup holders.

My Tempo is a very good first car or if you want a cheap beater that will last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

3rd Dec 2002, 17:53

Congrats on finding a Tempo with low miles! My 1989 has 97,000 miles, and I've had minor problems with mine as well. Like you said, a cheap beater car. Good luck in the future with your little Tempo!

16th Jun 2003, 09:28

I have had a 1989 Mercury Topaz (same car as the Tempo) for seven years now and it has turned out to be a great car. However, the previous owner disconnected the shoulder harness seat belts and discarded them, now after driving the car for all this time, I received a fix-it ticket and cannot find the shoulder harness seat belts for the car. The manufacturer wants $695.00 for the set and I'm afraid I cannot afford that. Can anyone help me find these? I would really appreciate any help I could get as I have to go to court July 16 for this ticket.

E-mail Lynda_Glas@hotmail.com or LLindamarie52@aol.com

Please help!!!

19th Jul 2005, 23:56

I just bought a 1989 Ford Tempo with 49,566 miles on it for $400. Everyone talks bad about the Tempo, but they are indestructable.

1989 Ford Tempo GL 2.3L HSC 4 cylinder Gasoline from North America


A poor mans SHO


There was a bad rubber gasket on a bolt on the header, I fixed it easily.

The A/C is starting to go out, I need to recharge it.

My family previously owned it in Kansas, so the clear coat of paint has peeled considerably.

It has never rusted though.

General Comments:

It is very unique in its own right.

It is fast enough to beat many Mustang GT's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2002

20th Oct 2002, 16:38

I own a Tempo, I have owned many Mustang GT's, ranging from stock to all out race car, and I totally disagree. You have never won a race against a GT Mustang. Maybe you thought you were racing them or that it was a 5.0.

1989 Ford Tempo GL from North America


A decent car for the price, and good for a teenager


The front passenger side rotor had to be replaced when I bought it.

A/C pump needed to be recharged when I bought it.

Previous owner says the electrical system had to be replaced after mechanic placed wrench across the two battery terminals.

Previous owner says he had to rebuild the top of the motor (heads, etc...).

Power steering pump went out at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

For the most part, since I have bought this car, it has been a decent car. Myself being a 16 yr old, I didn't have much money for a car, so this car appealed to me as it was selling for $1100.

The reliability of the car has been decent for a car with such high mileage (High in my opinion anyways).

The handling of the car is decent.

One thing I love about my car, is after the mechanics replaced the electrical system, they put in a chip underneath the dashboard that I can pull out, and nothing will work. Perfect Anti-theft device.

Overall, a decent, car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

1989 Ford Tempo GL 4 Cylinder 2.3L from North America


The perfect car for anyone that wants to drive 500,000 miles.


The alternator terminals melted 4 or 5 times since 1989.

Leaks a little bit of oil.

The A/C died at 90,000.

General Comments:

This car is the best car ever made.

The only reason people think of the Tempo/Topaz as a lemon is because so many people own them.

This car has gotten me from point A to point B thousands of times, and will continue to do so for many years.

My recommendation is, if you can get one of these cars with under 100,000 miles on it, buy that car right now, and sell it to me. The only car I plan on driving for the rest of my life will be the 1989 Ford Tempo.

This car is a seriously, and extremely reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

2nd Aug 2002, 17:07

I have 1989 Ford Tempo GL with 105,000 miles, runs like a beast and purrs like a kitten i'll sell it for best offer.

19th Jul 2005, 23:10

I have a 1989 Ford Tempo GL with 49,566 miles on it. I want $1,000 for it.

20th Nov 2006, 16:05

How do you really know how many miles are on it? The odometer only goes up to 99,999 miles. My car says it has 63,000 miles. I think it has already been driven at least 100k. Does anyone know how to tell?