2000 Ford Windstar SEL from North America - Comments

7th Mar 2001, 15:52

We purchased a 99 Windstar SEL, and the car knows its own way to the dealer for repairs. At 6,000 miles they replaced the transmission, and the most recurring problem is the door popping open upon closing. We have had that in to be fixed 4 times, and Ford does not know a solution to the problem and is not willing to compensate us for our trouble. We would never buy a Ford product again and wish we would have waited for the Honda van.

3rd May 2001, 20:36

Purchased a 1999 new. No real problems except it is not too responsive at speed or take off.

Easy to drive on the open road. Not bad in traffic. No unusual noise. Mechanically sound.

19th Aug 2002, 20:42

We bought a 2000 Windstar, and it is a great car, it has strong accelerations, and also the seats are very comfortable.

We had 25,000 on it and there was a little rattlings sounds in the interior, but other than that, there were no problems, it is a great van, and I think it is the best looking van on the market.

9th Sep 2002, 08:47

I purchased a 2000 Windstar SEL new in April 2000. Three months later it started making loud clunk noises from front of the vehicle. To this date my dealer's technicians do not know what is causing this. It has never been fixed even though it has been in the shop 13 times in two years! Now the clunk progressed and my warranty is off. It sounds like an airplane coming in for a landing and the technician says it is the wheel bearing or the transmission may have dirt in it. It has 43,000 miles and the dealer tells me no need to flush transmission. This Windstar is nothing but trouble for me. I had a 95 Windstar before this one and until the head gaskets blew... well, I'll never buy a Ford

Van again!

1st Sep 2003, 19:37

Thank you, I needed a place to vent. I bought my 2000 Ford Windstar new and have never really liked it. I have had it to the dealer for the following problems: door rattles, loud clunk when put in reverse, check engine light coming on, engine ping and it is currently in the shop because the key will not turn in the ignition. I plan on getting rid of the beast. I would never buy another Windstar.

15th Feb 2004, 12:28

I have a 2000 ford windstar with 70000 kms the check engine light is always on, my right front wheel bearing was replaced , because it sounded like an airplane landing. Starting the van in the morning it makes a loud noise after start up like something engaging. I am not happy with this windstar and I will never buy one again.

18th Feb 2004, 12:06

Well, we bought a 2000 Windstar SEL, used with 21,000 km on it, in April/01. At first, I thought it was the most wonderful vehicle.

Until, the other day, we had been driving around town doing some errands.. All of a sudden, with no warning, the odometer went from numbers to -----, the gas gage was reading about an 1/8 inch under E, the ABS light& the parking brake light were on. NO engine light.3 minutes later, I went to pick up my son, and left my 12yr. old son in the van with his 2 younger siblings. When I returned to the van a few minutes later, my 12&4 yr. olds were standing outside the van crying. I asked what had happened, and was told that the van had quite instantly filled up with smoke. (He wasn't able to get my 2 yr. old out of his car seat) Thankfully my son had the presence of mind to get out and open the doors..

I have taken the van to the dealership, they have told me that the wires had melted right in to the fuse box. How did this happen? No one seems to know. The thing that infuriates me the most is, Why did I not have any kind of WARNING? My children were in the van!

This is going to cost me 1500+ to fix, when, really, a fuse should have blown to ensure this didn't happen in the first place, or we should have had SOME warning as to this.

1st Sep 2004, 02:13

I bought a 2000 Ford Windstar LX minivan with 27,236 miles on it 2 months ago. So far I love it. The ride is quiet and smooth. Not hearing any noises at all. I also purchased a premium warranty package through the dealer since I got such a good deal on the van. (in my opinion) It looks brand new! Paid 9,800.00 counting sales tax and licenses. then 2,150 for the extended warranty which covers everything except brake pads and muffler. Little things like that. Covers it for 4 years or 76,000 miles. I traded in a 1990 Ford Aerostar with 133,000 miles on it, never had a problem at all with it even though they said the transmissions were notorius for going out. Always replaced the oil every 2,000 miles. If this van is anywhere near the van the Aerostar was I will have gotten my money's worth. So far excellent rating from me. The only thing I have to say negative about it so far is the gas mileage. I'm getting around 11 mpg, which I think should be a lot better.

12th Aug 2005, 02:17

Bought a 98 Windstar with approx 80,000km. at 121k the transmission had to be replaced. then again at 190k, then again at 230k. after the transmission was replaced the fuel pump failed amoung many other problems. eventually I was forced to buy another vehicle. Bought a Ford 2000 Windstar. Turned out to be a great van. Today I spent $2000 changing the transmission. When does this end?? Just finished paying it off. Not sure what to do with it now. Another problem is the interior lights... always staying on.. And the service engine light coming on so often. Maybe it's time to change company??maybe toyota??

13th Mar 2006, 13:00

We bought our 2000 Windstar new and have enjoyed it fairly well until recently. We had a complete transmission failure just recently and it's still at the dealership. I've noticed a very distinct "clunk" for sometime as the transmission shifts from 3 to 2 as you corner and accelerate out of the turn. This is the second van that we've owned (first was a Chrysler product) that has had major premature transmission failure. Dealership tells me it's going to be $3200+ to repair! With 65,000 miles, this too will be my last Ford product. Chrysler hasn't seen my business since 1992.

4th Apr 2006, 22:10

I have 2000 Ford Windstar with 95k miles that just experienced a total transmission failure (well, it still goes in reverse). Estimate is $2000+ to completely rebuild. Unfortunately, after reviewing a number of web forums, I am finding that this is common. The symptoms were just as others have described: pulling away from a stop sign, my wife hear a loud bang/clunk, and lost all forward motion.

Coupled with other problems relating to the intake manifold (leaks, runner control valve sticking, internal baffle separating), I have concluded that I have purchased my last Ford product. This van was very well maintained, and used for light-duty driving, with no trailer towing.