22nd Mar 2007, 05:15

I've been driving a 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 for the past five years, and have decided that with four children it is time to purchase my first mini-van. I chose a really pretty 2001 Ford Windstar SEL because it has all the features that I wanted and the price was right. However, the moment I drove it off the lot the check engine light was on, and it sounds like a plane about to take off between 30 and 40 miles per hour. I'm thinking it sounds like its not shifting into a high enough gear at that speed.

Everyone is telling me to return it (NJ has a lemon law that allows the buyer to return a vehicle if it has problems within the first 72 hours). I'm not sure I want to do that, but I can't afford a vehicle with transmission problems either.

21st May 2007, 12:53

We bought a 2000 Ford Windstar new and have had nothing, but problems. We had to replace the tie rods numerous times, coolant leaks, replaced the fuel pump twice in 2 years, we just noticed rust starting at the bottom of both side sliding doors and now the transmission has gone out at 70,000 miles, and this is just the major stuff. I will never buy a Ford product again. And when we took it to the dealership and questioned why all these problems and why the fuel pump keeps going bad, they dodged the question and tried to sell us a new Freestar, all in the same breadth. All I can say is our expeience with Ford has been a disastor. And this dealership has about 100 plaques on the wall voted the #1 Ford Dealership in the Chicagoland area for years and years. We are going Honda from now on.

9th Aug 2007, 11:15

Some questions:

1) Since you live in a known winter state where they salt the roads, how often do you wash and wax your car?

2) How many pot holes do you hit per day?

3) How many times have you taken your car to the dealer for the regularly scheduled service to have the engine coolant flushed, and the transmission fluid and filter changed?

4) Do you actually know how to take care of a car?

5) How will you like the failed transmission in your new Honda Odyssey?

16th Aug 2007, 22:22

I have a 2001 Windstar SE. I bought it used when it had 40k miles on it. It now has 84k miles, and I just replaced the transmission. The wheel bearings (I think) are making such a loud noise, I might as well be a trucker. The check engine light has been on since I bought it. I love the van - it's fully loaded and looks nice, but it's costing me a fortune even after I paid it off.

14th Oct 2007, 00:01

I have purchased a 2000 Ford Windstar with 130,000 miles on it; nothing is wrong with it and it was very well taken care of. Remember ALL used cars that you may buy are going to have some issues.

By the way, why did the last person get rid of it?? The doors creaked or something..

Some of you that have had issues with your transmission might just be taking it to the wrong mechanic to get it fixed. I have a mechanic who is awesome and he will not lie to you about anything... My transmission clutch control sensor went out on it, and he stated that it was supposed to be changed @ 100,000 mile mark. Anyways, some of you need to find another mechanic to work on your vehicle; someone you know, preferably, who won't screw you over.

I am having my TCC sensor fixed for 200.00 This includes parts and labor. I have had foreign cars that were very expensive to fix; a lot more than an American car, that's for sure!

7th Dec 2007, 09:15

The point here is that these Windstars are over and above other makes in terms of parts failures. I own a 2000 Ford Windstar, bought it at 26,000 miles. We drive it lightly and maintain it well. After 7 years it only has 72K miles on it. Here's an abbreviated list of what's gone wrong:

1. Transmission died at 31,000 miles ($2600)

2. Engine manifold cracked twice in eight months, no warranties longer than 6 months ($850 and $650)

3. Idling motor died ($150)

4. Tie rods and ends needed replacing ($150)

5. Engine light comes on all the time

6. Automatic sliding door doesn't close all the way... just pops back open.

7. Etc...

The thing with Ford is that they never want to take responsibility for patterns of unreliability. They don't do recalls or reimbursements unless they're sued. That probably doesn't make them much different than most companies, but the point remains that they don't stand behind their products.

15th Dec 2007, 15:52

DEC 15 2007

After reading all of these comments, all I can add; I own a 2000 Windstar SEL 3.8L it has 203850Kms. I use synthetic oil, the right filters, Michelin tires, service the tranny every 50.000, and don't be afraid to spend a few bucks on some P.M.

In Sept./07 we done a 11.000km trip and we averaged 36.8 mpg.

My average mpg is 23/25 city and 34/37 highway, and other than a new ALT./RT.inner tie rod end, it has never let me down or given us any problems.

It is a nice looking van, and we would and will buy another Ford Windstar. Maybe as one of the people in the above comments said, get someone that knows what they are doing, and if you can't find anyone take a course at a local trades college and do it yourself.

17th Dec 2007, 17:43

To 15:52

Thanks for reporting your gas mileage. You get outstanding fuel economy. Could you explain how you get there? At which speed do you cruise, brand and model of the tires, brand and octane rating of the fuel, etc. All those little details that could make a difference. Also, are you saying miles per US gallon or miles per Canadian gallon?

Honestly, your results seem to be too good to be true. I once managed to get 23.9 miles per US gallon. I think I could get your results only on a 11% grade, downhill, with a tail wind, and sails mounted.

28th Dec 2007, 21:03

Re Dec. 17/07.17:43 reply from Dec.15/07.15:52

Sorry for the delay, we were away for the holidays. Here are some answers.

I use Quaker state full synthetic fram XG3600 oil filter/fram CA7774 platinum air filter drop your oil filter every 3500 Km. and top up oil full service every 10000 Km. air filter twice a year April & Sept. Don't use after market spark plugs, use Ford Platinum as recommended by your dealer, Michelin Harmony tires on Eagle series 192 polished alloy wheels (really hard to find for our windstars) 32 psi. cold checked weekly at home and daily when on the road.

The fuel is 87 octane most of the time CTC, Petro Can/Esso.

When I'm on the highway I use cruise control when ever I can and drive at the posted speed limit 100/110 Kph. And one of the things that has helped the most for better fuel mileage/performance is Lucas upper cylinder lubricant with injector cleaner big time boost all around.

I do hope that these few little tips can help you. These are a few things that I do and my Windstar has never run so good and we have never had any problems. We just done a 2560 Km. trip from southern Alberta to northern B.C.threw three passes and -25 temps. and my mileage was about 32.7mpg; all the mileage is to the Canadian gal.

If you are having transmission problems try servicing it every 50.000 Km. and put on a 18000 lb. cooler helps big time if you keep your trany cool you should not have any problems. I now have close to 210.000 km. on my Windstar and no problems and running strong. Happy Holidays.