1990 Geo Metro lsi convertible 1.0 from North America

Summary:

Head of its time

Faults:

Rebuilt the entire top part of the engine, water pump, exhaust manifold, convertible top, seat covers, temp gage.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage, handles like a metro baby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2007

1990 Geo Metro Base 2 door hatch back 1.0 3 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

A gutsy little economy car that is endearing to me.

Faults:

Air conditioner quit working 2 years ago.

Front wheel bearings went out.

Front brake rotors needed replacing.

Timing belt broke and was replaced at 155,000 miles along with all other belts and both front engine oil seals [which had been leaking].

Rear hatch struts had to be replaced 3 years ago.

Front camshaft oil seal and crankshaft oil seal were replaced when timing belt was replaced. Was leaking oil. Not leaking anymore.

Door locks are troublesome, especially in cold weather.

Drivers window is hard to roll up and down.

Turn signal/headlight dimmer switch quit working about 5 weeks ago. Have not been able to find replacement part.

Muffler replaced twice and catylytic converter was replaced at 148,000 miles.

Interior hood release handle broke off last week.

Dashboard cover cracked in front of center heater dash vents.

Heater blower motor had to be replaced last October.

Thermostat had to be replaced last week.

General Comments:

Bought it from local bank almost 11 years ago.

Fantastic gas mileage, fun to drive, always starts!

Has original clutch at 162,000 miles!

Will hold a lot of groceries in the hatch area and when rear seat is folded down, is like a little station wagon.

Interior appointments and controls are pretty poor in quality, but for the price, not that bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2007

1990 Geo Metro 1.0 from Mexico

Summary:

Great

Faults:

The engine already was smoking.

The interiors are ugly.

2 clutches.

About 4 wheel bearings.

4 bent rims.

General Comments:

This is the best car I ever owned. I have had it for almost 7 years, when I got the car, since then I changed the oil about 3 or 4 times (no kidding).

I drive it every day, and I live in Tijuana where the streets are full with holes and bumps. I do not say the car is in perfect condition, but the car is running very well and the fuel economy is great.

The best of all... yesterday a guy looked at the car and ask me if I was selling it – of course I say NO, there is no car like my Geo. A couple of weeks more and I will change the oil again and sell it as 00000 miles :).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

1990 Geo Metro x 1.0 from North America

Summary:

If they still made them, I'd own one.

Faults:

Front bearings blew out, timing belt stripped out at 155000 miles. Clutch was replaced at 185000.

General Comments:

Fantastic car, super reliable, easy to maintain, basic, but that's what I wanted. Never had any engine problems. No A/C, great heat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

1990 Geo Metro from North America

Summary:

A whole lot of fun!

Faults:

I had a bit of trouble with the exhaust system. Don't really know why. I had to replace the catalytic converter 3 times! I also had a problem with the heater core which started leaking inside the passenger compartment ruining the carpet!

General Comments:

I really had a good time with this car! I've taken it everywhere... mountains, desert, ocean! It really responds well to all kinds of driving environments!

Fuel consumption is superb, which makes it excellent for long road trips.

A little small inside, although, the large windows give it a bigger, more spacious feel!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2006

1990 Geo Metro Base 1.0 Liter from North America

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned!!!

Faults:

Dash buttons popped out.

Rear window latches broke 30,000 miles.

Exterior mirrors broke off.

Clutch replaced 115,000 miles.

Timing belt 124,000 miles.

3 alternators replaced.

Hatch back struts worn.

General Comments:

Very inexpensive car to operate.

It has a lot of interior noise driving on a rough concrete hwy.

Never has leaked any fluids.

Electric radiator fan kicks in very rarely (usually when idling on a hot day in traffic.

Tires are lowest priced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2005

1990 Geo Metro Base 1.0 inline 3 from North America

Summary:

I would buy another new one right now if they were still manufactured

Faults:

The clutch failed at 145,000 miles.

The hatchback support lost pressure.

Will only go into second gear if shifted from first, will not downshift.

General Comments:

All maintenance performed regularly. Use 5W-30 in winter, 10W-30 in summer.

Has had front brake pads twice, timing belt twice, 1 new battery, several headlights, air filters, 3 sets of little 12" donut tires (cheap).

Poor high speed handling, but drives straight down the road at 80 mph for hours until fuel tank gets low after 400 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2005