1990 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Faults:

The top leaked badly.

The door locks would freeze.

It handled poorly in rain and snow.

The tires were a unique size and hard to find in my area.

The computer frequently registered an EGR error, even though the valve seemed to be working properly.

I replaced all 3 exhaust valves on 3 different occasions, two of them after a complete engine overhaul that incuded replacing badly worn oil control rings.

Replaced catalytic converter.

The transmission synchro's were badly worn.

General Comments:

When the car was running well it did exactly what it was supposed to do. It would get 50+ mpg in the summer. However, it was very sensitive and would break down often. I became a 1.0 Suzuki Engine expert because I had it apart so much. It was very easy to work on, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

26th Dec 2004, 15:06

Drive on over to the closest Walmart and head to the tire section. My local Walmart carries 2 12 inch all season tires, the Ulysses KH and the Ulysses ST, and one 12 inch winter tire, the Wintermark Magna Grip HT. Prices for these should be 24.99 for the KH, 29.99 for the ST and 34.99 for the Wintermark. Canadian Tire also carries one 12 inch tire, the Motomaster AW+, I believe. If you have either of these stores near you, tires should be easy and cheap to get.

4th Oct 2005, 12:52

First point - the LSI convertible is equiped with 13 inch tires/wheel, not the 12 inch variety that came on the hatchback.

Second point - the ECU code that identifies a sensor problem (O2, EGR, etc) doesn't necessarily mean that the sensor is bad. It means that the sensor OR SOMETHING IN THE CIRCUIT associated with the sensor is faulty.

4th Dec 2006, 06:25

I bought this "Lil Puppy" about 6 months ago and as it says in the Convertible instructions "The top is made to keep the elements out under most conditions.. mine leaks only a few drops where the roof frame joins. Some "Foam Tape' fixed the prob. The "13"" in tires can be bought at most BIG tire stores on sale for 4 for $100. or less. I found a set for $15.00 each... HAPPY ME..Love my GEO.I wInstalled a NEW top for $179.00 from calif.(an 8 hr job for a first timer like me. rabbit76009@y Sure would like to locate an "Orig" owners manual or copies anyway...

1990 Geo Metro LSI 1.0 TBI from North America

Summary:

FANTASTIC

Faults:

When we purchased my car, It had a blown head gasket and bad head. It was an easy fix, since we already had extra parts. The radiator had a stress crack at lower hose. Trouble's with the door locks being worn. Seats have not been taken care of and are worn. Distributor seal leaked, $1.45 fix for O ring.

General Comments:

Even though we've had to fix a few minor things, I LOVE my car!! I love driving with the top down, it's easy to put up and down when needed. It drives very comfortably and is a lot of fun. Handles GREAT, but the three cylinder engine doesn't do to well on the mountain roads at higher elevation. All in all I think it was a great purchase and plan on keeping it for a long while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2004

1990 Geo Metro XFi 1.0 from North America

Summary:

Best economic and longest lasting car I ever had

Faults:

Fuel pump went out at 200,000 miles.

Interior has diminished a great deal.

Hood flew off while on the highway. No damage other than no hood now. Engine runs cooler though!

Engine is in great shape. Body is literally falling apart.

General Comments:

Greatest car I have ever had. Hate to see it go, but I can't keep up with gluing it back together.

Used to get 60 mpg, but now is at 45 which is still great considering age and the hell I've put this car through.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

26th Jan 2005, 19:29

Ha ha, that's probably the funniest review I've read so far. Yes, I owned a Geo Metro back in the day. I got a ton of miles out of it with very little maintenance as memory serves. Great 90's party car. I too was worried about the hood blowing off, but fortunately that never happened. Put it through hell and back, and still got about $300 bucks for it when it got up to about 200K miles. Good thing that paid for the CD player I left in it. Do they even sell these anymore? Anyway, thanks for the laugh.