1992 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 3 of 15

1992 Geo Metro LSI Convertible 1.0 liter 3 cylinder from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0 liter 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance216054 miles

Summary:

A Fantastic Roadster, that is tough and reliable

Faults:

Car Smokes some at start up on cold days, and was losing power and acted like it was dying. But I added 1 ounce of 100% Acetone to the Gasoline and after about a day the Car's performance not only returned to normal,but better than when I'd first bought it. It really runs GREAT Now. I really Love this little car.

General Comments:

It was a cheap transportation decision for me, but I have been Greatly surprised by this little Go Cart. I certainly have been getting my moneys worth out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2007

1992 Geo Metro 3 Cylinder from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 Cylinder Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles

Summary:

Great Car!!

Faults:

Replaced 2 or 3 clutches.

Heat wouldn't heat fast enough.

Replaced multiple front tires due to wear.

Had a hole in the muffler.

Front ball joints were shot.

Driver's side window mechanism broke.

General Comments:

The car was definitely a very good car. It had excellent gas mileage although I owned it about three years ago now so it wasn't that big of a deal.

The three clutches that needed to be replaced were due to letting my mother-in-law borrow the car.

I owned the 5-speed manual which was best.

The car never had electrical problems. Radio antenna was definitely in a bad position though. It snapped multiple times. Although it was easy to replace.

I would love to find another in good condition with a manual transmission.

Anyone who owns or knows somebody who owns that wants to sell please comment and let me know if you reside in the U.S.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2006

13th Nov 2006, 08:43

Three words for a metro, slow, junk, deadly.

14th Nov 2006, 22:18

To the above person: Have you ever driven a Geo Metro?

15th Nov 2006, 17:58

Well I have owned several Metros and I think the 1989-1994 models are a bit too small and may be dangerous on todays roads with the size of newer cars. However the Metro from 1995-2001 are fine small cars and with the four cylinder 5-speed model the acceleration is quite good. These cars are very reliable all models are treat them good and they will treat you the same.

1992 Geo Metro 1.3L 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3L 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres

Summary:

Worst car EVER. Don't buy one. Learn from my mistake

Faults:

Timing belt went.

Head gasket went 3 days after I bought it.

Burned about a quart of oil every 3 days.

Distributor stopped working for no reason.

Rust appeared almost out of nowhere.

Brake lines blew out.

Emergency cable broke the day before safety inspection.

Transmission wouldn't shift on it's own.

Sub-frame and control arm broke, sending the wheel off into the woods.

General Comments:

This car is by far the worst thing I have ever owned in my entire life. It was in the shop at least half of the time I owned it.

It was gutless garbage.

It was amazing on fuel, but since it broke all the time I didn't really save any money there.

It gave me nothing, but trouble from the moment I bought it to the moment it went to the junk yard to get crushed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

29th Aug 2006, 23:15

Uh dude, it's a Geo Metro, of course it's the worst car ever. It seems like yours was even worse than most of them though. I had a friend with one and the transmission went every month or two. It was also noisy and would shudder if you took a corner remotely hard.

1992 Geo Metro from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Good for a new driver

Faults:

The muffler had to be replaced at 180000kms, and again at 220000kms, due to constant driving on a rough gravel road.

The driver side window does not close properly 90% of the time.

At the time of purchase, I had to replace the air filter, power steering line and brake pads.

Rust has eaten away at the body around the tires, and the antenna has broken off.

Also, the heater and air conditioning does not work all the time.

Other than that it's only needed basic wear and tear maintenance, such as brakes, oil change, tires, fuses, etc.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and predictable.

Although it's not a very fast car, it handles well and makes for easy turns.

The small size of the car makes it easy to see behind you while driving, which makes it great for a new driver.

It is nearly impossible to replace the tires on this car, because they no longer make the size that it requires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2006

3rd Aug 2007, 23:10

Wal-mart has 12 inch tires.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 64 reviews