1992 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 5 of 15

1992 Geo Metro 2-dr hatchback 1.0 3 cylinder. from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119 miles
Most recent distance424500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Durable, easily maintainable and reliable

Faults:

Replaced engine and MAP Sensor at 382,000 miles when MAP Sensor failed (Burned two valves, but bottom end of engine still good if oil seals are replaced).

Manual transmission has bad synchro in first gear and worn in second, but still driveable.

Drivers side seat cover has been replaced.

Fixed the heater fan switch.

General Comments:

Have 424,500 miles on the car and still drive it on a 184 mile round trip commute each day. Still got 47 mpg at 65 mph cruise speed on last tank, with about 5% in city miles included.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 22:30

424000 miles has got to be some sort of record for a Geo Metro.

22nd Jan 2006, 20:25

I personally have 5 Geo Metros at this time. My other rig is a 4 wheel drive Suburban which has a 42 gallon gas tank. I find the Metros to be mechanically well built and with proper care to be well able to go several hundred thousand miles. A little "TLC" is usually all they need to remain dependable.

1992 Geo Metro LSI 1.0 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

Reliable fast cute

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I really love this car. I think it is one of the few with air conditioning. For a 3 cylinder it is very fast. It does not like to go up hills. It's overdrive up hills is turning the air off. It is a really fun car to drive. I just love drifting around the corners. I bought this car new and still have it today. We use it for fuel economey because it gets almose 50 mpg. Then only thing we have ever had to replace was the brakes. That was only one time to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2005

1992 Geo Metro LSI 1.0 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Very good, basic transportation

Faults:

No major problems with the vehicle.

General Comments:

For the money, a very good car. Not very comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

1992 Geo Metro 1.0 3 cly from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cly Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carGeo Sprint

Summary:

For the money, you can't beat em!

Faults:

The alternator is dinky. I've had to replace it 3 times.

The door windows would not stay in the frames. I had a lot of problems with them.

General Comments:

I have owned previously a 1986 Sprint and because of it's performance, (almost a million miles) I bought a 92 Geo which I still own.

These are fantastic cars overall with good performance and high mileage.

I am thinking of buying a newer model. Probably a 2000 or so.

You can't go wrong with these cars if you don't expect lots of luxury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2005

1992 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Excellent Car for the Money

Faults:

I purchased the car for $550, I had to replace the water pump ($79) and the timing belt ($250).

General Comments:

I love this car!!!. I'm 6'2" #235 and the car is very comfortable. The bucket seats have great lumbar support. I commute 100 miles a day in it. The gas mileage is amazing between 40 and 50 miles per gallon. I treat the car well. I never go over 75mph and it treats me well. I can however take it to 90mph if I need to. I change the oil every 5000 miles as per the manual. The only thing I don't like is the wind noise, so I crank up the stereo. I also love that it is a hutchback. I have nicknamed it the truck. It can haul everything, including several pieces of furniture, a 32 inch TV still in the box, a large lawn mower. This is my little work horse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

13th Jun 2005, 23:54

Yeah, they are great little cars. I own three of them. The cost to replace the timing belt seems a little excessive. In fact, the belt must be removed to access the water pump (which cost you considerably less)? It takes me about 30 to 40 minutes to change a timing belt, even with the air conditioning option. Just wondering if the same mechanic did both procedures. Enjoy your Metro, and take good care of it. you will be rewarded with low operating costs.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 64 reviews