1993 Geo Metro Reviews

1993 Geo Metro XFi from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance273000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

One of the greatest cars ever produced

Faults:

Muffler broke at 169,000 miles (long time for a muffler to last).

Passenger door doesn't open from the outside (broke in 2006).

Antenna broke off many times (I don't use the radio).

Transmission rattles a bit.

General Comments:

I bought it brand new off the lot in 1994 in San Diego, and have never had one regret. It has over 250,000 miles, but still runs fairly well.

The white paint has held up amazingly well in the 17 years I've owned it. It is very well built, and causes me little to no issues.

It is very very cheap to maintain. Last time I checked, I get 55mpg (I modified the engine a little). Tires are inexpensive and last forever.

Lack of A/C kind of bothers me, but I live in California so the weather is good anyway.

Transmission is starting to give out, but what transmission wouldn't after 250,000 miles.

Overall, I would and will buy another Metro when my Geo's day comes. Greatest car ever, next to my Trailblazer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2011

29th Jan 2011, 17:31

I really miss my 98 Chevrolet (Geo) Metro LSI Hatchback. It lasted to 200, 000 km. I had a lot of fun driving it. These cars were very solid and reliable, because GM partnered with Suzuki to produce them. It's a shame they stopped production in 2001. They made a big mistake when they based their next subcompact on a Daewoo.

1993 Geo Metro LSI Convertible 1.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63500 miles
Most recent distance82200 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

I absolutely love my Geo Metro Convertible

Faults:

Car idled rough; put a new head on it, and a new top. 4 new struts.

New paint job last year. New decals, new factory hubcaps.

Interior is mint. New tires, new exhaust. Timing belt, water pump.

New clutch 2 weeks ago. A/C had to be repaired to the tune of 1300 dollars.

I love this car; it runs great. Excellent gas mileage.

I did get 49.6 MPG last summer. This year I'm averaging 44 MPG.

Never any rust. The car is red. It gets a lot of attention.

Sweet car that's stored for the winter.

General Comments:

I would buy another one; actually this is my 2nd convertible. I had owned this exact car many years ago.

This is not a race car by any means, but it is a very reliable and capable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2010

18th May 2011, 12:31

I have a 1993 GEO convertible which cost me $1800.00 in 2009.

From a bad diagnosis, I put in a fresh engine, now it runs great. It is red and has 13" mag wheels and looks great.

It has an automatic transmission with air. I love it to pieces.

Mario.

1993 Geo Metro Hatch 1.3 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

My guilty pleasure

Faults:

Dies at stop lights if not in Neutral.

General Comments:

I love my Geo Metro. Metro's are probably the most underestimated cars ever. I get gas mileage that make my friend's jealous. Will go anywhere in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2009

1993 Geo Metro Basic 1.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

The best on gas. Bad on comfort

Faults:

It would be easier literally to write what works.

The radio is broken.

Turn signals don't work.

There's a short somewhere in the car (for 3 years).

The window became unhinged, so it rolls difficult, if at all.

Several sets of brakes, tires.

Typical repairs like the timing belt at 100k, water pump at 150k, front suspension at 130k, exhaust system every 40k.

Lots of rust, and on and on.

General Comments:

I drove this car till death (just rolled it at 170k miles). I loved the car and still miss it.

It got 48mpg on average and was so easy/cheap to maintain if you do it yourself.

It isn't comfortable and had pieces falling off of it, but let's face it - you drive it for the mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2009

1993 Geo Metro 5 door wagon 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Better than a HYBRID on gas for $450. Not $32000

Faults:

The car is very small, and in the event of an accident, this car would lose the battle between most other vehicles.

The car came with few extras; no power anything, no tach, not even a trip odometer. The seat belts are incorporated into the door, which I do not like because I am large (6'3" and 300 lbs) and like to rest my arm out the window, with the seat back, and my arm goes right where the belt is hooked. It would be no problem for most people.

I have had no mechanical problems, however these cars (I have owned 5 others; 4 were convertibles) have rust problems under the doors.

Another problem is you have to drive them forever to use enough gas to check your mileage. I used what was left in my mower gas can and drove for two weeks. The seats are comfortable, but everything is plain (no frills).

General Comments:

The automatic version (I have it now) does not have the pep of the 5 speed, but it is nice not to have to shift. My mileage with the automatic is about 40-45 in town and out, and 50 if I am just on the highway at 65-70 MPH. I can save over $100 per week in gas costs over my GMC Jimmy.

I can haul a ton of stuff in this car, as the seats fold down and I have the station wagon looking model.

The car has plenty of headroom for my 6'3" body and 300 pounds. Seat are comfortable, but you feel all the bumps on the 12" tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2008

6th Jun 2008, 23:33

Great review. Like the tidbit about the lawn mower gas.

If you ever need to find another Metro, check out this site:

http://buygeometro.com

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews