1993 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 15 of 15

1993 Geo Metro LSI Convertible 1.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

A slow, excellent fuel economy convertible

Faults:

The A/C doesn't work.

General Comments:

You wouldn't believe it but I only paid $500 for the car! The guy didn't know what it was worth.

It needed a new top for $270 and a new windshield for $170, and some good old buffing. The paint was looking pretty shot, until I took a buffer to it.

What a difference!

The car has a serious lack of power though! Another 20hp would do nicely.

Anyway the blue book value of this car is something like $3500!!! I want to sell it to make a profit but it looks too cute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2000

11th Apr 2005, 13:20

Another thing about the value of that car: the Metro convertible was only made for 3 years, from 91-93, and seeing as how they are 'cute,' they will continue to rise in value as they become more rare and more collectible.

7th Jun 2005, 12:59

I too am the contented owner of a Chevy Sprint (Canadian) convertible. 80 000 kill-o-meters, changed the front wheel bearings and...that's it. It does seem to go faster with the top down. The seats are not very comfortable though. Pray tell, how hard is it to install a new top?

1993 Geo Metro Convertible 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired260 miles
Most recent distance189662 miles

Summary:

Long lasting friend

Faults:

I've not had any real problems with the car besides the usual things brakes, battery, spark plugs. Just simple things like that.

General Comments:

I have kept this car as well as you can, everything in the owners manual has been done when it was supposed to be done and on time, it's never missed an oil change or transmission service.

I was please to see that it held up better than my neighbor's Honda Civic, he said that my Geo wouldn't last 50,000 miles when I got it and it has outdone his Civic. I'm about to replace the convertible top this winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2000

1993 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Engine is very reliable, great gas mileage

Faults:

A/C.

Driver's side window.

General Comments:

Excellent car, my first Geo Metro was bought in 1989. I had the car for 6 years, with a total of 245,000 miles on it when I sold it, it was still running great, and not using any oil, My second Geo Metro was purchased in 1995 and I still own the car, it has 213,000 miles on it, and I plan to get at least 300,000 miles on this one. The little 3 cylinder engine is tough as nails, I wish other cars were built this well. My car gets 47 to 53 miles per gallon, I love the car, I am planning on getting one for my son, for his college car.

Good job Chevrolet, keep up the good work and don't ever stop making those Metros.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2000

10th Feb 2004, 10:12

My Geo Metro is perfect car, very economic ann very nice.

Antonio (COLOMBIA)

20th Jan 2005, 20:52

I'm glad to hear how many miles you have gotten out of your Geo. Mine is approaching 170,000 and I was wondering how much longer it will last for me. My engine has been good, I have only had to get small things worked on.

5th Oct 2005, 21:57

Actually, the Metro is a rebadged Suzuki Swift, not a real Chevy.

24th Oct 2006, 01:41

I think that Geo Metros are SWEET. They aren't fancy, or real nice inside, but they do get the job done. I Have never owned one, but would not mind doing so. I actually want two of them, one to drive, and one to modify. I want two 1.0 Liter 3-Cylinder Metros. I have driven my friend's metro off-road recently, and it goes everywhere that a four wheel drive goes. I plan to put 31 inch tires on it, and create a custom lift kit for it. The stock one I want an air intake, and performance exhaust, to boost power, and fuel economy. The off road one I would like to find for around $200. My driver I would spend up to $800.

1993 Geo Metro Convertible 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

An economy sports car!

Faults:

The rear bearing went out.

General Comments:

This is a blast to drive. It's only my extra car but I love the little thing. I've never had a car that was so much fun, the convertible is EASY to lower and to put back up. The car has plenty of pep considering the car is so light. The Geo sound system is pretty good also. Even though the car is several years old now it still gets plenty of attention on the road, another thing I love about it!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2000

29th Aug 2001, 19:29

"...Sports Car" Ha!!! Please, don't let me die of laughter!

1st Dec 2001, 04:37

I totally agree. I have a '91 with new top, new paint (metallic raspberry), new engine, and people never stop commenting on my "cute" car. The other day some guy came up and asked me if I would sell it to him! I live in Hawaii, which means everyday's convertible weather. Great beach car, and so economical. Mine's a stick, so it gets about 50 mpg. Wouldn't trade it for anything.

Jack Martire, Honolulu.

7th Jun 2003, 08:49

I just bought a '93 Metro convertible 2 months ago. I pray for sun everyday just so I can drive it. I absolutely love it. The top is so easy to get up and down. I get lots of positive comments. Of course, its great on gas. True, it doesn't have lots of power, but my whole objective is to enjoy driving it. I just entered it in a Memorial Day parade and many people clapped, hollered and waved at me - they love my car as much as I do. You don't see many of these little gems around. I wouldn't give it up now even if I could double my money.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews