1993 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 13 of 15

1993 Geo Metro 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60600 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

There's nothing better for fuel economy and reliability

Faults:

Nothing but expected maintenance.

New exhaust at 140,000 kilometres.

Timing belt at 150,000 kilometres.

New brakes last month.

I replaced the alternator last year.

Very few problems for 6 years of ownership.

General Comments:

Teamed with a manual transmission, it's amazing how quick the little car is, considering the size of the engine. It accelerates quickly enough due to the light weight and can cruise comfortably at 140 km per hour. Though it really strains on steep hills.

Though mostly considered a city car I have taken it on many road trips including a drive from Vancouver to Montreal & back, and it handled beautifully.

It has always been reliable, I changed the oil every 5,000 km and still get 6 litres per 100km. (sorry don't know it in mpg)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2001

23rd Aug 2005, 11:35

6 liters per 100Km works out to be about 39 MPG.

1993 Geo Metro 1.0 liter 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 liter 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles

Summary:

Excellent on gas and a very reliable car!

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with my little convertible, only the muffler system needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

The handling is excellent, plus the gas mileage is excellent. The automatic is geared perfect for going up hills. I have taken it off-road many times and it can climb hills beautifully.

I love it and definitely recommend it for anybody to buy. This is my first car and I would definitely purchase another in the near future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

1993 Geo Metro from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84652 miles
Most recent distance101846 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A small performance bargain

Faults:

Replaced front & rear brakes at 100,000 miles.

Replaced two bent rims (driver's fault).

Driver's door handle broke at 97,000 miles.

Windshield length crack from a rock on interstate 95 in 1999.

Replaced the clutch at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

For such a small engine the car will pull 95-100 MPH on the highway easily.

Acceleration off the line is amazing.

Very easy to work on and replacement parts are very cheap.

Cabin capacity for awkward cargo is great (i.e. 2-3 6'6" surfboards).

Very reliable. Has never broken down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

11th Jul 2002, 12:10

I have a similar car and there is no way you are getting 90-100 mpg! 48-55 maybe!

21st Jul 2004, 18:21

The second comment is funny, and the first comment is just stupid.

14th Dec 2004, 17:03

I drove my 1993 Metro from Seattle to Minnesota 3X and sustained 75-85 the whole way there. I did however, destroy the engine! Good car.

1993 Geo Metro Base 1.0 3-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 3-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Small but good

Faults:

Alternator failed at 100,000 miles.

Driver's window sticks.

Struts need replacing.

Rear wheel bearing needs replacing.

General Comments:

This car feels fast (but isn't!), and has the best gas mileage you'll find. It'll also run poorly for an incredibly long time if you don't feel like or aren't able to put money into it (my wheel bearings have grumbled for over a year!)

The downside is that some parts are more expensive than you'd expect; many are unique to this model since it's so small. I paid $90 to have the alternator rebuilt and lost the use of the car while it was being done; the shop couldn't exchange it since so few other cars use such a small one.

Still, it's one of the cheapest cars on the road. If you're buying used, take time to make sure you're getting a good one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

1993 Geo Metro 2-door hatchback 1.0 liter 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 liter 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85600 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

Built weakly and not very durable

Faults:

Engine had to be replaced.

Muffler had to be replaced.

Needed new front brakes.

Needed a tune-up.

Door locks do not work.

A/C is broken.

Windshield is cracked.

Rim's bent and needed replaced.

General Comments:

This car turned out to be a piece of junk. The engine died at only 91,000 miles and needed to be replaced. The good thing is that it was only $1200 to get a rebuilt engine put in and the parts for the Metro are very inexpensive. In addition, it gets great gas mileage. This is offset, however, by the cost of constantly having to replace everything because the car is so flimsy and weakly built and by the inconvenience of having to repair it constantly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

10th Jul 2001, 16:18

I drive a 95 Geo Metro 2-door hatchback daily in my work. I started to drive it as a company car when it was 2 years old. After one year, the lease was done and I bought it out for my-self. I drive about 5000 km./month (one oil change every month). I don't think this car is flimsy or poorly built, it's up to 276000 km, and yes some parts have been replaced. 2 exhaust system, 1 alternator, 1 battery, 1 Waterpump, 2 timing belts, 3 fan belts, brakes all-around about once a year (+ sparkplugs etc). BUT this is not unrealistic when you drive this much, and of course I do all my repairs my self.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews