1993 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1993 Geo Metro sedan 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance379000 kilometres
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

A great investment for the working poor

Faults:

Transmission 300,000km.

Clutch 300,000km.

Front wheel bearings 300,000km.

Radiator 350,000km.

A clunk in the rear end 250,000km still have not tracked the clunk down.

Seats worn badly front and back seat.

Head rest all the stuffing falling out.

Carpet on the drivers side worn out right to the metal.

Front door handles snapped off.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable and really has not cost a lot to maintain Mind you it all fell apart at the same time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

1993 Geo Metro 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles

Summary:

I'd buy it again

Faults:

Driver side window is sticky, knob handle for this window fell off (re-glued).

Seat belts loose, like to get slammed in the doors.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and I have no regrets! I have owned it almost 10 years, and it hasn't had any major mechanical dysfunction at all--just routine stuff like a new battery, new tires, oil changes, new wiper blades.

Great gas mileage, easy to park, handles well.

You can fit an 8 foot board in this car and close the hatchback. It's a great car for artists, students, and I like being able to find a parking spot almost anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

1993 Geo Metro 0.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Lawn mower with a top

Faults:

Lost pressure in one of the cylinders (note: car has only 3)

Burned oil like crazy.

Inside door handle broken.

Bad gas mileage for the size of car.

General Comments:

A red lemon. The car seems to be glued together with spit. The engine is shaky and completely unreliable. I don't know how many times I had to have the car towed.

Automatic transmission could not stay idle in D. Every time I had to stop at a traffic light, I had to put in neutral, or the car would die.

Interior is surprisingly roomy for the driver and front passenger. The interior and body did not seem to deteriorate at the same fast speed as the engine did.

Car just acts like a big toy. Very poor quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

21st Jul 2005, 07:07

If bought used, someone got rid of it for a reason. I've rebuilt two Metro 3 cylinders, they were easy to rebuild and cheap too, $330.00 for the kit from NAPA. The most time consuming part was cleaning up other peoples neglect, like spilled oil etc. Both cars run like sewing machines now with 36 ~ 42 mpg depending on how far you put your foot into the throttle plate.

1993 Geo Metro XFI 1.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A steadfast gas-saver

Faults:

I had the engine valves repaired at 75,000 miles.

I needed new tires at 87,000 miles.

The hydraulic lifts for the hatchback went out during cold weather at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Although my Metro is almost 10 years old, it still averages 42 MPG.

This car is ideal for commuters and anyone that needs to parallel park often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

1993 Geo Metro LSi ? from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission ? Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carGeo dodge caravan

Summary:

Great little runabout for town driving

Faults:

The convertible plastic back window split at about 50,000 miles.

I have put 3 mufflers on this car and 1 full exhaust system on it since I bought it. Now I need another muffler.

The car shakes a lot. I don't know why. Even when I am stopped at a red light. The vibration is very noticeable, especially in the steering wheel.

General Comments:

I love the gas mileage. No other car can compare. My friends are very envious!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2002

1993 Geo Metro 2 door hatchback 1.0L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0L gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles

Summary:

The most bang for your buck!

Faults:

Driver side window has come off its track.

Driver side door handle broke (due to ignorance of the door lock by a friend).

Lifts for the hatchback went out at about 85000 miles.

Right brake light went out.

Left reverse light went out.

Water pump went out at about 78000 miles.

Battery went out at about 80000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the greatest car that I have ever owned. It still gets 38MPG on average.

The suspension is sturdy and quick. The car handles great and corners like a dream.

It is quick off the line for a 3 cylinder and is very capable of maintaining 85-100 MPH on the highway (as long as there is no front wind).

It has a roomy interior and is capable of seating 5 moderately sized people in comfort. The folding rear seat is great for toting abnormally shaped luggage (such as snow-boards, and bicycles).

The little 3 cylinder is the most reliable engine that I have ever seen. I have never had a problem with it starting. Only now, at about 154000 miles, is it starting to show its age. It is starting to lose power and is incapable of running the A/C while parked without stalling the engine.

The seating has a very sporty feel. It has the driver sitting low to the ground in a bucket seat. The seat gives great lower-lumbar and great overall support when making sharp turns or quick maneuvers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

19th Jan 2003, 10:24

What a great review. I had to laugh at your top two things that went wrong with the car. Window slides off track, and my friend broke my door handle. I got 120,000 miles on my first engine, and 180,000 on the second engine. I am now going to throw another used engine in the car because other than those few things, the Geo metro has had no other problems. This car takes abuse and just keeps on going. everyone laughs at it at work, but they are dropping thousands of dollars into fixing up their, " better" cars, while I have money to go everywhere and buy a great house. Up until the other day, I still got 40 mpg. If I can get this thing up to 400,000, I will be very happy.

Jeremy.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews