1993 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 3 of 15

1993 Geo Metro XFI 1.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Stop reading and buy one, or two, today

Faults:

I replaced the brakes at 95,000 miles. No other issues.

General Comments:

I have rust on the front of the hood. I presume a small rock hit it and the rust grew from there. Great car. Consistent 45 miles per gallon. At 55-60 mph for long distance I will get 50+ mpg. I only paid $1,500 for the car.

I managed a fleet of these cars for NYC deliveries. They all hit over 200,000+ miles. Even with company drivers beating the heck out of them, plus NYC bad roads, the Geo Metro XFI held up extremely well.

I don't know why they stopped making them.

Contact me anytime. davidholt112@gmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2007

1993 Geo Metro convertible 1.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Summary:

A fun car that's become quite rare today!

Faults:

My A/C has a leak in the system. I will try to recharge with Freon. It doesn't require much R12 to work. The car was well maintained and spent its entire pre-ownership history in the S. California/desert area.

General Comments:

My car runs best on the 91 octane. It can be noisy, but great with the top down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

1993 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98500 miles
Most recent distance101900 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

This car is fuel efficient and reliable

Faults:

Front brake pads just replaced along with two front studs.

Replaced muffler.

Window regulators shot.

Need new hood.

General Comments:

I bought this car for $500.00 and drove it for about eight months with only changing the oil.

Love the MPGs, mid thirties driving hard in town,40 if I go easier or on the highway. But not too fast.

Parking is a breeze and the 5 speed seems tight and quick. Leave most people at lights.

Wish it had a tach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2007

27th Feb 2007, 20:22

If you can find one in a junk yard look for an LSI model with the tach and they swap out easily.

1993 Geo Metro LSi Convertable 1.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

GREAT for running back and forth anywhere!

Faults:

Needs new top because stitching between window and fabric is starting to wear out.

General Comments:

The family refers to the Metro as the "Little ----Box" but everybody loves this thing. It is so small you can fit it into ANY parking spot you may find.

The little tiger is simply stingy with gas usage averaging a bit over 43 MPG. What can you say bad about that??

For how small the motor is and how great the mileage is, the thing actually can keep up with traffic both in town and on the freeway. You will never win a race against anything, but it still is a bit peppy given the limitations of the drive-train.

So far it has been a dream to own and other than a very odd-ball OEM tire size, there are no complaints. Now that gas prices are inching over $3.00 a gallon again, I am simply excited to be driving this little thing.

I am 6'2" tall and weigh about 225 pounds and there is zero issues with headroom or leg-room. Amazing for how small it looks from the outside. I think it has more space for the driver and passenger than my Mercury Cougar had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2006

25th Dec 2008, 10:32

I have a 1991 4 door hatchback LSI, and I love it, but I'm about to buy a 93 convertible, so this was really helpful.

1993 Geo Metro 1.0L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0L Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance124900 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

60+ mpg highway, but a high maintenance vehicle

Faults:

The exhaust on the car easily rots out. It currently needs to be replaced.

These cars are rust buckets. I have, and continue to battle the rust with a dremel and automotive primer + paint; but it is a loosing battle.

The brakes on Geo's are scary. They are OK once you put new ones on, but if you do a lot of city driving, say bye-bye to the old one and hello to new brakes again; in about 20,000 kms.

I live in Toronto, Canada, so it gets cold in the winter sometimes. This car takes a long-long time to warm up. I'll be driving about 10 minutes, and the car still hasn't reached operating temperature. The heating inside also take a while to get warm too.

General Comments:

I bought this car strictly for one reason: to save on gas. Boy oh boy, does it ever do that. On the highway, I will get 60 + mpg, and 50+ mpg in the city. I commute to work and this thing saves me sooo much money. 110km a day, for 5 days a week is $25 CAD at the pump/week. Not too bad. You would only get better mpg if you went to a hybrid; but even then you would only get a marginally higher mpg.

Another thing that is great about this car is the insurance. I pay $70 CAD a month for insurance. Really good.

I've no major problems with this car: since purchasing back in Feb. 2005. But some problems are starting to arise; the exhaust, brakes, + and an engine hesitation problem.

The car shifts nicely (manual) and it handles quite well. Awesome to park, will fit in the smallest of parking spots. It also has a very tight turning radius.

The interior is alright, nothing really special about it. The rear seat folds down, and allow me to carry my hockey equipment to the rink with ease; and I'm a goalie so I have a bigger hockey bag.

Very reliable car, starts up every time. I think as long as you maintain the oil changes regularly, the engine could go for a long time.

My only complaint is the rust on these cars. They were built to last about 5-6 years and after that, they fall apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

29th Mar 2006, 15:14

Well its most likely were you live you see because I have 3 Metros 89, 97, and a 01 and not one of them have a spec of rust, not had any issues with brakes or exhaust either.

27th Apr 2006, 19:23

I have a 1993 with 60,000 miles. I also have rust on mine, but you could try to undercoat the bottom of the car. Also keep the car waxed and hose off any road salt ASAP. Someone also told me he mixes four quarts of used motor oil with one quart of kerosene. He puts the mix in a garden type sprayer and sprays the entire bottom of the car twice a year. I never tried it, but the bottom of his car is like new!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 53 reviews