1994 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 7 of 15

1994 Geo Metro 1 Liter from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1 Liter Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Great little economy car!!

General Comments:

Great little fuel sipping vehicle that is very reliable and fun to drive.

My other rig is a four wheel drive Suburban with a 42 gallon gas tank. I wanted a daily driver that I could afford to use.

With the high cost of gas this car makes me feel free!!

I looked for just about a year to find a "cream puff" Metro and this 1994 is it!! Never thought I'd be so happy about an 11 year old car.

If I could buy a new one I would without hesitation!! The Chev Aveo doesn't even come close in the MPG ratings.

Hope to keep it running for many years!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2005

1994 Geo Metro Base 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

Great little sewing machine!

Faults:

The valve cover gasket leaked when I got it.

General Comments:

This is a great little car. It runs like a sewing machine and it's unstoppable!

The interior is quite roomy, and I have no trouble getting in or out.

The engine is a little underpowered, but it's quite peppy for a 3 cylinder!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

1994 Geo Metro 1.0 Liter from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap car, cheap feel

Faults:

Transmission failure at 63,000 (out of warranty).

Cannot rollup drivers window due to defective rubber seals.

Fault in ignition switch (below -10 celcius the start contacts will not close so I can't start the car).

Limited selection in tires for these metric rims.

Door switches not working due to rust (bad ground).

A lot of road noise.

Rear wheel bearing replaced multiple times.

Maintenance items replaced so far:

Alternator, radiator, timing belt, front calipers, read brake cylinders, exhaust front to back (a few times).

I'm getting rid of the car now because of excessive rust, rapid oil consumption, oxygen sensor failure, crank timing failure and the road noise is so bad I have to wear ear plugs.

I was expecting more life from this little car, but I guess at 100,000 miles you just throw it away and get another one.

General Comments:

The fuel economy has been great.

It is a excellent city car.

It fits into any parking space even the ones with a lamp post.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

1994 Geo Metro from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance131016 miles

Summary:

Hamster powered tin can on wheels

Faults:

The fan belt needed to be replaced and then tightened twice after replacement.

Both driver and passenger side windows don't roll up smoothly. They need to be pulled up while turning the handle.

Left speaker blew out.

No A/C!

Heater doesn't work on low.

Not much leg/head/rear seat room. Definitely a one to two person car.

General Comments:

This little Geo is my first car. I absolutely love it! It's like driving in a tuna fish can, but it's so inexpensive, both on gas and maintenance. I haven't had any big serious problems (knock on wood), except it being totaled once and having to replace the hatchback and tail light cover because of it. Other than that, it seems like as long as you keep up on oil changes and all that important stuff this little car won't stop.

Of course, it's another matter to get it going at a reasonable speed since it's apparently powered by hamsters and not an engine, but otherwise it's a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2004

18th Dec 2004, 09:34

Thanks for making me laugh! My husband and I own a 1992 Geo Metro and it is indeed powered by hamsters. :) Great car.

28th Feb 2005, 18:01

I don't know I think it goes OK for what it is the little 3 cylinder sewing machine :)

14th Jan 2006, 22:28

You know there has been a car powered only by hamsters. It was the winner of the Annual Toyota Ideas Olympics in Japan in 2001. Hamsters were used to generate electricity that powered the car.

1994 Geo Metro from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

I love this car I will drive it until it dies

Faults:

I hit the 50K mark since I bought this car in January; we are now September as you can see I drive this little thing... A lot, what has gone wrong with it nothing, except the original muffler rusted out, literally just the muffler, the rest of the exhaust system is fine. Replaced the muffler myself for a grand total of 60$

General Comments:

The only downside of this car is the front seats are not very comfortable on long rides. Which is a small sacrifice, when I look at my insurance, and gas bills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 12:01

Add some Cushions & or some cushioning to your seats.

12th Oct 2004, 14:30

I have 120K miles on my 1994 Geo Metro. I have only replaced the alternator and the muffler. Although it only has 3 cylinders, the car scoots like a champ because it is so light. I have learned to accept the slight crampness and tire noise. I had done extensive research (in terms of price, reliability, gas mileage), which led me to purchase the Geo. It is the best car I ever bought, including my VW Beetle and my Nissan, which were very good too. But the Geo is best.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 54 reviews