1994 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 9 of 15

1994 Geo Metro 2dr hatchback 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Reliable little commuter

Faults:

Brake rotors went at 35000kms, map sensor at 200,000kms, brake calipers at 260,000.

General Comments:

Excellent all round car for city or highway in any weather at -55 degrees would have a bit of a hard time, but otherwise very good car even in snow, braking distance is a bit long so you have to be careful not to follow to close, but very reliable and fuel efficient, put 300000kms with almost no problems, the best $9000. I ever spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

1994 Geo Metro 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles

Summary:

It's an OK car for a young first driver

Faults:

Timing belt went at 139000 miles.

Fuel leakage due to hit and run accident.

Back seat creaks when going over a rough road.

Speakers replaced.

Muffler and exhaust pipe.

General Comments:

I received this car as a gift from my uncle, it was his car previously. It came from being in the snow and sleet to the humid and dry weather. The pipes underneath had to be replaced because they were rusted and corrosive from the salt that is placed on roads during the winter. I have used this car as a means to get to school and work, and it gets really good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2004

1994 Geo Metro Coupe 1.3 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Effecient town car

Faults:

Driver's side door glass jammed and was not able to raise or lower it. When I removed the door panel I found the screw head that holds the front guide channel had worked it's way through the metal and was not holding. I added a flat washer and a star lock washer, tightened it and the problem was solved.

General Comments:

The car is economical, but in general quite spartan. For the money, it is good transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2004

1994 Geo Metro 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A very good cheap and reliable car.

Faults:

I have a problem getting it to start to sometimes.

It always does, but you have to push the gas pedal three times and then hold it to the floor.

The speakers that came in the car are horrible. All four of them were busted.

Nobody knows how to read the dipstick.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable, and very good on gas.

The car makes a lot of noise when going at higher speeds.

There is no pick up and go, but that is to be expected.

The car is not very comfortable, or at least not if you are tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

1994 Geo Metro 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

The most economical car you can drive in the U.S.A

Faults:

The heater fan motor switch.

The throttle position indicator.

Many alternator / water pump fan belts?

Exhaust gas recirculation valve.

The hatch door no longer stays up.

The drivers door inside open handle.

Air conditioner leaks.

General Comments:

It is not real comfortable on long drives, but I get 50 miles per gallon which makes up for a lot of things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

29th Mar 2004, 18:09

I have a 3 cylinder 1994 Geo and I have a problem with the "check engine" light. It comes on periodically and then goes out. I purchased this car a few years ago and I did not receive any care manuals. Any idea what the problem is?

runnert@xcelco.on.ca

1994 Geo Metro 1.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Suzuki out did americans on economy again

Faults:

Well I've wanted one of these little cars for four years and found a mint body with a bad motor. It will be rebuilt and live.

General Comments:

I drove a 1995 as a delivery vehicle for Car Quest for four years. I drove the crap out of it through town. Exceptional gas mileage and dependability. Hardly any problems for a three cylinder motor. It likes valvoline oil best. Not the most comfortable for long trips, but you forget all about that when you don't have to gas up and use the restroom at a nasty truck stop in the middle of no where.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

1994 Geo Metro 1.0L 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired103145 miles
Most recent distance105002 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

An SUV (small underpowered vehicle)

Faults:

Nothing yet, but the stereo system is terrible and the suspension rattles like crazy.

General Comments:

This car can be summed up in one word: underpowered. God help you if you're dumb enough to buy a Metro with automatic. A 55 horsepower 3 cylinder engine is bad enough with manual. The vehicle also makes loud unpleasant noises (must be the oil lol)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 54 reviews