1997 Geo Metro LSI 3 door 1.3L from North America


A cool, but funny looking car


The car was used, so most of these things were wrong already when I got it.

The fan switch was broken.

A/C doesn't work anymore after it smoked.

The red paint had a few dings in it. The cigarette lighter didn't work.

A pin was missing on the back brakes.

General Comments:

The Metro is awesome on gas, and I've had no problems at all with it since all the little things were fixed.

It does have a lot more speed than I first thought it had. I read about people hating the lack of power steering, but I love it, I can actually feel the road.

It is great for me, it's no VW Jetta VR6, but for now it's doing its job, no complaints from me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

1997 Geo Metro LXi Sedan 1.3 liter from North America


An inexpensive well handling car


The only thing that has messed up on the Metro is I had to replace the back speakers that I blew out. It's been a very reliable car.

General Comments:

The Metro really handles well.

It goes through traffic with ease.

I can go 300 miles on a tank of gas and it only costs about fifteen bucks to fill it up.

Great car for beginners.

My girlfriend thinks that it is cute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

18th Jul 2001, 15:14

My back speakers blew too. Otherwise my 1997 5 speed 1.0 liter Metro is flawless.

Anybody know how to turn this thing into a rice rocket? I live in Vienna VA.

1997 Geo Metro LSi 4 cylinder from North America


One mark above public transportation


The automatic transmission wouldn't engage reverse when cold from day one. "Drive" clicks in right away when cold, by the way.

Dealer chuckles and says, "newness". My solution is to let it run for a minute and then try it. Still does it, and to my surprise the transmission still works after 40,000 miles.

Purchased the car in the winter so we couldn't tell the air conditioning wasn't very cold. It didn't work when summer came. The dealer laughed at me, said they found nothing wrong with it, so I had it fixed elsewhere. Works now!

The Goodyear Viva tires it came with had very poor wet traction and literally fell apart after 20,000 miles (bulges all over them). Goodyear warranty costs more to replace the tires than to just buy them at Discount Tire.

General Comments:

The car can't be driven in windy, wet or snowy weather, keep it in the city.

Acceleration is for the patient, don't follow anyone to the restaurant, you'll be left behind.

Chevrolet dealers are the worst part of the deal. They absolutely will not fix anything. They say they can't find the problem, yet an independent garage can find and fix the thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

30th Oct 2005, 09:18

It's not fair to criticise all Chevy Dealers because you had a bad one. You should have forced the issues from the start and they would have had to repair them.

Eventually that transmission will not work in reverse, but you let it go too long and will probably have to pay for a rebuild.

1997 Geo Metro LSI Coupe 1.3 from North America


Tough little car, built to last.. if taken care of..



General Comments:

I take care of this car and don't drive the life outta it, I believe this car will last many many years to come. Tough little cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

1997 Geo Metro LSi 1.3 from North America


120,000 miles trouble free, Get to Know Geo!


The one and only problem I've had with this car is the rear window defrost quit working and Geo quickly fixed it under warranty.

General Comments:

The Metro is a blast to drive, I've been all over the country in this car, it's never let me down. I've kept all the maintenance up on the car 100%. I've been to the Rocky Mountains with no trouble at all. My mechanic says that I should get another 100,000 from the engine as long as I keep up the maintenance.

I love the stereo, it's the original with CD/cassette and it still sounds great.

The A/C will freeze you. I would never part with (Ginger) that's her name... (LOL)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

22nd Feb 2001, 13:43

What is your average gas mileage?

24th Jun 2001, 08:41

My 97 Geo Metro hatchback has no power anything, but the 3 cyl, 1.0 liter, 5 speed is perfect for me. The latest gas mileage calculation reports 44.3 miles per gallon, that's much better than My 91 Nissan 4x4 or My 92 Suburu Loyale.