30th Apr 2006, 09:23

Just forget abou this "lemon" and by an other Geo. You will be happy!

30th Apr 2006, 09:50

Besides the obvious, the original poster also needs to be aware the Prizms and Corollas were made on the same assembly line in Fremont, CA a the NUMMI plant.

1st May 2006, 10:55

Lay off this guy. They are bad cars. My mom has the same one with only 70,000 + miles and is a 1993 LSI and the paint is burning off, it surges ahead and then once in a while there will be no power at all, the engine makes irregular noises, there is a hole in the gas tank, the door handles broke off, knobs on the radio come off in your hands, the overdrive light will blink and airbag light come on every once in a while, etc. Just because it is a toyota product does not mean that it is a great product. My mom also had a 85 toyota corolla GTS, and it gave her problems such as water pump, mufflers every year, brake jobs every year, rear latches breaking, rust everywhere, etc. I still think foreign cars are much better than american cars. I just find it funny that when someone has a bad review on a foreign car that there are like 20 comments behind it. Then when you see an american car, no one will comment when they say something bad about the car. Again, I love foreign cars, but they are not all perfect like some people may think.

7th Dec 2007, 13:15

I have a 93 Geo Prizm LSI with 178615 and it needs rotors. I know because it hasn't ABS, but it grinds. MSN said rotors cause that must be in the 170000's that happens. It sounds good, otherwise though.

10th Mar 2009, 10:55

My friend has a 1993 Prizm LSI which I drive sometimes, 150,000 miles on it. It was bought with no inside driver's door handle in 1996, and now the replacement has cracked. This seems to be a defect on this model. Looking on the Web for the part; I found this site.

22nd Apr 2009, 02:01

The surging in the engine and power and stuff could easily be a clutch. Mine just turned over 165k and is now needing a new clutch. If ya drive better they last longer.

22nd Apr 2009, 14:14

Prisms are very good little cars.

In my opinion the reviewer had unrealistic expectations of a high mileage car that had been crashed.

1st Mar 2010, 00:48

I have a 1993 Prizm I use to deliver pizza..

I beat the snot out of it daily.

400 inner city miles in cold Minnesota a week, and it never fails me.

Great gas mileage, shakes a little when stopped in drive, but my old Geo Metro did the same thing and lasted FOREVER.